Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ZOOT IN PARIS, STRETCHING OUT, DOWN HOME & GERSHWIN
NOTE: I've headed my review deliberately to distinguish it from the other six, all of which relate to an earlier Zoot Sims set by Avid, and which have been cross-posted here by Amazon under their flawed "product group" policy.

The earliest album in this 2-CD set was recorded in Paris in March 1956, with a small group led by pianist Henri Renaud, with trumpeter...
Published on 6 July 2012 by Barry McCanna

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Not the best. second disc much better than the first.
Published 4 months ago by John H Hambly


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ZOOT IN PARIS, STRETCHING OUT, DOWN HOME & GERSHWIN, 6 July 2012
By 
Barry McCanna (Normandy, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Four Classic Albums [Stretching Out / Starring Zoot Sims / Down Home / The Jazz Soul Of Porgy And Bess] (Audio CD)
NOTE: I've headed my review deliberately to distinguish it from the other six, all of which relate to an earlier Zoot Sims set by Avid, and which have been cross-posted here by Amazon under their flawed "product group" policy.

The earliest album in this 2-CD set was recorded in Paris in March 1956, with a small group led by pianist Henri Renaud, with trumpeter Jon Eardley, Benoit Quersin and drummer Charles Sudrais. It was released in France on the Ducretet-Thompson label as "Zoot Sims in Paris", but appears here as "Starring Zoot Sims" from the English issue. "Stretching Out" was recorded by the Zoot Sims/Bob Brookmeyer Octet in December 1958, and issued by United Artists. Saxophonisr Al Cohn, trumpeter Harry Edison, pianist Hank Jones, guitarist Freddie Green, bassist Eddie Jones and drummer Charlie Persip made up the numbers. Zoot's next visit to the recording studio in January 1959 was as one of a nineteen-piece band directed by Bill Potts in "The Jazz Soul of Porgy & Bess", another United Artists release. Finally, "The Great Zoot Sims: Down Home" dates from June 1960, showcases Zoot in a quartet, with pianist Dave McKenna, bassist George Tucker, and drummer Dannie Richmond, and was released by Bethlehem.

Zoot's sinewy tone dominates the proceedings on the three small group albums and, given his preference for playing with a conventional rhythm section, it's apparent that he chose his backing with care. The concentration is upon jazz and songbook standards, and there's a great sense of drive and a spirit of exuberance throughout. The Gershwin album takes the listener into different territory, and of necessity Zoot's role was subjugated to that of a sideman and occasional soloist. Given the extent of Zoot's recordings as leader, this seems a somewhat strange choice to complete the set, but to withhold a fifth star would be to look a gift horse in the mouth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zoot Sims: Four Classic Albums, 30 Oct. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sheer class from start to finish. I can't understand why it took me so long to get some digital ZS. These four albums find the elegant and unpretentious tenor man in such exalted company as Hank Jones, Bob Brookmeyer, Al Cohn and that great wasted talent, Serge Chaloff. A total delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for money, 16 Nov. 2009
By 
This is truly a fantastic package. My only negative comment would be about the sound remastering: removing the tape hiss often messes up the high frequencies (though this may be a personal dislike). That minor flaw aside this must be the best way of obtaining four magnificent Zoot Sims titles, which are otherwise out of print or available through expensive japanese imports.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zoot Sims and Four Brothers, 24 May 2012
By 
M. Schutz "Mike" (Farborough Hants UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Information on this CD was most welcome. The music was also of the highest quality especially that of the tenor saxophonists
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Man Zoot!, 25 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Classic Albums [Stretching Out / Starring Zoot Sims / Down Home / The Jazz Soul Of Porgy And Bess] (Audio CD)
Totally satisfied with this issue from Avid I have at least twelve of the Classic Albums series
and all of them have been excellent. Keep up the good work Avid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Now that is what I call Jazzzzzzz, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like smooth jazz you will love this. I was trawling through recommendations and other MP3 download listings when I sampled this and fell in love at once. I was brought up on Trad Jazz which i still adore but have found in my more mature years that this music really does speak to my soul and massages the spirit when I find strangled turkey kids stuff has jangled my mind and the interminable governmental rubbish has left me frazzled. Shelter with me in the shade of this music for a while and you will feel a lot better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 14 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not the best. second disc much better than the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unbeatable value, 4 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Classic Albums [Stretching Out / Starring Zoot Sims / Down Home / The Jazz Soul Of Porgy And Bess] (Audio CD)
A superb value for money introduction to Zoot Simms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars zoot and al swingin stuff, 7 Sept. 2009
By 
Mr. D. Spooner (essex uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
what brill stuff from these two masters of the tenor saxophone, good have to have this body of work on two cdS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews