Customer Reviews


303 Reviews
5 star:
 (145)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (54)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A feast for the eyes!
Firstly, please do not let the title of the review fool you - Baz Luhrmann's "The Great Gatsby" is not just a visually stunning production, it is a great piece of cinematography, wonderfully adapted script and first class acting by the leading cast as well as all the extras. Mr Luhrmann's is one maverick of director, who never shied from over the top productions, and...
Published 14 months ago by Lola

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The style worked for Moulin Rouge, it completely fails with The Great Gatsby
Baz Luhrmann's use of popular music, rap and modern dance set in a period drama was very original in Moulin Rouge because it suited the bohemian story of Toulouse-Lautrec, who was a pioneer of the new and decadence at the same time. The art scene in Paris during the 1920s was experimenting in the unconventional. So to implant that style into a story about dangers of...
Published 3 months ago by obiwan_9000


‹ Previous | 111 12 1331 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Style Over Substance - The Movie, 6 Dec 2013
Oh, Baz. It's honestly a wonder that he's still working in major movies, because good lord he's bad at making them. Maybe he should move into modern art or something - oh, but I forget, cramming so much CGI s*** in the frame that it distracts the audience can't really be considered "art", can it? [somebody should tell that to George Lucas]

That's the major problem with this movie. The book is a really fantastic read, packed with fantastic characters and symbolism, and because Baz clearly spent more time on the visuals than, say, putting any effort into writing and directing your actors so they're relatable and seem real, while this film's cinematography is pretty and 3D, this movie's characters all remain stuck in one dimension.

Honestly, it's like he glanced at the book's Wikipedia page, said "eh, it's about the 20s, I can go with that.". I didn't care about the characters and I didn't care about their situation, set against a disgustingly sterile and fake looking CGI backdrop. And it's not because I can't distinguish an "art" film from one adhering to the typical Hollywood formula - I can appreciate style over substance if the art is actually interesting or thought provoking or at least nice to look at. This movie isn't... at all...

If you really want to watch a retelling of Gatsby's story, I guess try the '74 version, if not only because Robert Redford is a billion times more watchable than Di Caprio, who is only ever really a "good" actor when he's screaming at people. It's not a perfect movie, but it's better than this mess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Brilliant Gatsby, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
When I saw this film in the cinema I fell in love with the films beautiful story, I just craved to see it again afterwards as it was the favorite film I had seen ever. The mix of 1920's music and modern music goes elegantly into the amazing sets and costumes as to mention the way the film keeps you entertained and wishing you were there. Leonardo DiCaprio was a great Gatsby as he showed a fun posh smooth character which everyone wants to be.

I recommend this film for any Leonardo DiCaprio fan and any 1920's lover.

See this Film it is Amazing- Glad I pre-ordered it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars We knew this be highly stylised, but this is ..., 2 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Great Gatsby (Blu-ray)
We knew this be highly stylised, but this is too much. It really gets in the way the characters and story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At Imaginative and stunning film/, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
My one line verdict...'Blown Away' by the superlative production. Not for a second did it sink under the vast and detailed production values. The best screen filler since Cecil B. De Mille.

Heart breaking and deeply moving. Lurhman understood the novel and it's inner text. The only DVD add on was the deleted scenes and Baz explaining why. I loved the missing scenes but so could see why he left them out.

The book and film is actually as much about the strange friendship between Jay and Nick Carroway as much, if not more than about Gatsby and Daisy.

The one deleted scene that Lurhman most regretted not using was just before they go to New York for the Tom and Gatsby showdown. Nick says, "She's got an indiscreet voice," I remarked. "It's full of----" I hesitated. "Her voice is full of money," Gatsby said suddenly.
That was it. I'd never understood before. It was full of money--that was the inexhaustible charm that rose and fell in it, the jingle of it, the cymbals' song of it. . . . high in a white palace the king's daughter, the golden girl. .

Later when Tom try's to repair his friendship with Nick, he says" I couldn't forgive him or like him, but I saw what he had done was to him, entirely justified. It was all very carless and confused. They were careless people, Tom and Daisy, they smashed up things and creatures, or whatever it was that kept them together, and let other people clean up the mess they had made."

So all in all it was just wonderful. I had expected the music to jar...but not so, not even the odd rap. It was minimal and it sounded period, beautifully mixed.

One scene I waited for with bated breath was the SHIRT scene. Jack Clayton's version with Robert Redford did it so beautifully you saw why Daisy was crying......Here was a different take just just as telling. Magical film making.

As you might guess I most heartily recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 July 2014
By 
Ms (GUILDFORD, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent product- Great seller - quick delivery- Good price - Highly recommended A1 *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Electro swing, so do I love Gatsby!
Great movie especially if you love the era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interestin, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Ok, not exactly a masterpice but it cept me interested... A strange twist at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baz Luhrmann's Magnum Opus, 27 May 2013
This review is from: The Great Gatsby [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The Great Gatsby was one of the most talked about movies round December 2012 through to its shifted release date to May 2013. And there's good reason, the director is the man responsible for two bombastic movies which divide critics and audience alike, Moulin Rouge and Romeo + Juliet. But here we see a refined Baz who not only conveys the shallowness of an era through his own inflated directing style where "style over substance" is the norm, but somehow does what he's never effectively done before - get subtlety and substance into this movie, and that is not just due to the source material being indeed, a great novel. Yes there are huge bombastic parties but they feel almost under-done without the mad editing that plagued Moulin Rouge. Whilst the first 20 minutes is quick on its feet to get a lot of information through, the film slows down after that and the story is allowed to be told, and most importantly, seen.

Visually, The Great Gatsby is gorgeous to behold, every frame is wonderfully composed, the lighting is effective and the editing actually doesn't jam all over the place like in Baz' previous efforts, leaving room for you to appreciate the beauty of the film in its glory. Combine that with the music. Now when I heard Jay-Z was writing the score over someone like Hans Zimmer, I was a bit worried but the orchestral score is simple, majestic and evocative, drawing out the best of the scenes and is never overdone. As for the modern music input (the first objection to the movie since Trailer 1), it works. Somehow it works, it doesn't come in often, much of the time it is used to great effect and conveys much, the bombast of an era and so on. So on both a visual and aural front this movie wins hands down.

And now for the most important features, story and characters. Luhrmann has stayed incredibly faithful to the source material, with only a few things glossed over from the book, mainly character relationships and the occasional scene (the stable scene isn't there for example). The story of Gatsby is told incredibly well here with all its themes and power shining throughout with substance and finesse. No filler is present here to obscure the lens on the Roaring Twenties. But the thing that everyone else was complaining about when not the modern music was the casting. And I have to say, this film nailed the casting. Leonardo DiCaprio IS Gatsby, he captures the character perfectly, the hope, the frustration and the awkwardness. Tobey Maguire gets more depth to work with, telling the story from a mental aslyum for alcoholism, but it gives him an excuse to quote the book numerous times so he fits well enough. Carey Mulligan does a great job conveying Daisy with her shallowness (and unlike in the 1974 film - it's clear why Gatsby is after her so much). And for those of you who say that the 1974 version is better - it's not. That movie is incredibly dated, with a Gatsby with not enough hope and too much cool in a movie with zero substance (if a movie could read a book in a flat tone you have the '74 version). The rest of the cast fit their roles, Joel Egerton is a more human Tom, Isla Fisher nails Myrtle and there's barely a weak member of the cast.

The movie itself is emotionally profound from beginning to end, its conveying of a great story without stifling it with the usual Baz Lurhmann trademarks of quick editing and unnecessary bombast. From beginning to end a visual feast with a heart to it to convey one of the greatest tragedies in literature, brought to the screen by the man they said would screw it up utterly. Well done Luhrmann, somehow, you pulled it off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A visual display that makes you want to read the book, 22 May 2013
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Great Gatsby [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The reviewer Peter Bradshaw's description of Baz Luhrmann as "a man who can't see a nuance without calling security for it to be thrown off his set" is quite telling, but if you accept that the director's trademark is flamboyant excess, you could argue that the extravagant parties thrown by the wealthy Gatsby, the wild, escapist behaviour of "the bright young things" in the Jazz Age following the privations of World War 1, and the unthinking self-indulgence of the very rich, all lend themselves to Luhrmann's bombastic approach.

He is faithful to the details of the story, which is a "good yarn" as well as being a comment on the snobbery and corruption of 1920s American society which he develops to some extent. With events seen through the eyes of the narrator Nick Carraway (unclear why he is so poor when his cousin Daisy clearly comes from an established family accustomed to wealth), we do not at first understand his huge respect for Gatsby, to the extent of labelling him "great". We gradually come to grasp the irony of Gatsby's use of vast, recently gained wealth to try to rekindle an old love, his delusion that money can be used to regain the happiness of a past infatuation and the poignancy of "true love" blighted by the fate of "bad timing" yet still providing opportunities for honourable personal sacrifices which may go unnoticed.

I accept that this may be a shallow interpretation to those who know and love the novel, but if the film succeeds in introducing people to it, and inspires some, like me, to read Scott Fitzgerald for the first time, Luhrmann has achieved something more than simple entertainment, as he did with Romeo and Juliet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 23 July 2014
By 
Mj Burt (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Yes the costumes etc are amazing, but overdone by Luhrman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 1331 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Gatsby [DVD] [2013]
The Great Gatsby [DVD] [2013] by Baz Luhrmann (DVD - 2013)
6.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews