Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mushrooms and toadstools
yep its a nice book and i got it quick, pics were great and you can indet them easily and tell you it is safe to eat.
Published on 18 Oct 2011 by tim

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars corporate censorship?
Collins Nature Guide - Mushrooms and Toadstools of Britain and Europe

While this book has nice photographs and good information, I think it worth pointing out the omission of the common mushroom 'psilocybe semilanceata' or liberty cap. For those who don't know, this is a magic mushroom and if picked is essentially a class A drug. I can only assume it's been...
Published on 5 Sep 2011 by Johnny Vodka


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mushrooms and toadstools, 18 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
yep its a nice book and i got it quick, pics were great and you can indet them easily and tell you it is safe to eat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars corporate censorship?, 5 Sep 2011
Collins Nature Guide - Mushrooms and Toadstools of Britain and Europe

While this book has nice photographs and good information, I think it worth pointing out the omission of the common mushroom 'psilocybe semilanceata' or liberty cap. For those who don't know, this is a magic mushroom and if picked is essentially a class A drug. I can only assume it's been deliberately left out on 'moral' grounds.

Why effectively censor a scientific book in this manner? Disappointing. Let's hope future editions treat their readers like adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great spotters guide, 9 Oct 2010
Very clearly set out fungi categories. Easy to find and clearly descriptive photographs. Fits a pocket while out walking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DANGEROUS BOOK, 23 Sep 2013
This book is dangerous. A small number of species are mis-labelled which will lead to confusion in identification and possible consequences if they are eaten. In addition the description for the blusher Amanita rubescens mentions that it is a good edible mushroom but omits to say that it must be par-boiled - the boiling water then discarded - before cooking. Failure to do may potentially cause haemolytic poisoning with symptoms similar to leukemia.

The photography and layout is excellent and user friendly though. Such a pity that these minor problems make the book a hazard for any new mushroom explorer. I advise on safety grounds that you do not buy this until it has been updated and revised.

Fred the Forager
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Puns too easy, 16 Nov 2009
By 
J. G. Haywood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bought at same time as Collins' tree equivalent. Both helped plug a huge hole in my knowledge. Purchase based on already having, and liking, collins bird book. Good photos, good info, print a bit small for my elderly eyes but that's how it can be small enough to fit in your pocket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nature, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mushrooms and Toadstools of Britain & Europe (Collins Nature Guides) (Paperback)
I love all nature, so this book added to my growing collection of reference books, I love the format of all the Collins nature books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As described, the book was as I would expect. Just read the description and you can't go wrong with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mushrooms and toadstools, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this was a present for my young nephew, he is very interested in botany and at age 10 he is enjoying reading it and using it for reference
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Handy - but could have been better., 16 Jan 2012
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a handy little one of good quality, but the writing is extremely small - even for those with spectacles. (you may well need to carry a magnifier!) The layout also leaves a lot to be desired; the photographs being in an erratic sort of layout on the opposite page referred to by their descriptions, and the number method used is are not easily noticed.

All in all a handy little book, but could have been better organised in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful photographs, 31 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful book have wanted this for some time, small enough to pop in your pocket and the photos are just fantastic. Just two words.........completely amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa11f5aec)

This product

Mushrooms and Toadstools of Britain & Europe (Collins Nature Guides)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews