Customer Reviews


228 Reviews
5 star:
 (149)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye of the storm - a must read
I searched for a while to get this book and once I begun to read it I could not put it down. Having served in the army for 10 years I have read many military history books about the Gulf war, Falklands and in particualrly the Troubles in Northern Ireland. I first thought that I would stereo type a Para trooper who then went on SAS selection and expected many beefed up...
Published on 30 April 2005 by Darren Ware

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good plot that gets destracted...
This is essentially a good book about non-fictitious SAS activities and in the main is enjoyable.

The negative part of this review is that as the book goes on, the author becomes more 'me,me,me' and makes out that the majority of those around him are, for want of a better word, 'tools' and nowhere near as capable, confident or able as he is - granted he was was...
Published 20 months ago by Mousley


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye of the storm - a must read, 30 April 2005
By 
I searched for a while to get this book and once I begun to read it I could not put it down. Having served in the army for 10 years I have read many military history books about the Gulf war, Falklands and in particualrly the Troubles in Northern Ireland. I first thought that I would stereo type a Para trooper who then went on SAS selection and expected many beefed up war stories but I was wrong. This book is fantastic in that he tells his whole career and very good war stories to the level where it is not too much or two little. His experiences of action and military life is brilliant and would recommend any body to read it. For a soldier who has gone through a hell of a lot and survived to tell his story is magic - well done 'Billy' Ratcliffe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SAS - Slagging And Spiteful?, 13 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
A good read. Mind you with so many contrary accounts of the SAS in the first Gulf war, who do we believe? Probably Ratcliffe more than anyone else, but still it makes you wonder.
This book, more than the other McNab/Ryan/Spence/Crossland stories, shows the SAS in a bad light. It tells of cowardice, incompetence, bad planning and basic stupidity in the ranks of what was once (still is?) the most capable military unit in the world. As such it is very worrying. One of Stirling's initial requirements for the then-new SAS was "The unrelenting pursuit of excellence". After reading this book, one wonders if that is in any way still true. Cant put it down, a real page-turner, but the sideline issues of rivalry, cowardice and basic stupidity are the real surprise.
This book will encourage Britain's enemies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good honest truthful reading, 20 Sept. 2003
By 
mike (durham england) - See all my reviews
I have read many books concerning this subject and this one is by far the most truthful account of the sas in action during the first Gulf Conflict.
The others do in most cases make good reading but if you read them all with care you will find a whole host of inconsistencies amongst the various authors.
I really enjoyed this book easy writing style,never a dull moment or area in the book where i thought this is getting boring Peter Ratcliffe should write more about his experiences with the SAS iam sure he could entertain his readers with some excellent stories, after all you cannot spend 25 years of your life in the worlds most respected and feared regiment without having some memories to write about.
I hope Mr Ratcliffe reads this and decides to put pen to paper again.
A great read reccomended to anybody
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read. Well done to the author, 6 April 2005
By A Customer
As a 'virginal' reader of SAS books I approached this from a different angle. I had not read Bravo two zero or any other Gulf war/SAS books previously. I have however read piles of factual (well as factual as can be) books about the SAS and their methods etc.. I haven't read any of the numerous McNab style books because I didn't want to have to wade through the rubbish to get to the factual stuff. Peter Ratcliffes book however, was a godsend! No hyperbole, No 'added on drivel' just realistic accounts of his career. Warts and all. Well done Billy. A great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ChrisD, 13 Oct. 2006
By 
Christopher Dickson (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have recently read Peter Ratcliffe's book.

I have read one or two other books over a period of years about life in the SAS. Having served in the Army for 25 years myself and also having held the appointment of RSM, i was interested to read Mr Ratcliffe's attitudes and feelings concerning the plethora of 'stories' that have emerged about the Regiment that used to be the Army's best kept secret!

I was also 'recommended' this book by another ex soldier who had informed me that it was a very good read indeed. I found the story to be fairly well balanced but would have liked a little more insight into what he did / was involved with in between deployments.

The author provides a captivating story stretched over his 25 year service in the Army. More importantly, he highlights on many occasions the courage of his convictions. Ratcliffe the soldier was certainly not affraid to confront people head on regarding issues of competency or professionalism! This is also apparent with regards to his synopsis of the writings of many of those who have gone before him.

In all, the book was excellent value for money, and i like others found it difficult to put down. No sensationalism, No BS, and also a frank honesty over failures, mistakes and shortcomings within the Military, Army and his Regiment.

I particularly found the chapters deicated to the SAS involvement in the Falklands Campaign to be very interesting and informative. Again, the balance of detail, humour, fact and summary provides one mans thoughts and observations based on raw experience in War Fighting without the 'Rambo' and 007 element appearing!

Pure and simply, reading some of the other 'SAS' books and reading Peter Ratcliffe's book is the divide between glorified fiction and honest fact. I fully recommend this book to all who have an interest in military life and the Special Air Service. Well done Mr Ratcliffe, CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye of the Storm, 3 Jun. 2005
This is a book by someone, like ex SAS Robin Horsfall,Who dosn't hide behined wrong names . A man who is not afraid to show his face, all in all, a book that deserves to be on your book shelf. If you are interested in the SAS, Then Peter Ratcliffe..Robin Horsfall..and Michael Asher. are the ones to go for. 100 stars all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good plot that gets destracted..., 14 Aug. 2013
By 
Mousley (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eye of the Storm: 25 Years in Action with the SAS (Kindle Edition)
This is essentially a good book about non-fictitious SAS activities and in the main is enjoyable.

The negative part of this review is that as the book goes on, the author becomes more 'me,me,me' and makes out that the majority of those around him are, for want of a better word, 'tools' and nowhere near as capable, confident or able as he is - granted he was was the leader of the pack, but to rubbish the performance of some of the team members is unprofessional and also damaging to the confidence that we should hold in our top military outfit.

The other negative comment surrounds the 'p!ssing contest' that the author gets into over Andy McNab and his version of events in the gulf war and the basis of his books - this has no place in the middle of the book and should be kept (if at all written about) to the back section of the book and again is unprofessional.

At one point he lays into one of his soldiers for hoarding a container of water, yet earlier on he's presented with a bottle of rum (from the MOD - which you and I have paid for) and keeps it to himself - I'd say this was the same difference.

A story is a story and as official as this book is made to sound, it could still have elements of fiction - only the author and other characters will ever know the truth - the SAS is so guarded that even when you think you have a truth presented to you, it could still be a complete fiction!

Overall, a little irritating in places but worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an eye opener, 19 Dec. 2002
By A Customer
like many young men(my age being 20) i have read many books on the army the majority of them about the special forces, i used to regard the book bravo two zero as my bible,the eye of the storm however changes that it changed my entire point of view it told what in most peoples eyes would be the most realistic account of the sas in action in the golf war. i myself am now a serving member in the parachute regiment i joined up two months after reading this book,it did not influence my decision. however i can vouch for the fact that not all rsm's are as fair minded as peter ratcliff appears to be.all in all a good book and well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mature view of life in the SAS, 29 May 2013
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I've read more than a few Special Forces biographies and whole this does cover well trod ground, it offers a more senior perspective and sheds light on some other famous SAS books.
Peter Radcliffe takes us from his rough childhood into the Paras and then the SAS, we get background into Oman, the Falklands and then the Gulf. The main meat is in an operation he led in the Gulf, previously covered by two of the troops involved in published books.
Radcliffe comes over as a professional and experienced soldier and as such his views and story carry a degree if gravitas unusual in these type of things. His insight into the infamous Bravo Two Zero mission was very interesting and points out where McNab omitted things and exaggerated the events of the mission. Radcliffe saw him as a weak leader who would not listen to advice and it is hard to disagree on this evidence. His account of his own Gulf mission does differ from some of the other participants and once agiain the evidence would suggest his version is the correct
one. As a RSM he was senior enough to be involved in mission planning and he saw the after mission accounts too so it once again gives a more logical perspective to the exaggeration of others.
So, nothing new, but an important alternative view to sexed up accounts of others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent!, 20 Jun. 2005
This was a brilliant read, Once i picked the book up i could not put it down. It is a very truthful account of the Authors time served in first the Paracute Regiment and then 22 SAS Regiment. Many times during the book the Author corrects some Falses and exagerations from other members of the Regiment that have written books, for example Chris Ryan and Andy Mcnab. This is a must read for any Military personal serving or served.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews