Customer Reviews


454 Reviews
5 star:
 (245)
4 star:
 (82)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (29)
1 star:
 (61)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moulin Rouge in another guise?
I found this film to be very absorbing. I could not help comparing it with Moulin Rouge, even if I had not been aware it was the same director:
Similar unusual, colourful sequences with the camera zooming into scenes, sometimes from afar. The outlandish decadence, colourful characters. The often lavish costumes, jewellery and sets and props. The often very lively...
Published 5 months ago by JLH

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars A Cornucopia Carnival of Imbecility
This is probably the worse film that I have ever watched. Mind that I watched many thousands of films.
The idiocy and imbecility of the film is endless. Its director suffers from very serious short span of attention and the film is a "cornucopia carnival" of gratuitous zooms, cheap special effects and music that doesn't match the spirit of the 1920s...
Published 1 month ago by lucas


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moulin Rouge in another guise?, 11 Oct. 2014
By 
JLH (Clacton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this film to be very absorbing. I could not help comparing it with Moulin Rouge, even if I had not been aware it was the same director:
Similar unusual, colourful sequences with the camera zooming into scenes, sometimes from afar. The outlandish decadence, colourful characters. The often lavish costumes, jewellery and sets and props. The often very lively music- sometimes almost out of place- but not quite. The 'Green Light', instead of 'The Green Fairy' and the tragic love story. Obviously a lot of CGI was used- but how else could the film be made?
The 142 minutes went very quickly for me and I've added the book to my reading list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent tale, 9 Sept. 2013
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Great Gatsby [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The Great Gatsby is the tale of Jay Gatsby (Leonardo DiCaprio - The Departed) a war veteran with a colourful and incredible past. With the high society in the Long-island towns West Egg & East Egg, Gatsby throws parties of the highest-order impressing all of the locals with his Gothic mansion, art-deco interior and lavish spending on entertainment. But as Gatsby leans on newcomer writer Nick Carraway (Tobey Maguire - Spider-Man) and confides in him, it becomes clear to Nick that not even all the money & respect in the world can satiate Gatsby as he hungers after married Daisy (Carey Mulligan - Drive) - will Gatsby get what he wants and at what cost?

The Great Gatsby is a grandiose affair, the styling of the 1920's lifted straight from the pages of F. Scott Fitzgerald's novel of the same name. Resultantly, we have huge set pieces of the lavish parties and splendiferous surrounds of the Gatsby residence. What follows is more a monologue of Nick Carraway lamenting Gatsby's indifference to anything but Daisy, almost as if his world exists only to please her and the extent that he will go to have her. Ultimately, TGG is a fantastically well filmed affair, credit to Baz Luhrman (director of other grand show-pieces such as Moulin Rouge) lasting just over 140 mins. The whole ethos of the film reinforced with the noticeable but not unlikeable CGI usage. The cars, the suits and the attitudes, down to the accents are just how I imagined it to be (how accurate any of this is is another matter).

The universal response to TGG has been to host parties in a similar style and to emulate the society however this really is missing the point of the film, the film carries an allegorical message about how soulless the whole pursuit is, a point missed by a large proportion of the audience who are dazzled by the shine & shimmer and neglect the moral content. TGG is ultimately a cautionary tale. Lecturing aside, the cast are capable, although I personally felt that Carey Mulligan for Daisy was a poor fit; she holds her corner well however. Isla Fisher as Tom Buchanan's (Joel Edgerton - Warrior) love interest was laughable, I really did not feel her performance and given the character's significance she was a poor choice. Despite a couple of dubious castings and some over-hashed CGI set-pieces (the ash-piles look like something out of a dystopian dream) the end result is a real feeling of Gatsby being haunted by his desire for something other than wanton materialism, blinking in the fog like the green-light of the Buchanan pier.

Extra Content;
· The Greatness of Gatsby
· "Within and Without" With Tobey Maguire
· The Swinging Sounds of Gatsby
· The Jazz Age
· Razzle Dazzle: The Fashion of the '20s
· Fitzgerald's Visual Poetry
· Gatsby Revealed
· Deleted Scenes
· Trailers
There is a digital copy of the film included with this disc - with Ultraviolet codings (UV is a digital locker for your media, you have to register an account and upload your unique product code, but then you can stream it or download it anywhere on the planet on any medium).

Whilst it may not be the most canon adaptation or representation of the era, The Great Gatsby is a beautiful experience with a moral that will captivate you for over two hours. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dazzling, dramatic, but a little seen-it-all before, 9 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There wasn't a minute of this film during which I was bored. As usual with Baz Luhrmann, if there wasn't emotion on screen, there was some kind of visually impressive spectacle. I spent much of the running time wowed by the extraordinary visuals, which was probably a good thing, as for the first half of the film, it's distinctly light on plot.
While we're introduced to Maguire's fairly innocent wannabe writer and everyone wonders who the mysterious Mr Gatsby is, almost all of the rest of the time is filled by drunken parties whose whirling colours, enthusiastic dancers and flying confetti / ribbons / champagne corks put the can-can scene in Moulin Rouge to shame. They're a breathtaking example of candy for the eyes - nobody does decadent opulence like Luhrmann.
However, once the actual plot begins to emerge, and the love story develops, similarities with his earlier well-loved work start to rear their heads a bit too often. Star-crossed lovers who yearn to be together? Yep. Furiously paced, noisy parties to open the movie and fill out the running time until something actually happens? Yep. A comically awkward first romantic meeting? Yep. A jilted lover? Yep. A writer relating the story? Yep. Someone even breaks out a revolver near the climax.
While the film was undoubtedly enjoyable, I would have liked it more if it hadn't felt like it was struggling so hard to follow Moulin Rouge's template and had been allowed to be more of its own animal.
It's a visually gorgeous, dramatic movie. It's just a slight disappointment that you've seen this dame before - just wearing a more theatrical French dress...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A Cornucopia Carnival of Imbecility, 15 Feb. 2015
This review is from: The Great Gatsby [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This is probably the worse film that I have ever watched. Mind that I watched many thousands of films.
The idiocy and imbecility of the film is endless. Its director suffers from very serious short span of attention and the film is a "cornucopia carnival" of gratuitous zooms, cheap special effects and music that doesn't match the spirit of the 1920s.

But the horrors of the film are not limited to its absolutely atrocious cinematography. There is no emotion, no soul at all in the story. The personages don't look or behave human. They are like people made of plastic. I guess that the director of this imbecilic film grew up watching video games and, on that, I would suggest alternative titles for this atrociously bad film, titles that would explain how the idiotic director ruined a perfectly good story:

Gatsby, the video game.
A cornucopia carnival of zooms
Mommy, Mommy, look what I can do with the camera!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The Curious Story of the film director with less span of attention than a goldfish.

I don't think the director of this film ever read the book. Too many words for him. He probably just watched the previous version (from which he copied many things but ruined them with the excessive zooms and special effects)

"The Great Gatsby" is one of the great books from the 20th century. It was the only book that I read without stopping. I remember the experience very well. I was in a library, got the book, sat and didn't get up until I had finished it. I didn't get up even to get a glass of water.

If you read the book or watched its previous filmed version, if you don't have short span of attention, if you don't like hysterical camerawork and gratuitous special effects, if you don't like hip hop as background music for a story passed in the 1920s, if you don't like personages who behavea like people made of plastic, then don't order this film. Don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, Old Sport !!!, 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Beautiful cast members, beautiful sets, beautiful costumes, this film is wonderful - Leonardo is a genius and the support cast excellent - Recommend - 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, 20 Jun. 2014
This review is from: The Great Gatsby (DVD)
Yet another success from Lhurmann. The sets, the music and of course Dicaprios ability to portray pretty much any character scored a 10/10 for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A feast for the eyes!, 24 Jun. 2013
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Firstly, please do not let the title of the review fool you - Baz Luhrmann's "The Great Gatsby" is not just a visually stunning production, it is a great piece of cinematography, wonderfully adapted script and first class acting by the leading cast as well as all the extras. Mr Luhrmann's is one maverick of director, who never shied from over the top productions, and together with great (truly fatastic!) acting by Leonardo DiCaprio and the amazing soundtrack recorded by the most famous names in the contemporary pop - this is a miracle recipe for the greatest Gatsby!

"The Great Gatsby" is visually striking, which is no more and no less that we've come to expect from a Baz Lurhmann's film. Lurhmann never held back from producing and directing stunning works of art. But, compared to his previous works (perhaps with the exception of Romeo + Juliet [DVD] [1996]), which were beautiful and entertaining, but somewhat lacking depth, "The Great Gatsby" has all the important components of a great film.

Lurhmann's attention to detail is admirable, the Scott Fitzgerald's book is read through the cinematography, the director is faithful to the writer's work. Baz Lurhmann is truly pushing the envelope in portraying the overblown madness of the twenties' glamorous living. You can feel the craziness, you experience the insanity, the hysterics, you are living for the day. But beyond its themes of wealth and craziness and obsessing on living for the moment, "The Great Gatsby" is a wonderful, beautiful and tragic love story. It's a twisted romance. It's an instant classic.

DiCaprio is amazing as Gatsby. He is charismatic and charming and dark and complex and so in love with Daisy. DiCaprio shines in this role. But then, the whole film is one shiny experience. Everything is perfect, from Miuccia Prada's design of period outfits (beautiful creations!) to another one of Lurhmann's trademarks - the very best of contemporary music to compliment the cinematography - it all blends organically, resulting in a beautiful, grand "Gatsby" the film.

I urge you to see "The Great Gatsby" in the cinema (while it is still showing, in 3D) to fully appreciate how mind-blowing this production is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Feast For The Eyes, 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly, I have to say that this film is just a brilliant overview of the ‘roaring twenties.’ It is filmed as if a fantasy, showing off the decadent wealth, with it’s wonderful palatial mansions and locations, its riotous parties, its art deco interiors & lavish adornments, then there’s the music , the cars and of course those lovely cloths of that period – and the film really goes to town on all of these.
I really enjoyed the film, and so did the buffs as it almost swept up all of the ‘AA’s for that year. It was very lavish, as was the budget at 105 million $. Whilst the audience reaction wasn’t totally overwhelming (Rotten Tomatoes & IMDb giving it around 7/10) it pulled in a massive 350 million$ worldwide.
My only criticism would be that perhaps it’s a bit overly long at 2 hours, 20 minutes. A side from that it’s a wonderful film and a feast for your eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The style worked for Moulin Rouge, it completely fails with The Great Gatsby, 16 May 2014
This review is from: The Great Gatsby (Blu-ray)
Baz Luhrmann's use of popular music, rap and modern dance set in a period drama was very original in Moulin Rouge because it suited the bohemian story of Toulouse-Lautrec, who was a pioneer of the new and decadence at the same time. The art scene in Paris during the 1920s was experimenting in the unconventional. So to implant that style into a story about dangers of excess could work, but in The Great Gatsby it fails utterly because none of it felt real. The use of CGI is reminiscent of the Star Wars prequels. There was so much of it that it lost all resemblance to normality. This was a 1920s that no one would recognise. In the inability to believe what you see is real than any character development or sympathy went out of the window. It could make for a spectacular music video but for a feature film it lacked soul, depth or interest. Leonardo DiCaprio was the only saving grace. The narration by Tobey Maguire is awful and Carey Mulligan phoned it in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible wasted opportunity., 6 Jan. 2014
By 
J. Whitworth (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Great Gatsby [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I was looking forward to seeing an updated version of the Redford movie and of course seeing how the classic and beautiful book would be adapted. Good, God; what an awful film. Massively over stylised; if you're looking for a definition of style over substance, this is it. It is all very strange. Good (and great) actors give dire and wooden performance, the whole think has the air of amateur pantomime and perhaps worst and most mystifying of all a movie set in the 1920s when some of the most exciting music ever made was being written and performed is ruined by the inclusion of rap and dance music!

Avoid like the plague.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Gatsby [DVD] [2013]
The Great Gatsby [DVD] [2013] by Baz Luhrmann (DVD - 2013)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews