Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best reference to the STL out there
I'm convinced this is the best reference to the STL available. I had the first edition which is now falling apart as I haven't found any other documentation on the STL online that comes close to it for both reference and tutorial. I hung onto my tatty old first edition until he came out with a new C++11 edition and once again I love this book! The most stiking thing to me...
Published on 8 Feb. 2013 by Vertigo

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Pitiful
I haven't found this book useful at all. It isn't a tutorial and the information contained is minimal....describing operations as fast or slow rather than in terms like log N etc is pitiful. This book is basically a elaborate copy and paste job of the API's
Published 3 months ago by Andrew Allen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best reference to the STL out there, 8 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm convinced this is the best reference to the STL available. I had the first edition which is now falling apart as I haven't found any other documentation on the STL online that comes close to it for both reference and tutorial. I hung onto my tatty old first edition until he came out with a new C++11 edition and once again I love this book! The most stiking thing to me is how he has successfully put together a book that combines reference and tutorial. Most books tend to do one or the other. This does both and does it well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very instructive book., 26 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very good book for those who want to learn to use the "nuts and bolts" features of C++ (especially the new features of C++11), but who don't need all the hoo-haa about object oriented programming. The code snippets clearly show how to use features such as vectors, associative arrays, strings, streams, range-based FOR loops, and just about everything else you might need. I can see that I'm going to be dipping into this book regularly for a long time to come as my knowledge and thirst for C++ grows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best C++ 11 reference I've found, 31 May 2014
By 
Mr. J. Covey-crump (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst this will not teach you the details of C++ programming language - this is the book you'll be using regularly for reference.

You'll want another book to teach you about the semantics of the language - but that is likely to be stuff you'll learn and remember (certainly if you want a job using C++). What you won't remember is the hundreds of library classes, and their functions. This book covers them well.

The C++ language is evolving, and whilst it doesn't go into detail with the basics it does cover the changes that are happening to the language with C++ 11. Some of these being quite significant (Smart Pointers, limited Garbage Collection, Lambdas, Range based for loops...).

Sadly most compilers don't follow the complete C++ 11 standard yet. Takes a long time for compilers to implement the standards. So google around to see what features your chosen compiler supports.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written and well thought out explanation of the new standard including the template additions, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The C++ Standard Library: A Tutorial and Reference (2nd Edition) (Kindle Edition)
I liked the first edition of this book and this edition is written and presented in the same style. Not as many examples of new features as I would have liked more reference than tutorial. I thought the section on concurrency was a bit weak, still better than the boost::threads documentation though, otherwise I would have given it it 5 stars.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best available guide, 11 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is by far the best guide to the standard library, it goes into far more depth than other books I've read. You can't go wrong with this book, although it is a bit pricey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars easy to understand, 10 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The C++ Standard Library: A Tutorial and Reference (2nd Edition) (Kindle Edition)
I had to brush up on new stuff introduced in STL and C++11. What is good is that the book explains the concepts first and then gives shows how the concepts can be be implemented in code. This then is like a tutorial taking you through the code step by step (with remarks in the code) explaining the possible outputs and the pitfalls that are usual with C++ the STL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Pitiful, 3 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I haven't found this book useful at all. It isn't a tutorial and the information contained is minimal....describing operations as fast or slow rather than in terms like log N etc is pitiful. This book is basically a elaborate copy and paste job of the API's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good in-depth coverage of STL for C++ 11, 3 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its format might not be everyone's cup of tea, but the tutorial method is reassuring and gives the ground up confidence especially needed for newbies but also not wasted on seasoned programmers. However, this book still functions well as a reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Something like 1100 pages here and each one has relevant information, 3 Nov. 2014
By 
Mr. Robert E. Quirk "rquirk6" (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Something like 1100 pages here and each one has relevant information. And it is fully up-to-date as far as I can tell for C++ 11. It served as a tutorial and now it sits on my bookshelf as a much thumbed reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, recieved fast, 6 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
product was required for school classes. arrived in perfect state. very fast and has been proven to be quite useful outside of school curriculum.

Has all the new c++ functionality explained and with clear examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews