Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST AT WHAT HE DID.
Huge fans may well have seen a lot of the footage on here and heard all the stories from his past and early fame,but it's still well worth another look when things are put together this well. We all know BRUCE was a master of his art and still considered to be the best by many today,well this doesn't try to take that away fom him,it just gives us more reason to say it...
Published on 23 July 2012 by BAZ316

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I am bruce lee bluray.
It states region free but will only play on 50hertz bluray players.All of my 3 U.S. players only do 60 hertz .They should say only 50 hertz players will show video. I would not have bought if amazon U.K. would have done there job to inform customers in U.S. .
Published 9 months ago by Kindle Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST AT WHAT HE DID., 23 July 2012
This review is from: I am Bruce Lee [DVD] (DVD)
Huge fans may well have seen a lot of the footage on here and heard all the stories from his past and early fame,but it's still well worth another look when things are put together this well. We all know BRUCE was a master of his art and still considered to be the best by many today,well this doesn't try to take that away fom him,it just gives us more reason to say it. Lots of old film footage with interviews from various people thrown in,people like his wife and dauhter,but also cage fighters,dancers,etc...giving us another way of looking at what BRUCE LEE did. We have memories of the man he was aswell as fans talking about why they love his work so much,even a few comments saying perhaps he wasn't the best,just to even it out a bit.
But for me,he was the best at what he did,his films amazed me and his style,which was pretty much free flowing as he would adapt to anything,was enough to impress many an onlooker.
If you don't know much about BRUCE LEE,then this will be a great way of learning,if you do know a lot,just enjoy it. This is his story from his early childhood to his sad death,which even puts some silly rumours in their place. If you like the idea of a film that tells you pretty much all you need about this legend,here it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not the best Bruce Lee Documentary, 18 Aug 2012
By 
Michael Clayden (Oxfordshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I am Bruce Lee [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed 'Iam Bruce Lee' but to be honest it certainly isn't the best Documentary ever released on the master.
It does have some interesting and well balanced interviews with people who either love Bruce Lee or are skeptical of his prowess in Martial Art. Where the Documentary falls down is the typical american style of presentation. For instance, a person will be starting an anecdote and then it cuts to another talking head finishing the anecdote so you never get the full story from the person being interviewed. You also get hit over the head with superimposed titles reminding us of Bruce lees philosophy quotes as they are spoken. Its rather like being treated like a ten year old who is given his first lesson in Bruce lee.
The documentary moves very fast, maybe too fast. Rare stills of Bruce are only glimpsed seconds before cutting away to another talking head. The viewer never gets the chance to enjoy or study them long enough, unless you hit the pause of course. I also found using clips from his films as a narrative to actual moments in Bruce's real life rather cheesy. As for rare footage, there isn't a lot here fans haven't seen before. However, near the end of the documentary there is some brilliant footage shot on the set of 'Enter the dragon'. This is probably from actress Ahna Capri's 8mm movie camera. In one segment we get to see Bruce Lee actually doing a disco style boogie on the 'Enter the dragon' courtyard set. Its fun to watch and also see what a natural dancer he really was!
This footage could be a clue to what is yet to be shown and never seen before, in the up and coming anniversary release of ETD. 'Iam Bruce Lee' is worth watching, but for me, I still rate " How Bruce Lee changed the world" as the ultimate Documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 360 Degree Lee, 28 Jun 2012
This review is from: I am Bruce Lee [DVD] (DVD)
There are lots of garage forecourt DVD docs on Bruce Lee's life that don't really cut it.

Some concentrate on his impact on martial arts, others cobble together whatever public domain material they can but few give a wide ranging take on his life and contribution not just to action cinema and combat sport but across all of pop culture. I Am Bruce Lee acts as both in depth biography and an examination of Lee's influence of music, dance, sport and style.

This is the first wholly satisfying look at the life and work of one of the 20th centuries most iconic figures.

I am Bruce Lee [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Bruce Lee Doc!, 13 July 2012
By 
K. Daniels - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Am Bruce Lee [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Here we have it, folks! The Ultimate Bruce Lee documentary!

I AM BRUCE LEE celebrates the legend of martial arts cinema like never before. Featuring a whole host of fascinating interviews from Lee's widow, daughter, Dan Inosanto, kickboxing champion Bob Wall, Mickey Rourke, Ed O'Neill, Kobe Bryant and several other important names. Along with some extremely rare footage including interviews, this documentary leads us on a journey through Lee's past to his tragic and untimely death. His undeniable influence can still be seen today and this documentary captures and explores this incredible man to the full. The extras included here are also superb, consisting of several personal home videos and a look at Bruce Lee's phenomenal influence around the globe.

This is, without a shadow of a doubt, the only Bruce Lee documentary you'll ever need to see. The documentary is such an in-depth tribute that even the most knowledgeable of fans will find plenty here to entertain and educate them.

A must have!

10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I am Bruce Lee [DVD] (DVD)
Awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely DVD, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I am Bruce Lee [DVD] (DVD)
my son is an avid fan of Brude Lee and would find everything in the DVD fantastic as he said wow mum its great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I am Bruce Lee [DVD] (DVD)
Great documentary. Covers all ground re Bruce Lee. A must for any fan of the Little Dragon. A must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 16 Mar 2014
By 
D. Kenny (Stafford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I am Bruce Lee [DVD] (DVD)
This is a heartfelt, rewarding, and engaging film about one man's efforts to make his own way in the world.
It is selective but it has more balance than any other documentary about Bruce Lee and draws wonderfully upon the few excellent audio and video interviews that he gave. His 'art of expressing the human body' was sublime, his action sequences pure masterpieces.
The philosophical underpinnings in his interviews, TV shows ('Longstreet') and his films ('Enter the Dragon') suggest that he had an enquiring mind and an interest in moving beyond fighting - knocking other people about is hardly an admirable thing to do.
Sincerity shines through this film - it is well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i am bruce lee, 29 Jan 2014
This review is from: I am Bruce Lee [DVD] (DVD)
thort it was very interesting. nicely done. enjoyed it immensely, one of the best dvds of my collection,well done excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best of bruce, 28 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: I am Bruce Lee [DVD] (DVD)
What can you say about this legand it show insite to the wold of Bruce lee.
Was hoping jet Li or Jamie chan or Donnie yen would say about the impact of Bruce lee to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I am Bruce Lee [DVD]
I am Bruce Lee [DVD] by Pete McCormack (DVD - 2012)
4.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews