Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars11
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:£9.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 June 2012
Himizu had it's premiere at the Terracotta Film Festival, in London, back in April. I happened to be there to see the film before but decided, as there wasn't much else to do, to stay on to see this one as well - as it was the last film of the event.... best decision ever!!

The story centres around 2 young school kids trying to cope with life following a natural disaster and both have parents that, basically, don't care what happens to them. Shôta Sometani & Fumi Nikaidô did well with what, at some moments, was a tough emotional storyline (both going on to win an award at the 2011 Venice Film Festival and it's clear to see why). Yuichi (Shôta Sometani) goes through quite a journey, for someone who's only 14/15 years old, over the course of the film and you can sort of understand why he does what he does.

There are other characters that keep the story moving along - these include a group of adults living in tents / shelters near the rental shop, who try and help out, a criminal (Denden, Cold Fish [DVD]) to whom Yuichi's father owes money and of course the parents.

There are dark, violent moments, romance and, thankfuly, comic moments that make the 2+ hours go by quicker then you think - you really get caught up in what's happening in these peoples lives and how they're going to deal with whats coming next.

I can't recommend this one highly enough.
0Comment21 of 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2012
Sono Sion is easily one of the most exciting, if not THE most exciting director working in Japan currently. His catalog of films have brought some of the most powerful movies I have ever experienced, and once again, Himizu delivers the goods.

The film is a journey, that is in parts melancholic, funny, disturbing, playful, repulsive and ultimately redeeming. The two young leads certainly do deserve the hype around them, their performances are outstanding. As with most Sono Sion films, viewers must be warned against some of the content of the film, a lot of it darker than the average viewer would want to subject themselves to. And yes, as in one review, there is violence against women/domestic violence, but nothing as bad as other Sono Sion films such as "Strange Circus" or the recent "Guilty of Romance".

However, for fans of Sono Sion, this is definitely worth checking out. For those who haven't seen a Sion film before, I'd recommend starting with Love Exposure and working your way up to this one- this being a much darker and disturbing film.

Anyway, I love this movie. It is very stimulating viewing and has a rewarding and powerful resolution. If this kind of movie is your thing, go for it, if not, maybe avoid it.

As far as the actual blu ray is concerned, once again Third Window provides an excellent transfer picture and sound-wise, and the extras are fascinating.
22 comments5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2012
Sono's somewhat twisted message of hope to Japan makes difficult viewing, but if you can stomach some genuinely distressing scenes - Himizu offers a genuinely compelling story. Both story and characters are tragic to a degree of being darkly comic, I've never seen so many people get slapped around before!
Yuichi's world is falling apart and despite his desire to be a good person, there lurks inside him a hunger of self destruction, fed by his mother's ambivalence and one fateful night with his father, Yuichi becomes a danger to society - an almost damning reflection of modern Japan, where we all too often see incidents of indiscriminate stabbings in the streets.
Keiko's own tragic circumstances cause her to feel a compulsion and desire to be wanted by those who would turn her away (to a sadistic degree with her parents) and thus she is drawn to Yuichi, who himself doesn't want complications in life. She persists in offering herself to Yuichi and may ultimately act as a catalyst to his salvation.
The Tohoku earthquake merely acts as a vehicle to reflect the breakdown in society, and in Sono's warped manner you can expect something that will leave a lasting impression.
The music, and ending scenes in particular are especially poignant - with solid acting all around.
I recommend Himizu
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
As in the other Sono Sion recent movies, "Himizu" is Intense and violent, focused on the difficult relationship between the world of adults and the teens. The actors and the cinematography are great but it is not as inspired and delightfully ambiguous as "Suicide Club" and especially "Noroko’s Dinner (Suicide 0)", and not as epic and crazy as “Love Exposure".
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2015
This was the final film my wife and I watched and I feel it embodies the nature of a relationship perfectly.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
Enjoyed this film very much. Would recommend it to people who like this sort of genre.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
It was really good movie ever! I watched it in Japanese only, sometimes I had a trouble to catch the voice clearly, but anyways, it was very good, best ever. Beautiful music, impressive scenes, expressive voice and acts. The topic of this movie is very depressive, but at the end of it, you will be able to get some warm feelings from it. I strongly recommend it to you.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
Another good film from this director. Its a dark drama which can be difficult to watch as it is very desperate and offers little in the way of optimism. Its well shot, acted and scored. Also worth checking out are Cold Fish and Guilty of Romance.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2015
Poor
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2015
I didnt like this film at all, completely unrealistic and crazy, i didnt enjoy seeing the main character beating up his female friend every time he was having a hard time (most of the film). I couldnt relate or understand the behaviour of any of the characters. I disliked the main male character and the girl was so annoying...
0Comment0 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£19.75

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.