Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best mSATA SSD on Amazon!
I brought this SSD to go into an Intel NUC barebones kit that I purchased and the only size that fits is mSATA so I started looking around here. The other option I had was the OCZ-NOC mSATA SSD but the read speed of this just blew the OCZ out of the water! (500MB/s compared to 280MB/s). Sure the write speed is slower at 175MB/s but you'll never EVER be writing that much...
Published on 18 Nov 2012 by Thomas Coote

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor product - ships with serious firmware bug - no fix for over 2 months
This mSATA drive ships with firmware 01MG. After restart (rather than shutdown) or power failure to your PC, the drive will no longer be recognised and you cannot easily boot or repair the system.

Crucial is being too slow to fix this problem and is not officially admitting a problem. The last update (01MG) was released on 25th September 2012 and it is being...
Published on 30 Nov 2012 by Mr H


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best mSATA SSD on Amazon!, 18 Nov 2012
By 
Thomas Coote (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crucial CT128M4SSD3 128GB M4 SATA III 6Gb/s mSATA MLC Internal SSD (Personal Computers)
I brought this SSD to go into an Intel NUC barebones kit that I purchased and the only size that fits is mSATA so I started looking around here. The other option I had was the OCZ-NOC mSATA SSD but the read speed of this just blew the OCZ out of the water! (500MB/s compared to 280MB/s). Sure the write speed is slower at 175MB/s but you'll never EVER be writing that much data except for when you first install windows. The speed of SSD's are so fast now and this one is no exception. Startup is VERY fast and, as these drives do not fragment (slow down) it stays fast for as long as you're using your PC.

Operation in every aspect of the computer is faster, startup saves 40 seconds every time I do it and opening programs is instantaneous so the experience really is nice. I brought the 120GB model as I think this is the sweet spot between capacity and affordability. This coupled with a Core i3 Ivy Bridge processor means this tiny (4x4 inch!) computer packs a huge punch. SSD's are so fast now I'll never go back to using just a mechanical hard-drive because the difference is so noticeable. The SSD will be silent as well as a lot more durable as it has no moving parts.

I recommend an SSD over anything else if you're updating your computer. Maybe not this one if you can fit a full size 2.5 inch one but definitely do this upgrade first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just the job as a add on, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crucial CT128M4SSD3 128GB M4 SATA III 6Gb/s mSATA MLC Internal SSD (Personal Computers)
Speedy delivery and the goods worked first with my Drobo The speed is also an important factor when I looked at this Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super Fast!, 12 Mar 2013
By 
Ethan (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crucial CT128M4SSD3 128GB M4 SATA III 6Gb/s mSATA MLC Internal SSD (Personal Computers)
as per a previous review I was sure to update the firmware before use. To update the firmware you need to access via a legacy boot of your desired os. will work fine in EFI boot after firmware update.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quick delivery., 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crucial CT128M4SSD3 128GB M4 SATA III 6Gb/s mSATA MLC Internal SSD (Personal Computers)
Took me a while to figure out how to get my system installed on it, before I realised best to disconnect the old hard drive. Then I got both Windows 8 set up on it and also intel rapid start. Now my system is up and running in less than 10s from power on!
On had it for a few weeks, but all good so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great mSATA, 11 Dec 2012
By 
Jiang Yehua (Shenzhen City, Guangdong China) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crucial CT128M4SSD3 128GB M4 SATA III 6Gb/s mSATA MLC Internal SSD (Personal Computers)
Ordered it after I heard that Crucial had released the new firmware 04MH earlier this month. Updated after I got it. good product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor product - ships with serious firmware bug - no fix for over 2 months, 30 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crucial CT128M4SSD3 128GB M4 SATA III 6Gb/s mSATA MLC Internal SSD (Personal Computers)
This mSATA drive ships with firmware 01MG. After restart (rather than shutdown) or power failure to your PC, the drive will no longer be recognised and you cannot easily boot or repair the system.

Crucial is being too slow to fix this problem and is not officially admitting a problem. The last update (01MG) was released on 25th September 2012 and it is being used in production drives. Their support forums are full of people complaining about this and other Crucial SSD are suffering from the same issue. Apparently a new version of the firmware will be available in "mid December" but they have not confirmed if this will fix the issues. In addition, those PCs which have secure boot (UEFI instead of BIOS - a requirement for all new PCs shipping with Windows 8 pre installed) has not previously been supported by their firmware update tool so it is unclear if this update will even be deployed on these systems!

When users pay a significant price for a product like this, it should not ship with serious bugs like this. Amazon should remove this drive from sale until Crucial offers a firmware update.

I will be returning the drive as it is simply not fit for purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent SSD for the price !, 15 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crucial CT128M4SSD3 128GB M4 SATA III 6Gb/s mSATA MLC Internal SSD (Personal Computers)
Item is exactly as described and work perfectly fine for now. A great substitute to hard drive for an amazing form factor( its really small for what it stores in ) Tested the ssd with standard tools for performance and was pleased with the results. One of the best msata SSD's on the market. Long term life of all ssd's in general is however a question and will only know in time. Best option is to use only for OS and other essential programs and no data storage !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars verry bad product, 11 Feb 2013
By 
Nathalie Becq (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crucial CT128M4SSD3 128GB M4 SATA III 6Gb/s mSATA MLC Internal SSD (Personal Computers)
It is already out of order it was mounted on a Asus ep 121 an the time to make test on it, with "Hard Disk Sentinel Pro " and "mini tool partition wizard " return no more possible, bad luck
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews