Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Studio Canal Blu Ray
Watching this film on Blu ray is a new experience for me. I have only seen it on bad 4:3 public domain copies and have never thought of it in the same regard as "Citizen Kane", "Touch of Evil" or even "Othello". All that has change now. This wonderful HD 16:9 version really highlights the wonderful Welles camera angles and tracking shots which have always gone without...
Published 19 months ago by Paul Anthony Hagl

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointed
The video quality is a little bit enhanced (if more contrast means enhancement) and it has as in the original french release, the Parable of Law, presented by Orson Welles, at the beginning of the film.
But a big down point for this new dvd release is that it doesn't contain any of the extras they advertise for the 50th anniversary studio release. The studio misses...
Published 17 months ago by penname


Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Studio Canal Blu Ray, 20 Sep 2012
By 
Paul Anthony Hagl (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trial 50th Anniversary (StudioCanal Collection) [Blu-ray] [1962] (Blu-ray)
Watching this film on Blu ray is a new experience for me. I have only seen it on bad 4:3 public domain copies and have never thought of it in the same regard as "Citizen Kane", "Touch of Evil" or even "Othello". All that has change now. This wonderful HD 16:9 version really highlights the wonderful Welles camera angles and tracking shots which have always gone without notice previously. The image is sharp and detailed. For the first time you can actually see the sweat on Anthony Perkins forhead while he deals with the nightmare he finds himself in. It's not as perfect as some blu ray remasters but it's no disappointment by any measure. Some sync issues still remain but not to the point that it ruins the film. This is truly a great film containing the genius of Orson Welles. Images were his strong point, so blu ray really makes him shine.

Special Features:

Welles, Kafka and The Trial (30 minutes)
This is in French with English subtitles which shows Welles previous films, radio productions and an analysis on "The Trial"

Orson Welles, architect of light (24 minutes)
An interview with Edmond Richard, director of photography of "The Trial" in French with english subtitles.

Tempo Profile (30 minutes)
Interview with Orson Welles from circa 1965. What interview with Welles isn't worth watching! Great for fans.

Interview with Steven Berkoff (13 minutes)
Berkoff discusses Kafka and "The Trial"

Deleted Scene (6 minutes)
This scene with Katina Paxinou was cut by Welles in the final editing. It originally came after the scene where Josef K is talking with his cousin, before he enters his office building. No audio exists, the subtitles that are included were taken from Welles own script.

This is really a film for Orson Welles or Kafka fans, or even people who enjoy films that think outside the box. Thank you to Studio Canal for caring enough to present this film in all it's glory. I can't believe it looked this good in 1962.
One of the elements that contributes heavily to the atmosphere and feeling of the film is the score by Jean Ledrut, using both original music and adaptations of Tomaso Albinoni's stunning and iconic "Adagio in G minor."
I wish a commentary was on it, but I suspect they're either dead or don't speak english. There is no dvd version better than this. Trust me, I've bourght them all. Nothing comes close.
The dvd also contains a booklet on the production. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great movie. Not to be missed., 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great movie - not to be missed. If it helps -
The 2012 50th anniversary DVD from Studio Canal has the 'Before the Law' prologue, but doesn't have the extras that are on the Blu-Ray. Excellent picture quality, 1.66 - 1.
The 2007 Studio Canal DVD doesn't have the 'Before the Law' prologue, but does have some of the extras. Excellent picture quality, 1.66 - 1.
The Elstree Hill DVD from 2005 is dreadful fuzzy picture quality and is 4 x 3 pan and scan. It does have the prologue.
The version without the prologue was prepared for French TV by Orson Welles himself in the 1980s.
I first saw The Trial in the cinema with the prologue, so I was expecting to see the prologue and was initially disappointed when I saw the DVD without it. But when I saw the 2012 DVD I had second thoughts. After all there is no prologue in Kafka's novel - it starts with K waking up. Before the Law is a separate short story altogether ( from Wedding Preparations in the Country ).
Welles' voiceover reading Before the Law is a bit ponderous and preachy, and there are a couple of extra comments that make it seem as if you are in a lecture theatre. I think I may prefer the movie without the prologue after all.
However, the picture quality is stunning ! The photography and lighting will take your breath away ! It is a fantastic adaptation of the novel, and Anthony Perkins is fantastic.
Whether you want the prologue or not - just sit back and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB MASTERPIECE, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trial 50th Anniversary (StudioCanal Collection) [Blu-ray] [1962] (Blu-ray)
BEST BLU-RAY RESTORATION I HAVE SEEN TO DATE
WELLS WOULD BE SO PLEASED WITH THIS SUPERB MASTERPIECE
CAN NOW BE ENJOYED AT LAST AS INTENDED
JULIAN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No extras, 21 Dec 2012
By 
s (sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just a reminder that this standard DVD doesn't any extras, which are apparently only on the Blu-Ray version. It's still Orson Welles best film, but if you're hoping for an improved package over previous versions, don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Welles' Best Films, 24 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trial 50th Anniversary (StudioCanal Collection) [Blu-ray] [1962] (Blu-ray)
I can't add much to the previous review. His views are mine exactly. I did have a non-anamorphic widescreen DVD at one time, but this is sooo much better. Surreal, disturbing and if you like Orson Welles, as an actor or director, you will like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 18 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The video quality is a little bit enhanced (if more contrast means enhancement) and it has as in the original french release, the Parable of Law, presented by Orson Welles, at the beginning of the film.
But a big down point for this new dvd release is that it doesn't contain any of the extras they advertise for the 50th anniversary studio release. The studio misses in making it clear that the dvd comes empty, only with the film, as opposed to the BluRay release which contains 5 or more documentaries/interviews. On top of that, it is obvious that these extras are only available for those who have a BluRay player at home which I find discriminatory. This film is such a special feature, in the sense that it is somewhat hard to watch, that the only reason film fanatics would buy a hardcopy now are the extras. Perhaps this is only my logic, the studio obviously didn't think it that way.
Oh, and it's a Region 2 release, which means Europe and from what I understand, they have no intention to release it in North-America too, which is funny since Orson Welles was american. But hopefully that will change and the dvd will come with all the extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Trial, 13 Feb 2013
By 
Gimartin "Oldie Sod" (Solihull Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a classic ! It sums up what I imagine it might have been like to live behind the Iron Curtain. Frightening, frustrating,
an uncertain future, a horrific existence without any light at the end of the tunnel !
I highly recommend this story to any student of history.....this is a great DVD, the book is even better but you must peserver
with it ! I recommend this to all grown-ups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weird and boring, 19 Oct 2012
By 
Petri (Solf, Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trial 50th Anniversary (StudioCanal Collection) [Blu-ray] [1962] (Blu-ray)
Maybe there's a good reason you've never heard of this movie. It was directed by Wells all right, but it doesn't mean that every film he directed was great or even good. The surreal atmosphere gets old quite soon and it's one weird scene after another. I almost fell asleep during the film but decided to watch it until the end. After all, I had paid almost 20 euros for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars some nice b&w photography, 10 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well Kafka must have been a happy soul if this is anything to go by.I think some works do not translate well from medium to medium,i couldn't envisage "Crime and Punishment" as an enjoyable film experience and neither is this.I gave this 2 for some nice photography but boy is this dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6fae7a4)

This product

The Trial 50th Anniversary (StudioCanal Collection) [Blu-ray] [1962]
14.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews