Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartfelt Revelations
Recorded live last Autumn in Copenhagen 'Cut The World' is a welcome
stepping stone in the recording career of Antony Hegarty. His studio
output since 2009's wonderful 'The Crying Light' has been somewhat
patchy so it's good to be reminded what a power for good he is in the
listening world. Having an orchestra to work with is a boon and Nico...
Published on 12 Aug 2012 by The Wolf

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Antony's voice is of course wonderful but there isn't really that much made of the orchestra. I found the use of an orchestra on a couple of tracks on the Swanlights album really interesting.
On this live album though it seems a little too underplayed. Take 'Another World' for example which has a slow almost inaudible string intro and then is basically piano and...
Published on 27 Aug 2012 by One more opinion


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartfelt Revelations, 12 Aug 2012
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cut the World (Audio CD)
Recorded live last Autumn in Copenhagen 'Cut The World' is a welcome
stepping stone in the recording career of Antony Hegarty. His studio
output since 2009's wonderful 'The Crying Light' has been somewhat
patchy so it's good to be reminded what a power for good he is in the
listening world. Having an orchestra to work with is a boon and Nico
Muhly's arrangements add new texture, depth and lustre to familiar
material and frame this incomparable voice in luminous veils of glorious
sound. Songs like 'Cripple and The Starfish' from his 2005 eponymous debut
and the sublime 'You Are My Sister' from 'I Am A Bird Now' (2004) deliver
performances which stir our emotions and lift our spirit. The mood of the
occasion is vividly captured; the rich ambience of the concert hall adding
warmth and grandeur to these incandescently soulful performances.

Hegarty's monologue 'Future Feminism' is an interesting inclusion. Both
personal testament and universal polemic, it combines sharp historical and
political observation with wry humour. A quietly burning plea for tolerance
and understanding in a cruel and dangerous world. He is a fine ambassador!

The culmination of these revelatory re-imaginings of his work comes with
final track 'Twilight'; a stirring rendition which brings the recording
to a heartrending but ultimately uplifting conclusion. A magnificent coda.

This magical recording deserves a place in every hearth and home.

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STUNNING!, 8 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cut the World (Audio CD)
This Antony-recording with The Danish National Chamber Orhestra is pure pleasure from beginning to end.
You are my Sister, Cripple & The Starfish & The Crying Light never sounded better - this is a MUST have for Antony fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Album, 7 Aug 2012
This review is from: Cut the World (Audio CD)
Ok first I have to say unlike the only other reviewer on here, I have actually listened to the whole album and can't believe that person reviewed the album at all let alone awarded it five stars based on a live performance of a song they heard that appears on this album (a different live performance btw). Sorry but it really annoys me when people review something they haven't actually used etc.

Anyway, getting that little bugbear off my chest I can say that this album is worth getting. It will of course be of particular interest to Antony Hegarty (of The Johnsons) fans but I equally think fans of Baby Dee and other such artists will also love this album. If however you have never heard Antony & The Johnsons then I'd urge you to listen to some of the other albums first as he can be an acquired taste (particular his voice).

This is a live album recorded in Copenhagen with the Danish National Chamber Orchestra and so you're getting much more than a standard live performance here. All of the songs are reworkings of previous album tracks (apart from the title track and a rather self-indulgent "lecture" about Future Feminism) and the new instrumentation provided by the orchestra really changes the character and feel of the songs and works brilliantly.

Most songs are rather downtempo with the exception of Kiss My Name which is the most upbeat song on here. The album is just over an hour long and for a live recording is missing pretty much all audience atmosphere and even applause at the end of each song. I presume it was recorded this way on purpose so that they could get clean takes of each individual song but I quite like hearing the audience on live recordings and feel this album loses some of the ambience without it.

For that reason and because of the inclusion of the previous mentioned self-indulgent track Future Feminism, on which Antony talks to the audience (for once you can actually hear them laughing etc) and basically doesn't make a wholly convincing argument for women ruling the world and has a tendency to do that annoying way of talking (popular among Australians etc) of ending each sentence as a question as though he's not sure you know what anything is and he needs to check, I have given the album 4 stars which I think is a fair score.

I really enjoyed this album and think it sits quite nicely with his other albums and I look forward to hearing some new material from him. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cut the World (Audio CD)
The joy of Antony Hegarty's voice- just sublime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Always perfect, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cut the World (Audio CD)
For sure the best voice I have ever heard. Every song is a piece of art. I can listen without stop. This is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cut the World (Audio CD)
Relaxing beautiful music. Absolutely love Anthony and the johnsons. He is really quirky and that adds to the mystery of the music. Love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars His religious..., 2 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cut The World (MP3 Download)
..ramblings are just nonsense and slightly spoil it for me but no getting away from the fact that Antony has a truly lovely voice and has written some pretty good songs that sound like they'll be around a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anthony cuts the world, 8 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cut the World (Audio CD)
A beautiful album. Anthony's haunting vocal combined with perfect orchestration to match it makes this undeniably his best album to date. With new versions of some of his classic songs such as "You are my sister" and the brilliant title track, this is a must-have for fans of Anthony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bliss, 12 Aug 2012
This review is from: Cut the World (Audio CD)
A wonderful cd. I thought it might be a bit boring including so many songs on previous cds but all of them have beautiful arrangements, and Cut the World makes it worth buying for just itself. If you like Antony its impossible not to love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Life compilation, 7 Aug 2012
This review is from: Cut the World (Audio CD)
This is an amazing compilation from Antony and the Johnsons recorded with Danish National Chambers orchestra.
The arrangements are breath taking with some cinematic atmosphere, Antony voice sounds better life than on recording studio.
Despite the fact I own every Antony and the Johnsons' record this is a must buy, you will be not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cut the World
Cut the World by Antony and the Johnsons (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews