Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars74
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 July 2012
I had no idea what to expect from this series, but after episode 1, I was transfixed, Chloe Sevigney was outstanding as the transgender assassin, what an original, and forward looking series this is.

The whole storyline was gripping, and well carried by all the cast.

As of yet, there is no news on a second series, it would be a big shame if there wasn't one after the cliff hanger ending.

A big hit, certainly not a miss.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2012
Sky Drama's recent six episode series Hit & Miss could hardly be accused of subtlety or of following convention. And yet despite not relying on standard methods of ensuring ratings success or directing at a specific target audience the show has achieved something that so few have. Hit & Miss is an original production that succeeds in telling a story that you haven't heard before.

In short Hit & Miss tells the story of an archetypal outcast thrown by circumstance out of her comfort zone of self-chosen isolation and into the harsh realities and responsibilities of becoming guardian to a broken rural family. But things are even more complicated as the series protagonist Mia, beautifully portrayed by Chloë Sevigny, struggles to balance her new family commitments with her illegal occupation and indeed her own personal development. As Mia insists herself she's "not like other women" in fact she's not like any other character out there in film or television. What Mia is, is a damaged pre-op transsexual gun for hire with a dark and twisted past.

Using its concentration on emotion to balance its fantasy premise the series really draws you to its characters. Although the notion of a sociopathic assassin in Manchester playing house sounds really quite out there Hit & Miss triumphs in making its audience buy into this scenario on the merit of the series quality. It really is one of the best and most original series that has hit our screens as of late and is quite rightly addictive and being sold for an excellent price to boot.

Hitting the spot as a show that really makes you think with an original storyline and great characters this is certainly one series you won't want to miss.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2012
Have been mesmerised by the TV show and pre-ordered the DVD as soon as it came available. All based on a fairly outlandish set of circumstances and the underlying plot/scenario doesn't bear much close scrutiny. Is there really that thriving a market for hit-men in Manchester? However, what carries the show are the actors, especially the children/teenagers. Chloë Sevigny is surprisingly believable as a transsexual man although I must admit to limited experience of such people in real-life. She/he is also given the right flawed character away from her 'job' to explain why she can do it without discernible impact on her.

I can, nevertheless, understand that many people will detest the show or just not get on with it.
66 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
This show hasn't made it to NZ but after reading online reviews I took a chance on it and it didn't disappoint. Like The Sopranos it combines two poopular types of drama: family and crime. Unlike the Sopranos the main character and head of household is transgender. Chloe Sevigny is abolutely perfect for the part and the cast overall is excellent.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
In a remote Yorkshire farmhouse, four children grieve for their dead mother. Suddenly there arrives the person she nominated as their guardian - the father of eleven year old Ryan (who never knew the boy existed). What a good basis for strong drama! This is not all. Far from it. Jaw droppingly, Mia turns out to be a contract killer - the money needed for operations to complete her transformation from male to female.

At first such a storyline must seem tacky in the extreme, sensationalism in the worst possible taste.

Instead here is a deeply moving six part series - superbly scripted, impeccably acted, hauntingly filmed in a rugged uncompromising landscape.

Throughout the characterization is multi-layered and strong. Very much around are Mia's gangster boss; a loathsome landlord neighbour (long overdue for comeuppance); a mysterious prowler (a major surprise in store!); likeable Ben, who fancies Mia (and who has adjusting to do).

Dominant, though, is Chloe Sevigny, she mesmerizing as Mia. Well outside her comfort zone, Mia tries to overcome the youngsters' hostility. This is the family she never had (hers a background of abuse in a travelling Irish fair). Gradually she begins to win their trust. The killing continues ("I'm just off to work"), but the money is now to ensure the young ones do not go short.

How long can all this last...?

There are well over one and a half hours of bonuses. Chloe Sevigny describes the difficulties of such a challenging role (apart from the obvious, there was the business of how to handle a gun). Note Paul Abbott's forthright views on family life. Enjoy writer Sean Conway's modest explanation of what he tries to achieve - his scripts economical with words, so much instead conveyed by looks and undercurrents.

Bold, demanding, magnificent. Savour too the lyrical moments. Example? Little Ryan regrets things have to change. Mia reflects that without change, there would be no butterflies. Butterflies in fact have a part to play - magically in a delightful sequence, one in the last episode destined to alter everything.

Again thanks go to fellow reviewers. You alerted me to a superb series I would otherwise have missed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
This was a gripping series with a unique angle - a transgender contract killer. Chloë Sevigny was superb as the killer (Mia) who kept herself fighting fit and yet was able to retain the viewer's belief in her transgender role.

A somewhat dark presentation and not many laughs. Outcast, Mia returns to maintain her rural family after her `ex' dies, coming back not as Dad, but as a woman! Then having to continue to slip away occasionally to fulfil her assassination commitments.

All the acting was excellent with a good script, tight no nonsense writing. One or two niggles but very minor ones when compared with the overall quality of the programme.

Vincent Regan is great as the baddie. In fact, so good that it's hard to believe why the teenage member of the family, Riley (Karla Crome) could ever be in the same room with him, let alone have an affair! Maybe more shades of grey to his character would have strengthened the believability?

The disposal of a body in the final scene was a let down. Were we really expected to believe that two professionals, Mia and Eddie (Peter Wight) would foul up so amateurishly and dispose of a body in such a way that it would inevitably surface? I don't think so.

But it didn't detract from the enjoyment and tension of the show. The cliff hanger ending paves the way for a second series.

I hope so....
33 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2012
Hit & Miss, an original production by Sky and created by Paul Abbott (Shameless), follows Mia (Chloe Sevigny) a pre-op transsexual contract assassin. After returning from a typical assassination, she receives a letter from the only women she ever slept with, telling her that said woman is dying, and that Mia has a son, Ryan (Jorden Bennie). Not long after, Mia finds out that her ex has now passed away, and has made her the legal guardian Ryan, and his three half-siblings. This blended series of assassinations and family drama follows Mia's attempts to become a parent to the unorthodox family, while also trying to hide her job as a professional killer and fend off the vial landlord John, who will stop at nothing to get them, and especially Mia, of his land.

Mia is a deep and well written character, marvellously played by Chloe. Throughout the series we see many aspect of her, such as the turmoil she suffers by being different and in an unaccepting world, which are explored. This works due to Chloe, the writing and the wonderful direction. In the end I did find her a sympathetic character, despite the fact that she is a killer. I would however have liked to know more about her past. Throughout the series we gain little hints of how she came this far, especially during the final episode which explores part of her family life, but we never truly learn how, or exactly why, she became an assassin. I know it is likely they are saving the details for further series, but it would helped just to see a little more depth in to her killing past and the relationship she shares with Eddies.

The support cast is strong, with every actor well cast and most of the characters well written. The child actors are very good, with Jorden Bennie doing a wonderful job in the role of Ryan, while Leonie, the youngest child, adds a touch of innocence to the otherwise bleak outlook of the series. Teenager Levi is well played, but Karla Crome simply stands out as Riley, the eldest of the four siblings, who goes through a huge journey during these six episodes. It's fascinating to watch her relationship grow with Mia.

Peter Wight plays Eddie, Mia's boss and probably closets thing she had to a friend prior to her new family. His very well acted, at times being sympathetic while at others showing a rather nasty side. He is a good character, but as with Mia, I would have liked to know more about his relationship with her and his past. Jonas Armstrong plays the hunky Ben, Mia's romantic interest for the series. He is well acted by Jonas, and goes through an interesting journey as he tries to come to terms with the conflicting feelings he has for Mia and what she is, but I ended up feeling little sympathy for him until the very end of the series.

John makes for a vile villain. He is well played by Vincent Regan, and fills in the antagonist role nicely, but he feels rather fake and at times an unrealistic character. Episode after episode, they show him doing more and more horrible things to Mia and her family, giving him not even one redeeming feature throughout the series. Perhaps that's the point, but I would have liked to have seen him fleshed out a bit more as a character and less of a stereotypical villain.

Some people may find the plot a little improbable, and perhaps they have a point at times, but I found that it was a gritty, dark and realistic series which was written well by Sean Conway. It mixed the family drama and assassination genres well, even if the assassination side of the show lost out in terms of substance. The script pulls no punches ether, both emotionally and violence wise, as we explore the characters, there hopes, turmoil's and relationships. For the most part the pacing of the plot is good, although the pilot episode is a little slow compared to the rest. The assassinations themselves don't disappoint ether. They are usually swift, simple and at times rather bloody. My only real complaint is that, on occasion, certain elements of the plot took a tiny step towards the proposed supernatural. I know it's not the biggest of complaint, and it's only done in a very slight way, but I thought it could have risked damaging the gritty aspects of the show.

The series is filmed in Manchester, and the wonderful locations, ranging from the concrete city to vast, lonely fields and the decrepit farmhouse which the family calls home, really fits and helps the cold and isolated feel of the series. The direction is skilfully handled with style and a lot of empathy, rightly so, on the characters and their inner turmoil. The soundtrack dose its job, but is nothing special or genre changing.

Hit & Miss's blending of genres, and its subject matter, probably won't appeal to everyone unfortunately. Which is a shame, as this series is a wonderful, dark drama and one which fully deserves a second series.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2012
This is a strange mix of 'Nikita' (the trapped machine-like female assassin), 'Shameless' (the dysfunctional Manchester family) and 'The Crying Game' (with the use of the male prosthetic in scenes that are designed to shock). However, it all comes together, thanks to the excellent writing and Chloë Sevigny's standout performance. The heart of the story is the growing cohesion of the family unit and their growing respect for Sevigny's efforts to hold it all together.

It's just a shame that Paul Abbott's company had to go to Sky Atlantic with it, with the result that we poor saps without Sky have to actually buy it instead of being able to sample it for free on terrestrial TV. This would have worked a treat in a late night slot on BBC2 or BBC4.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
All of the reviews for this series give a clear idea of what a fine piece of drama Hit and Miss is. What I was not expecting was just how superb the cinematography is. The scenes are thoughtfully framed with a great eye for composition, colour contrast and atmosphere. Rarely have I seen such a high quality piece of film-making for a TV drama. I found myself mesmerised by the beauty of the filming, the atmospheric music and the performances (particularly Chloe Sevigny as Mia). I was hooked and watched all 6 episodes over a weekend. On a final note, for just over a fiver the DVD looks sumptuous on a HD TV (played on a bluray player) - so it might be a better option than stumping up for the bluray version.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
I chanced upon the first episode of this series while channel surfing and was so impressed bought the entire series. What a fabulous find. Chloe Sevigny was made to play this unusual and controversial character- playing it perfectly; not too obvious, yet steely, feminine and the unlikely hero for all the supporting characters.Mia is a 21st century protagonist , one that is multi-dimensional and a challenge to mainstream society.
Heartfully written with a killer soundtrack as well.
Sky Atlantic- please , please put Season 2 in production- you've left your faithful audience with a deliberate cliff hanger!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)