Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Testament - Dark Roots Of Earth
Dark Roots Of Earth is the tenth full-length studio album by the legendary San Franciscan Bay Area Thrash Metal band Testament. It was released on Nuclear Blast in the summer of 2012, following up 2008's critically acclaimed The Formation Of Damnation album. Like that album and indeed also its 1999 predecessor, The Gathering, the album was produced by the famous British...
Published on 30 July 2012 by Kingcrimsonprog

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good workaday thrash
I've been into metal since the late 80s but somehow Testament have passed me by. I bought this on a recommendation from a long-time fan (and a reliable source of musical tips) and as an introduction to the band it's pretty solid. There are some great riffs throughout and punchy production, but on occasion it descends into classic lumpen bay area thrash, which jars a bit...
Published on 17 Dec. 2012 by Bored at Work Scotsman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Roots of Earth, 25 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Dark Roots Of Earth [Cd+dvd] (Audio CD)
Great riffs throughout with pace and groove. Outstanding musicianship with amazing lead solos. Good vocals all way through...just one song later in album that falls short - otherwise a really strong set of songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Stuff!, 7 Sept. 2012
By 
D. Thompson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Roots Of Earth (Audio CD)
So another Testament album, and I have to say it is really quite good. Probably the best they have done in several years. The opener sounds a bit like a cros between slayer and kreator which is not a bad thing and the good riffing and vovals carry on to the end.
Worth buying if you are a die hard fan of these guys or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it or die, 17 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Dark Roots Of Earth [Cd+dvd] (Audio CD)
This is clearly not Testament best work, but its the best they have done since The Ritual. The music is very enjoyable and the dvd is super cool/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The almighty Testament do it again!, 2 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Roots Of Earth [Cd+dvd] (Audio CD)
I had the privilege to listening to this back in may for the website i write for. But now i've had time to properly digest it i can say i love it even more!

I've always been a Testament fan, i think they deserve to be alot bigger then they are, and they are rightly regarded as the only band of their age that have improved with age! and chuck billy in this writers eyes is one of metals top 5 vocalists.

Anyway on to the album, Alot of people are saying it's their best since blah blah blah, it's a pointless statement because Testament have never made a bad album, (some bring up the ritual but listen to it, it's hardly loaded is it?)where does this stand in their catalogue? well it's a more balls out version of their last effort "The formation of damnation" but there's still some mid paced songs such as the title track and "a day in the death" and there's a return of the ballad in "cold embrace"

But the rest of the album absolutely shreds! opener "rise up" and single "native blood" are instant classics.
Chuck Billy gives a career best performance, Alex Skolnick and Eric Peterson are as tight as ever, the human drum machine Gene Hoglan makes a return on the drums and does a fine performance. this edition comes with 3 cover songs and a slightly extended version "Throne of thornes" the one worth taking note of is their cover of iron maiden's powerslave with they completely make their own! you also get a dvd with the making of the album some live tracks and a few other extras, and the artwork is beautifully presented well worth your money!

if your new to the band get this and if you like it get their debut "the ritual" and work your way through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes!!, 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Roots Of Earth [Cd+dvd] (Audio CD)
Brilliant. End of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good workaday thrash, 17 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Roots Of Earth (Audio CD)
I've been into metal since the late 80s but somehow Testament have passed me by. I bought this on a recommendation from a long-time fan (and a reliable source of musical tips) and as an introduction to the band it's pretty solid. There are some great riffs throughout and punchy production, but on occasion it descends into classic lumpen bay area thrash, which jars a bit with the more technical parts of the album. From time to time there's a strong, pleasing whiff of early Metallica in terms of riffs and vocal style (which makes you realise just how rubbish Metallica have become. But I digress).

Overall, this isn't going to make my thrash classics list, but it's a decent effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Roots Of Earth [Cd+dvd] (Audio CD)
Testament kick ass. Fact!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Roots Of Earth [Cd+dvd] (Audio CD)
Many Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Roots Of Earth [Cd+dvd] (Audio CD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars it's ok equal, 24 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Roots Of Earth [Cd+dvd] (Audio CD)
it's not what i wanted and what is pictured in amazon but i kept it because i opened and i don't want to spend more money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Roots Of Earth  [Cd+dvd]
Dark Roots Of Earth [Cd+dvd] by Testament (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews