Customer Reviews


454 Reviews
5 star:
 (245)
4 star:
 (82)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (29)
1 star:
 (61)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moulin Rouge in another guise?
I found this film to be very absorbing. I could not help comparing it with Moulin Rouge, even if I had not been aware it was the same director:
Similar unusual, colourful sequences with the camera zooming into scenes, sometimes from afar. The outlandish decadence, colourful characters. The often lavish costumes, jewellery and sets and props. The often very lively...
Published 5 months ago by JLH

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars A Cornucopia Carnival of Imbecility
This is probably the worse film that I have ever watched. Mind that I watched many thousands of films.
The idiocy and imbecility of the film is endless. Its director suffers from very serious short span of attention and the film is a "cornucopia carnival" of gratuitous zooms, cheap special effects and music that doesn't match the spirit of the 1920s...
Published 1 month ago by lucas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 446 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars great, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Brought this after everyone was raving about how good it was. i was not disappointed. I enjoyed this film that i told all my friends about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this film. Great story! Would recommend the blue ray version of this film as it shows the directors style better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film!, 5 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Great film. It was reasonably priced and arrived quickly. I'm very satisfied with this purchase :) and Leonardo dicaprio is amazing, as ever!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Film!, 4 Jun. 2014
By 
Ronnie "Ronnie" (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Baz Luhrmann at his best! A brilliant interpretation of a wonderful book. Forget the critics who said this was over-done or not worth while. This is a beautiful, sexy, exciting, deep film. Amazing soundtrack, as usual for Baz Luhrmann films. Superb acting, every last character in the film. And also usual for Baz Luhrmann, so beautiful to watch! A visual feast! If you love Moulin Rouge, who will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeded my expectations, 4 Jun. 2014
By 
This review is from: The Great Gatsby (DVD)
I was dubious about watching this film - what could it contribute that was new to such a well-known story? You know it's going to be a pretty film when it's a Luhrman creation, and the cinematography is incredible, but this film is actually much more. Great performances from all the actors, and so well cast. And the telling of the story really brings the tragedy of the tale to the fore, and makes it deeply moving. One quibble - it's set in the 1920s, so why the R&B soundtrack? OK, so Jayzee is a producer, so I guess that's why they are jazz-dancing to Crazy in Love, but to have that one detail that is not period in an otherwise period production just doesn't work for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Gatsby at his best, 2 Jun. 2014
By 
Mrs. Valerie M. King "book vale" (Sussex England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
A disappointment really , after all the hype . I thought Leonardo Di Caprio , who I usually like , was much too old for the role .
I didn't much like the girl who played Daisy either, and all that frantic partying was overdone . I am a great fan of the book
and this film couldn't conjure up that unique charm that only Fitzgerald can bring to this , his greatest book .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lovely story, 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Very good and interesting movie, good for English literature revision, as I used it for. Very emotionally moving, great story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not sure what all the fuss was about, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
very lavish production, beautiful buildings, clothing, cars in keeping with the theme of the film. Very well shot, but once I have seen it would not want to watch it again. Entertaining enough but not a good film in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another Baz Luhrman success, as always, watch many times to see the suttleties that you miss the first time, the more times you watch this the more the story changes when you see more than before
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Great Gatsby, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The Great Gatsby. I enjoyed the film.but I thought too much was made of the partying but it did keep close to the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 446 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Gatsby [DVD] [2013]
The Great Gatsby [DVD] [2013] by Baz Luhrmann (DVD - 2013)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews