Customer Reviews


275 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (38)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Generously sized, good consistency, excellent toast!
Not bought from Amazon, but a major Supermarket instead where it was a couple of pounds cheaper.

This toaster manages to fulfill the simple criteria of fitting a standard (and then some) slice of bread, followed by toasting it very evenly and consistently.

It isn't particularly fast, compared with the outgoing Tefal Hi-speeed its slow. The reward for...
Published on 16 Feb 2009 by Fussy Princess

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wish I'd read the reviews first
We suffered from all the complaints made by those who disliked the product but in our haste to buy this only saw the overall number of stars.

The toaster is no good at all for small products, whether crumpets or smaller than average slices. The product claims a high lift: "The high lift function allows you to remove toast with ease and without the risk of...
Published 3 months ago by Ms J. A. McAvoy


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Generously sized, good consistency, excellent toast!, 16 Feb 2009
Not bought from Amazon, but a major Supermarket instead where it was a couple of pounds cheaper.

This toaster manages to fulfill the simple criteria of fitting a standard (and then some) slice of bread, followed by toasting it very evenly and consistently.

It isn't particularly fast, compared with the outgoing Tefal Hi-speeed its slow. The reward for a slightly longer wait is a proper full-size piece of toast rather than half of slice of squashed up bread that's crispy on the outside and soggy in the centre.

Full marks for a really decent toaster Russell Hobbs! No hesitation in recommending to all. Husband has now done 3 slices in a row to "test" and declared it a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can get a Warburton Toastie in it!!, 2 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes! Yes! Yes! At last a toaster that you can fit a piece of Warbutons Toastie in and not have to retrieve the bits that get stuck to the elements and burnt black, with a knife after you have disconnected the smoke alarm!! Sounds a bit dramatic I know but in our house it is Warburtons or thick, cut your own farmhouse bread only, neither of which seem to fit in most normal toasters. It looks great, just one small thing, it is not cool wall, the toaster itself gets quite hot, particulary the stainless steel bits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely toaster that matches my kettle from Morrisons!, 2 Aug 2010
I bought the kettle from Morrisons but they did not sell the matching toaster and so I got it from Amazon. It looks fantastic and toasts very well. It has all the functions that I need i.e. defrost and it does take different shaped bread (length and width). It has various toasting settings and does it very very well. I am very impressed with both toaster and kettle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good functional toaster, 2 Nov 2010
This toaster is good, all breads seem to fit, including Warburton and Tiger bread and Bloomer bread that you cut yourself. It does not have a coolwall, however, for adults, its more than fine and toasts the complete slice not part of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wish I'd read the reviews first, 2 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We suffered from all the complaints made by those who disliked the product but in our haste to buy this only saw the overall number of stars.

The toaster is no good at all for small products, whether crumpets or smaller than average slices. The product claims a high lift: "The high lift function allows you to remove toast with ease and without the risk of burning your fingers. It also comes in useful when toasting smaller items such as crumpets and potato cakes as you can lift your toasted creations extra high and out of the toaster."

But in fact look at the picture with the high lift on and you can see the bread, an average size probably, is only just coming out. It doesn't go to the top of the slot so it simply doesn't lift out smaller items. Lean in to get out the stuck pieces and yes, fingers are burned because the metal strip is hot. We used this one day and sent it back. A shame because it looked good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Russell Hobbs toaster, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This toaster does what its supposed to, thankfully. On the down side you cant touch it to move it anywhere after you've used it as it will burn your hand off. As well as that dont think about making pop tarts in this thing as you'd need an oven glove to take them out!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toasts BIG bread., 18 Aug 2010
By 
If you're looking for a toaster that can handle large slices, then this is the one. It was the only toaster I could find that could fit Warburtons Toastie bread. (This or the other models in the same line - the 13766/14360).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars toastie, 21 Feb 2011
So far so good. Time will tell if it continues to toast all the bread all the time. It takes even home made bread & this never follows standard shape slices. Looks good on work surface.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars no more uneven toast, 16 July 2009
By 
K. Love (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely toaster if you can get excited about these things. I bought this model as it matched my kettle and the previous toaster was very choosey about browning both slices evenly, but this toaster does the job and with very little stainless steel to wipe it always looks clean and tidy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can't physically give it zero stars and can't understand how it got it's safety certificate, 20 Feb 2013
Bought the toaster/Kettle combo (admittedly from another seller) but felt I had to add my tuppence on the toaster. DO NOT BUY THIS!!!
The only thing it toasts well is your fingertips on the casing.

It really does get too hot to touch on both the upper areas of the cream panels but also all over the chrome.

When you try and pop up something small like a crumpet, or stuck you naturally use the edge of the case to hold down the unit... big mistake. Very badly burnt fingertips.
To add insult to injury the item inside was warm but certainly not crisp or brown

Thought it might have been a faulty unit (perhaps they fitted the elements in the wrong way round), but the replacement does exactly the same and then I found these reviews.

I can't stress enough.... THESE ARE DANGEROUS.

I will be writing to the people who pass items as safe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Russell Hobbs 18951 Colours 2 Slice Toaster - Red
£19.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews