Customer Reviews


157 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good honest truthful reading
I have read many books concerning this subject and this one is by far the most truthful account of the sas in action during the first Gulf Conflict.
The others do in most cases make good reading but if you read them all with care you will find a whole host of inconsistencies amongst the various authors.
I really enjoyed this book easy writing style,never a dull...
Published on 20 Sep 2003 by mike

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good plot that gets destracted...
This is essentially a good book about non-fictitious SAS activities and in the main is enjoyable.

The negative part of this review is that as the book goes on, the author becomes more 'me,me,me' and makes out that the majority of those around him are, for want of a better word, 'tools' and nowhere near as capable, confident or able as he is - granted he was was...
Published 11 months ago by James Mousley


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good honest truthful reading, 20 Sep 2003
By 
mike (durham england) - See all my reviews
I have read many books concerning this subject and this one is by far the most truthful account of the sas in action during the first Gulf Conflict.
The others do in most cases make good reading but if you read them all with care you will find a whole host of inconsistencies amongst the various authors.
I really enjoyed this book easy writing style,never a dull moment or area in the book where i thought this is getting boring Peter Ratcliffe should write more about his experiences with the SAS iam sure he could entertain his readers with some excellent stories, after all you cannot spend 25 years of your life in the worlds most respected and feared regiment without having some memories to write about.
I hope Mr Ratcliffe reads this and decides to put pen to paper again.
A great read reccomended to anybody
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye of the storm - a must read, 30 April 2005
By 
I searched for a while to get this book and once I begun to read it I could not put it down. Having served in the army for 10 years I have read many military history books about the Gulf war, Falklands and in particualrly the Troubles in Northern Ireland. I first thought that I would stereo type a Para trooper who then went on SAS selection and expected many beefed up war stories but I was wrong. This book is fantastic in that he tells his whole career and very good war stories to the level where it is not too much or two little. His experiences of action and military life is brilliant and would recommend any body to read it. For a soldier who has gone through a hell of a lot and survived to tell his story is magic - well done 'Billy' Ratcliffe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good plot that gets destracted..., 14 Aug 2013
By 
James Mousley (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eye of the Storm: 25 Years in Action with the SAS (Kindle Edition)
This is essentially a good book about non-fictitious SAS activities and in the main is enjoyable.

The negative part of this review is that as the book goes on, the author becomes more 'me,me,me' and makes out that the majority of those around him are, for want of a better word, 'tools' and nowhere near as capable, confident or able as he is - granted he was was the leader of the pack, but to rubbish the performance of some of the team members is unprofessional and also damaging to the confidence that we should hold in our top military outfit.

The other negative comment surrounds the 'p!ssing contest' that the author gets into over Andy McNab and his version of events in the gulf war and the basis of his books - this has no place in the middle of the book and should be kept (if at all written about) to the back section of the book and again is unprofessional.

At one point he lays into one of his soldiers for hoarding a container of water, yet earlier on he's presented with a bottle of rum (from the MOD - which you and I have paid for) and keeps it to himself - I'd say this was the same difference.

A story is a story and as official as this book is made to sound, it could still have elements of fiction - only the author and other characters will ever know the truth - the SAS is so guarded that even when you think you have a truth presented to you, it could still be a complete fiction!

Overall, a little irritating in places but worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent!, 20 Jun 2005
This was a brilliant read, Once i picked the book up i could not put it down. It is a very truthful account of the Authors time served in first the Paracute Regiment and then 22 SAS Regiment. Many times during the book the Author corrects some Falses and exagerations from other members of the Regiment that have written books, for example Chris Ryan and Andy Mcnab. This is a must read for any Military personal serving or served.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite possibly the best Special ops book ever written, 17 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This is one of the most honest and complete insider accounts of life in a spec ops unit I have ever read. While many other ex-spec ops authors (particularly from the SAS) have sensationalized accounts of their experiences to romanticize their service and heighten their heroism, Peter Ratcliffe portrays events from a strictly realistic and insightful perspective. Furthermore, Ratcliffe's memoir offers a much more complete view of the SAS than any previous account. His career spanned decades and took him through numerous campaigns of action. He experienced being a rank-and-file trooper, a patrol leader, and also a member of the 'Headshed'. Basically, Ratcliffe gives a very thorough account of how things work on all levels of the chain of command, and he is able to describe an incomparable number of combat operations from a firsthand perspective.
Ratcliffe's account of SAS action is a sobering, no-nonsense contrast to the sensationalistic portrayals offered by men like Andy McNab. He shows readers that its not all gun blazing heroism, and its never perfect. Patrols fail to reach their objectives simply because they get lost in the woods. Large numbers of men die in a helicopter crash before seeing any action. A covert beach landing is aborted because the boats don't work and men are being swept away in the ocean. Highly trained troops who've never been tested in a real war sometimes turn out to be irrational and cowardly under fire. A few commanders are so concerned about risking their lives that they abandon missions without even trying. Even deep behind enemy lines, an SAS unit is not immune to bickering and politics within the chain of command. This is the real world. The SAS is human, and is therefore prone to human faults, human error, and human fear just as ordinary people are.
But despite his sometimes blunt criticism of certain people, it is never Ratcliffe's intention to denigrate his unit. Conversely, he exemplifies the SAS's strict standards of excellence by holding his men accountable for their faults and pointing out how things can sometimes be done better. There are a few instances where Ratcliffe seems to be a little less than fair. With regards to the Bravo Two Zero mission, one does get the sense that Ratcliffe tries to alleviate the SAS leadership's responsibility for that catastrophe. Regardless, Eye of the Storm is probably still the most accurate and thorough account of SAS service ever written. Peter Ratcliffe is a man who has no need to validate himself behind false tales of heroism. He knows that he has made great accomplishments in one of the most challenging and dangerous professions in the world. He is therefore able to tell the truth, confident that his story is worth telling without any fabrications.
Eye of the Storm has done more to heighten my layman's understanding of spec ops than any other SAS book I've ever read. For those interested in military, spec ops, or the SAS in particular, this is essential reading. I cannot recommend this book enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A no-nonsense honest account of the SAS, 24 Aug 2004
By 
Mr. S. White (Maidenhead, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This by far the best book I've read on the SAS. The author is a former RSM in 22 SAS, which means he can speak with some experience and authority. Instead of glamourising the elite unit, he shows us that there are idiots there, that they make mistakes, and that they are, after all, only human. It starts off with his early life, his time in the Parachute Regiment (which is another of the world's elite fighting units) and then on to the SAS. I found his approach to be a practical, direct and hands-on one, which shows in his writing style. A must for all military enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye of the Storm, 3 Jun 2005
This is a book by someone, like ex SAS Robin Horsfall,Who dosn't hide behined wrong names . A man who is not afraid to show his face, all in all, a book that deserves to be on your book shelf. If you are interested in the SAS, Then Peter Ratcliffe..Robin Horsfall..and Michael Asher. are the ones to go for. 100 stars all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read. Well done to the author, 6 April 2005
By A Customer
As a 'virginal' reader of SAS books I approached this from a different angle. I had not read Bravo two zero or any other Gulf war/SAS books previously. I have however read piles of factual (well as factual as can be) books about the SAS and their methods etc.. I haven't read any of the numerous McNab style books because I didn't want to have to wade through the rubbish to get to the factual stuff. Peter Ratcliffes book however, was a godsend! No hyperbole, No 'added on drivel' just realistic accounts of his career. Warts and all. Well done Billy. A great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SAS - Slagging And Spiteful?, 13 Jan 2004
By A Customer
A good read. Mind you with so many contrary accounts of the SAS in the first Gulf war, who do we believe? Probably Ratcliffe more than anyone else, but still it makes you wonder.
This book, more than the other McNab/Ryan/Spence/Crossland stories, shows the SAS in a bad light. It tells of cowardice, incompetence, bad planning and basic stupidity in the ranks of what was once (still is?) the most capable military unit in the world. As such it is very worrying. One of Stirling's initial requirements for the then-new SAS was "The unrelenting pursuit of excellence". After reading this book, one wonders if that is in any way still true. Cant put it down, a real page-turner, but the sideline issues of rivalry, cowardice and basic stupidity are the real surprise.
This book will encourage Britain's enemies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ChrisD, 13 Oct 2006
By 
Christopher Dickson (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have recently read Peter Ratcliffe's book.

I have read one or two other books over a period of years about life in the SAS. Having served in the Army for 25 years myself and also having held the appointment of RSM, i was interested to read Mr Ratcliffe's attitudes and feelings concerning the plethora of 'stories' that have emerged about the Regiment that used to be the Army's best kept secret!

I was also 'recommended' this book by another ex soldier who had informed me that it was a very good read indeed. I found the story to be fairly well balanced but would have liked a little more insight into what he did / was involved with in between deployments.

The author provides a captivating story stretched over his 25 year service in the Army. More importantly, he highlights on many occasions the courage of his convictions. Ratcliffe the soldier was certainly not affraid to confront people head on regarding issues of competency or professionalism! This is also apparent with regards to his synopsis of the writings of many of those who have gone before him.

In all, the book was excellent value for money, and i like others found it difficult to put down. No sensationalism, No BS, and also a frank honesty over failures, mistakes and shortcomings within the Military, Army and his Regiment.

I particularly found the chapters deicated to the SAS involvement in the Falklands Campaign to be very interesting and informative. Again, the balance of detail, humour, fact and summary provides one mans thoughts and observations based on raw experience in War Fighting without the 'Rambo' and 007 element appearing!

Pure and simply, reading some of the other 'SAS' books and reading Peter Ratcliffe's book is the divide between glorified fiction and honest fact. I fully recommend this book to all who have an interest in military life and the Special Air Service. Well done Mr Ratcliffe, CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews