Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars15
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 November 2013
This makes compelling reading. The old veterans are a delight and have plenty to say. Their memories are gold dust to anyone interested in the Great War. I did feel however that the author was perhaps a little biased , I felt it was his intention to berate the likes of Haigh and others. That said, it is a must read for anyone studying World War 1.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
First written i think in 1993 the views of these old soldiers come off the page like they are talking to you today,Absolutely fascinating to read at first hand what hell they went through.
A highly intelligent book and as far as i know the only one of its kind.
Todays politicians should hang there heads in shame for betraying them.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
The best book I have ever read about the War, the face to face interviews make enlightening and entertaining reading. It is a pity the author back in 1993 did not interview some French and German soldiers. But at least he let these have their say No editing, No rewriting history NO P. C absolutely a 5 star read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2015
Captures both the horror of the First World War and how these broken heroes were treated after the war through interviews. An emotional journey of the lives our ancestors.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
Great item.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
Good to see the memories captured and the effort recognised. Some great recollections and a glimpse of so many lives.

Thanks
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
worth getting , a well written book , very thought provoking and generally a book I believe is one not to be overlooked.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
Fascinating insight ,all our ww1 veterans are gone now.This book is testament to them and their important 1st hand memorys. 'At the going down of the Sun and in the morning,we will remember them'
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
This book opened my eyes when listening to the voices of the troops who lived through this hell. Many asked was it worthwhile ?

Wish it was longer
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
this is what i want to here. straight from the 'tommies' mouth's.
shame on the ruling classes !
a must read if you want the truth about ww1
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)