Customer Reviews


227 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (47)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A feast for the eyes!
Firstly, please do not let the title of the review fool you - Baz Luhrmann's "The Great Gatsby" is not just a visually stunning production, it is a great piece of cinematography, wonderfully adapted script and first class acting by the leading cast as well as all the extras. Mr Luhrmann's is one maverick of director, who never shied from over the top productions, and...
Published 10 months ago by Lola

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange and surreal
Very glitzy and glamorous but also strange. At first I wasn't sure what was going on and I'm not entirely sure I did at the end. I had been looking forward to watching this for some time but I have to say, it was a bit of a disappointment.
Published 14 days ago by sharalou


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A feast for the eyes!, 24 Jun 2013
By 
Firstly, please do not let the title of the review fool you - Baz Luhrmann's "The Great Gatsby" is not just a visually stunning production, it is a great piece of cinematography, wonderfully adapted script and first class acting by the leading cast as well as all the extras. Mr Luhrmann's is one maverick of director, who never shied from over the top productions, and together with great (truly fatastic!) acting by Leonardo DiCaprio and the amazing soundtrack recorded by the most famous names in the contemporary pop - this is a miracle recipe for the greatest Gatsby!

"The Great Gatsby" is visually striking, which is no more and no less that we've come to expect from a Baz Lurhmann's film. Lurhmann never held back from producing and directing stunning works of art. But, compared to his previous works (perhaps with the exception of Romeo + Juliet [DVD] [1996]), which were beautiful and entertaining, but somewhat lacking depth, "The Great Gatsby" has all the important components of a great film.

Lurhmann's attention to detail is admirable, the Scott Fitzgerald's book is read through the cinematography, the director is faithful to the writer's work. Baz Lurhmann is truly pushing the envelope in portraying the overblown madness of the twenties' glamorous living. You can feel the craziness, you experience the insanity, the hysterics, you are living for the day. But beyond its themes of wealth and craziness and obsessing on living for the moment, "The Great Gatsby" is a wonderful, beautiful and tragic love story. It's a twisted romance. It's an instant classic.

DiCaprio is amazing as Gatsby. He is charismatic and charming and dark and complex and so in love with Daisy. DiCaprio shines in this role. But then, the whole film is one shiny experience. Everything is perfect, from Miuccia Prada's design of period outfits (beautiful creations!) to another one of Lurhmann's trademarks - the very best of contemporary music to compliment the cinematography - it all blends organically, resulting in a beautiful, grand "Gatsby" the film.

I urge you to see "The Great Gatsby" in the cinema (while it is still showing, in 3D) to fully appreciate how mind-blowing this production is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent tale, 9 Sep 2013
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Great Gatsby [DVD + UV Copy] [2013] (DVD)
The Great Gatsby is the tale of Jay Gatsby (Leonardo DiCaprio - The Departed) a war veteran with a colourful and incredible past. With the high society in the Long-island towns West Egg & East Egg, Gatsby throws parties of the highest-order impressing all of the locals with his Gothic mansion, art-deco interior and lavish spending on entertainment. But as Gatsby leans on newcomer writer Nick Carraway (Tobey Maguire - Spider-Man) and confides in him, it becomes clear to Nick that not even all the money & respect in the world can satiate Gatsby as he hungers after married Daisy (Carey Mulligan - Drive) - will Gatsby get what he wants and at what cost?

The Great Gatsby is a grandiose affair, the styling of the 1920's lifted straight from the pages of F. Scott Fitzgerald's novel of the same name. Resultantly, we have huge set pieces of the lavish parties and splendiferous surrounds of the Gatsby residence. What follows is more a monologue of Nick Carraway lamenting Gatsby's indifference to anything but Daisy, almost as if his world exists only to please her and the extent that he will go to have her. Ultimately, TGG is a fantastically well filmed affair, credit to Baz Luhrman (director of other grand show-pieces such as Moulin Rouge) lasting just over 140 mins. The whole ethos of the film reinforced with the noticeable but not unlikeable CGI usage. The cars, the suits and the attitudes, down to the accents are just how I imagined it to be (how accurate any of this is is another matter).

The universal response to TGG has been to host parties in a similar style and to emulate the society however this really is missing the point of the film, the film carries an allegorical message about how soulless the whole pursuit is, a point missed by a large proportion of the audience who are dazzled by the shine & shimmer and neglect the moral content. TGG is ultimately a cautionary tale. Lecturing aside, the cast are capable, although I personally felt that Carey Mulligan for Daisy was a poor fit; she holds her corner well however. Isla Fisher as Tom Buchanan's (Joel Edgerton - Warrior) love interest was laughable, I really did not feel her performance and given the character's significance she was a poor choice. Despite a couple of dubious castings and some over-hashed CGI set-pieces (the ash-piles look like something out of a dystopian dream) the end result is a real feeling of Gatsby being haunted by his desire for something other than wanton materialism, blinking in the fog like the green-light of the Buchanan pier.

Extra Content;
The Greatness of Gatsby
"Within and Without" With Tobey Maguire
The Swinging Sounds of Gatsby
The Jazz Age
Razzle Dazzle: The Fashion of the '20s
Fitzgerald's Visual Poetry
Gatsby Revealed
Deleted Scenes
Trailers
There is a digital copy of the film included with this disc - with Ultraviolet codings (UV is a digital locker for your media, you have to register an account and upload your unique product code, but then you can stream it or download it anywhere on the planet on any medium).

Whilst it may not be the most canon adaptation or representation of the era, The Great Gatsby is a beautiful experience with a moral that will captivate you for over two hours. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watch again and again., 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby [DVD + UV Copy] [2013] (DVD)
Baz Luhrman does it again with a wonderful story backed by contempory music and fantastic sets and locations. History brought up to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest movie I have ever seen..., 6 April 2014
By 
Mrs. F. Weir (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Great Gatsby [DVD + UV Copy] [2013] (DVD)
The best film I have ever seen in my whole life. I am obsessed with all of the music and listen to the album on repeat, the costumes are incredible and there is such a deep meaning behind the whole film. I have seen it 14 times and whoever I watch it with interprets different bits of it differently to me and I love to see what they think it all means. Its such a deep film if you concentrate, but even if you are only half watching I still think that it is well worth seeing. Excellent for when watching alone or with many friends, an amazing movie acted superbly! BUY IT AND WATCH IT, YOU WON'T REGRET IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very well made, 18 April 2014
This review is from: The Great Gatsby (Blu-ray)
I am not a fan of Toby or Leo but I must say this film is more than a love story and makes you want to see it till the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby [DVD + UV Copy] [2013] (DVD)
Item as described, quick delivery, what else can I say?! I'd write a review of the film, but there are plenty of those online!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Will you still love me when I'm no longer young and beautiful.., 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby [DVD + UV Copy] [2013] (DVD)
Gorgeous film, leonardo really is gatsby! I felt like I was there in the parties especially when they played Lana del rays beautiful music. I'd recommend this to everyone but be warned.. it's a long one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby [DVD + UV Copy] [2013] (DVD)
Excellent movie - great story line with excellent acting. Thoroughly enjoyed by the whole family. We enjoyed it more than the original version to be honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Glamorous beautiful & well acted., 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby [DVD + UV Copy] [2013] (DVD)
An incredible visual . Poetic licence was certainly taken from the book however both are fantastic pieces in their own right. Leo is superb as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Didn't disappoint, 12 April 2014
This review is from: The Great Gatsby (DVD)
Stellar performance from DiCaprio. Beautifully filmed. Very thought provoking and worth a watch. Modern soundtrack did work very well indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa7d1ab0)

This product

The Great Gatsby [DVD + UV Copy] [2013]
The Great Gatsby [DVD + UV Copy] [2013] by Baz Luhrmann (DVD - 2013)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews