Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars37
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 July 2012
Huge fans may well have seen a lot of the footage on here and heard all the stories from his past and early fame,but it's still well worth another look when things are put together this well. We all know BRUCE was a master of his art and still considered to be the best by many today,well this doesn't try to take that away fom him,it just gives us more reason to say it. Lots of old film footage with interviews from various people thrown in,people like his wife and dauhter,but also cage fighters,dancers,etc...giving us another way of looking at what BRUCE LEE did. We have memories of the man he was aswell as fans talking about why they love his work so much,even a few comments saying perhaps he wasn't the best,just to even it out a bit.
But for me,he was the best at what he did,his films amazed me and his style,which was pretty much free flowing as he would adapt to anything,was enough to impress many an onlooker.
If you don't know much about BRUCE LEE,then this will be a great way of learning,if you do know a lot,just enjoy it. This is his story from his early childhood to his sad death,which even puts some silly rumours in their place. If you like the idea of a film that tells you pretty much all you need about this legend,here it is.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2012
I enjoyed 'Iam Bruce Lee' but to be honest it certainly isn't the best Documentary ever released on the master.
It does have some interesting and well balanced interviews with people who either love Bruce Lee or are skeptical of his prowess in Martial Art. Where the Documentary falls down is the typical american style of presentation. For instance, a person will be starting an anecdote and then it cuts to another talking head finishing the anecdote so you never get the full story from the person being interviewed. You also get hit over the head with superimposed titles reminding us of Bruce lees philosophy quotes as they are spoken. Its rather like being treated like a ten year old who is given his first lesson in Bruce lee.
The documentary moves very fast, maybe too fast. Rare stills of Bruce are only glimpsed seconds before cutting away to another talking head. The viewer never gets the chance to enjoy or study them long enough, unless you hit the pause of course. I also found using clips from his films as a narrative to actual moments in Bruce's real life rather cheesy. As for rare footage, there isn't a lot here fans haven't seen before. However, near the end of the documentary there is some brilliant footage shot on the set of 'Enter the dragon'. This is probably from actress Ahna Capri's 8mm movie camera. In one segment we get to see Bruce Lee actually doing a disco style boogie on the 'Enter the dragon' courtyard set. Its fun to watch and also see what a natural dancer he really was!
This footage could be a clue to what is yet to be shown and never seen before, in the up and coming anniversary release of ETD. 'Iam Bruce Lee' is worth watching, but for me, I still rate " How Bruce Lee changed the world" as the ultimate Documentary.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2012
There are lots of garage forecourt DVD docs on Bruce Lee's life that don't really cut it.

Some concentrate on his impact on martial arts, others cobble together whatever public domain material they can but few give a wide ranging take on his life and contribution not just to action cinema and combat sport but across all of pop culture. I Am Bruce Lee acts as both in depth biography and an examination of Lee's influence of music, dance, sport and style.

This is the first wholly satisfying look at the life and work of one of the 20th centuries most iconic figures.

I am Bruce Lee [DVD]
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2012
Here we have it, folks! The Ultimate Bruce Lee documentary!

I AM BRUCE LEE celebrates the legend of martial arts cinema like never before. Featuring a whole host of fascinating interviews from Lee's widow, daughter, Dan Inosanto, kickboxing champion Bob Wall, Mickey Rourke, Ed O'Neill, Kobe Bryant and several other important names. Along with some extremely rare footage including interviews, this documentary leads us on a journey through Lee's past to his tragic and untimely death. His undeniable influence can still be seen today and this documentary captures and explores this incredible man to the full. The extras included here are also superb, consisting of several personal home videos and a look at Bruce Lee's phenomenal influence around the globe.

This is, without a shadow of a doubt, the only Bruce Lee documentary you'll ever need to see. The documentary is such an in-depth tribute that even the most knowledgeable of fans will find plenty here to entertain and educate them.

A must have!

10/10
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
This is a heartfelt, rewarding, and engaging film about one man's efforts to make his own way in the world.
It is selective but it has more balance than any other documentary about Bruce Lee and draws wonderfully upon the few excellent audio and video interviews that he gave. His 'art of expressing the human body' was sublime, his action sequences pure masterpieces.
The philosophical underpinnings in his interviews, TV shows ('Longstreet') and his films ('Enter the Dragon') suggest that he had an enquiring mind and an interest in moving beyond fighting - knocking other people about is hardly an admirable thing to do.
Sincerity shines through this film - it is well worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2016
I'm not a fan of documentaries where Family & Friends (or usually people who've never even met the subject) give their interpretation of what the Actor/Artists life was like, but this has Bruce Lee in his own words...the man himself telling you how it is or was. Home movies of Bruce training in his back yard or attending martial arts events. You can tell that the people who took part in this documentaries really love and still miss Bruce Lee to this day. I really did enjoy this DVD and would recommend it to anyone interested, not only in Martial Arts, but in seeing what we humans should be...all things, all people, all colours, constantly improving....I am Bruce Lee!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2015
its a good documentary with a hollywood audition as a nice extra. but do these celebs need to be so immature when talkin about fighting. found them silly. worth a watch though
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2012
Good to see some up to date interviews with friends and family of Bruce Lee and other things I hadn't seen before e.g.footage of old home cine film. Fast moving and informative,.

I have an older Bruce Lee biog dvd which came with Enter the Dragon which maybe has a bit more information on his early life than this dvd and goes into more detail with the storylines of the films he was in - so, good to have both!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
What can you say about this legand it show insite to the wold of Bruce lee.
Was hoping jet Li or Jamie chan or Donnie yen would say about the impact of Bruce lee to them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2012
Great documentary about the master Bruce Lee.
A must have for his worldwide fans and for all those who want to know his impact to the martial arts world !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)