Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read
worth getting , a well written book , very thought provoking and generally a book I believe is one not to be overlooked.
Published 6 months ago by r jamnitzky

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Totally biased
I think Mr Cunningham had a preconceived idea of how servicemen would remember their war experiences. The book's interviews give a very one sided ' Lions led by Donkeys' impression of the war. The gentlemen concerned were, without doubt, incredibly brave and hardy to have endured the trenches, but much of the reportage appears to be not so much remembering the events,...
Published 5 months ago by Unidentifiedbones


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 14-18: The Final Word From The Trenches Of The First World War (Kindle Edition)
worth getting , a well written book , very thought provoking and generally a book I believe is one not to be overlooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not bad, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 14-18: The Final Word From The Trenches Of The First World War (Kindle Edition)
Good to see the memories captured and the effort recognised. Some great recollections and a glimpse of so many lives.

Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insight, 14 May 2013
This review is from: 14-18: The Final Word From The Trenches Of The First World War (Kindle Edition)
Fascinating insight ,all our ww1 veterans are gone now.This book is testament to them and their important 1st hand memorys. 'At the going down of the Sun and in the morning,we will remember them'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The final word., 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 14-18: The Final Word From The Trenches Of The First World War (Kindle Edition)
This makes compelling reading. The old veterans are a delight and have plenty to say. Their memories are gold dust to anyone interested in the Great War. I did feel however that the author was perhaps a little biased , I felt it was his intention to berate the likes of Haigh and others. That said, it is a must read for anyone studying World War 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 14-18: The Final Word From The Trenches Of The First World War (Kindle Edition)
This book opened my eyes when listening to the voices of the troops who lived through this hell. Many asked was it worthwhile ?

Wish it was longer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must read, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 14-18: The Final Word From The Trenches Of The First World War (Kindle Edition)
this is what i want to here. straight from the 'tommies' mouth's.
shame on the ruling classes !
a must read if you want the truth about ww1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars truly moving, 22 Feb 2013
By 
S. Powell (north east uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 14-18: The Final Word From The Trenches Of The First World War (Kindle Edition)
I didn't realise how badly our troops were treated during the first world war
that they were atarving and the people back home and that the government
was so worried that the troops would mutiny if they knew of the conditions at home
that they stopped them going on leave.
only a few rich bastards made anything out of that war,,I hope they rot in hell for
the suffering and misery that they caused.
I can't praise our troops enough even my great grandparents never spoke of what they suffered
during that war and the one that followed.
Maybe if I'd known that I would never have served myself.
TRULY LIONS LED BY DONKEYS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsdive Reading, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 14-18: The Final Word From The Trenches Of The First World War (Kindle Edition)
The best book I have read in a long time. It shold be compulsory reading in all schools- maybe then the younger generation would appreciate what has been fourght for to get them where they are now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We never learn, 22 July 2013
By 
S. L. Viccars - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 14-18: The Final Word From The Trenches Of The First World War (Kindle Edition)
We just don't appreciate what this generation sacrificed for us. But I fear, as I'm sure many others fear, history will repeat its self in the not too distant future, we're living longer and there's just not enough resources to go around. Food for thought..............Spanish flu, aids, avian flu, the Arab spring, 9/11, climate change/crop yield, austerity et al, something's got to give.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Totally biased, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 14-18: The Final Word From The Trenches Of The First World War (Kindle Edition)
I think Mr Cunningham had a preconceived idea of how servicemen would remember their war experiences. The book's interviews give a very one sided ' Lions led by Donkeys' impression of the war. The gentlemen concerned were, without doubt, incredibly brave and hardy to have endured the trenches, but much of the reportage appears to be not so much remembering the events, but more remembering the remembering....with the attendant shift of focus that time imparts. I do not know whether Mr Cunningham interviewed old soldiers with a different slant on their experiences, but chose to omit their stories from the final book, or whether his interviewees were entirely of the same view as regards their wartime service. One is left with the distinct impression that Mr Cunningham had decided the way his book would read before he conducted his interview.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews