Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply put: Perfect!
I can honestly say that this was the first album that i listened to over and over again, and still after the 4th time i was picking up lyrics and phrases that i had not heard before.
The music is lovely and crisp on the ear and is full of rythem and style that is sadly becoming lost in todays electric tunes.
Paul Simon has lost none of his style and panache in...
Published on 22 Aug 2002 by masterleversha

versus
48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Massively overcompressed, overloud remastering
Doing a waveform & audible analysis of my 1986 CD compared to this 2011 re-release, the results are shocking, absolutely massive compression has been applied to this in a race to the loudness wars, resulting in distortion & subtleties of the voices and instruments simply disappearing compared to the original. I am not an anti-remasterer, there are great remasters out...
Published on 2 Dec 2011 by Wilfrith


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Massively overcompressed, overloud remastering, 2 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Graceland (Audio CD)
Doing a waveform & audible analysis of my 1986 CD compared to this 2011 re-release, the results are shocking, absolutely massive compression has been applied to this in a race to the loudness wars, resulting in distortion & subtleties of the voices and instruments simply disappearing compared to the original. I am not an anti-remasterer, there are great remasters out there, but this is not one of them, stick to the 1986 CD if you want the best from this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply put: Perfect!, 22 Aug 2002
This review is from: Graceland (Audio CD)
I can honestly say that this was the first album that i listened to over and over again, and still after the 4th time i was picking up lyrics and phrases that i had not heard before.
The music is lovely and crisp on the ear and is full of rythem and style that is sadly becoming lost in todays electric tunes.
Paul Simon has lost none of his style and panache in this, and it still stands out as one of the greatest and most loved albums of all time.
Simply perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album ever!, 22 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Graceland (Audio CD)
I have listened to this album since I was a baby, and it is absolutely fantastic! Diamonds On The Soles Of Her Shoes is my favourite song in the world- it always calms me down. Ladysmith Black Mambaso are good in their own right, but with Paul Simon they reach a whole other level. The harmonies and the guitar are amazing. I can't say nice enough things about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original 1986 recording, 16 Nov 2009
By 
D. Elliott (Ulverston, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Graceland (Audio CD)
Sometimes magnificent music can be let down by meaningless lyrics, and sometimes significant words are undermined by trite tunes, but this `Graceland' CD is magnificent from all standpoints. Haunting melodies and moving messages are blended together via Paul Simon's innovative integration of African and American styles - great rhythms, great lyrics, great solos, great duets and great backing. It is captivating listening, and for those seeking to join in there is a full print of songs on the CD sleeve. All tracks are glorious - from the introductory drum beats of `The Boy In The Bubble' to the final plaintive and poignant poetry of `All Around The World' (The Myth of Fingerprints'). Between is a variety of instruments and styles such as the percussion on `Graceland', backing vocals on `I Know What I Know', duet on `Under African Skies', African singing on `Diamonds On The Soles Of Her Shoes' and `Homeless', up-tempo for `Gumboots', integration of penny-whistle on `You Can Call Me Al', syncopated sounds on `Crazy Love' and use of accordion on `That Was Your Mother'. This truly masterful CD is awe-inspiring and makes compelling listening. In the past `Graceland' was produced on cassette, and subsequently it has been subject to re-mastering - but this original CD is the pre-eminent edition - it is a genuine classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who am I to blow against the wind., 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Graceland (Audio CD)
I realised I had not heard this album in a long time when a rare radio moment reminded me of it. A quick browse on Amazon and I soon purchased the original recording on cd to replace the long lost tape that rattled around numerous dashboards decades earlier. Paul Simon is a talented musician and a convoluted but occasionally visceral lyricist,however, as before, the pull of this album for myself is the fantastic rhythms and rich harmonies.The artists involved in the album and location of the recording meant that Paul and his fellow musicians became politicised and he is considered perhaps equally brave and naive for releasing it in the manner he did. In spite of this the music is brimming with humanity and fun; it cannot be danced to purely as a western beat would encourage instead the songs urge the listener to invent their own unique form and this is often hilarious and liberating. Paul Simon strikes me as a stubborn and fastidious fellow and if he orchestrated every note of this record to reverberate as it does then he is a genius, if the arrangements blossomed from the seeds of happenstance and cultural ambiguity then he is still a genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Complete Classic, 27 Feb 2004
By 
Allan One (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Graceland (Audio CD)
One of the classic albums of all time. Graceland is a fusion of wonderful lyrics and haunting melodies.
Paul Simon has crafted a gem of an album that would grace any record collection. From the sublime "Diamonds On The Soles Of Her Shoes" with its collection of astounding vocal efforts matched with a peerless tune, to the up-tempo sharpness of "You Can Call Me Al" this is an all time great.
The description of 'Classic Album' is often over used but once in a while a true classic does come along....this is one of those few, rare times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great music not so great CD, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Graceland (Audio CD)
Good to have the music again but unfortunately two of the tracks keep sticking which is a pain - but it wasn't expensive so I guess I can put up with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Simon triumphs in capturing the wild essence of Africa., 19 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Graceland (Audio CD)
What initially appears to be the straightforward exploitation of a yet untapped resource, soon evolves into a skilled and tasteful blend of ethnic-pop story telling, with the unmistakable signature of Simon still dominant throughout. Predictable, busy African guitar and those superb 'Mambazo' chorals conspire with flawless upbeat consructions to make this a completely safe purchase for the sorry few of you who don't already own a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Graceland, 8 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Graceland (Audio CD)
A must-have replacement for the original cassette as the album is an all-time favourite of mine. Paul Simon is a musical wizard!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bona fide classic album, 13 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Graceland (Audio CD)
This album will almost always figure in a "Best Albums Of All Time" poll. On its release in 1986 it became one of the highest selling albums of the 80s. This was for the simple reason that the African tinged pop music (any of which here could easily match the Simon & Garfunkel material) had never been done before. It's 1990 successor, the Rhythm Of The Saints, tried to continue in this vein but was nowhere near as successful. This is a classic. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Graceland
Graceland by Paul Simon
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews