Customer Reviews


421 Reviews
5 star:
 (270)
4 star:
 (97)
3 star:
 (44)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Conan-Doyle was a prolific writer, but will best be known for his character "Sherlock Holmes". Even over 100 years after they were written, the stories of the great detective are as popular as ever.

This is a collection of Conan-Doyle's short stories about Holmes and each individual story is a cracking good read in its own right. I own a copy of the original in...
Published on 17 Nov. 2010 by Mole

versus
68 of 73 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for free, but had I paid...
I love Sherlock Holmes, so a free edition on my Kindle seemed too good to be true.

Sadly there were formatting issues that ruined my enjoyment.

The British pound sign (£) for example, did not survive the conversion and was replaced by meaningless characters and values and given this happened frequently it ruined the flow of Conan Doyle's...
Published on 28 April 2011 by John Caterham


‹ Previous | 1 2 343 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great start, 14 Sept. 2010
An excellent collection of stories, my introduction to the works of Sir Conan Doyle and eventually the reason I purchased my Kindle. Certainly couldn't complain at the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic collection, 28 Jan. 2011
By 
Andrew "impulsive gadget buyer" - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic collection of Holmes stories. Reproduced well on the kindle, this is a fantastic introduction to someone who has never read them and a great way to get reaquainted if you have. I thoroughly enjoyed reading through these and best of all they are free!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars free but flawed, 12 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really don't want to moan about something that cost me nothing but I fear this may turn people off the other Sherlock Holmes stories, or indeed Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's writings, if they're coming to this for the first time.

For me, as others have said, many of the accents weren't right and many words were joined together like someone had forgotten what their spacebar was for. I'm talking 6-8 words per page joined together in some places. Reading fine, classic literature such as this should flow but the errors slow you down and make it a bit of a slog.

Don't give away free stuff if the product is going to be as shoddy as this. It disrespects the original author. Imagine Sir Arthur Conan Doyle gazing upon what someone has done to his work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Conan Doyle is not half bad., 28 April 2011
1st Kindle book i read. Was very dissappointed with the lack of translation. The ebook gave a stange couple of symbols everytime it was meant to show a £ sign. After working this out i found that these short stories are top notch. I have never read a Sherlock novel before but my next few purchases i think will be the 4novels that Conan Doyle did. I just hope the awkward symbols and spelling errors do not re-occur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable!, 8 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you've never read any of the Sherlock Holmes stories (where have you been?!), then this is the perfect place to start. Each story is a complete pleasure from start to finish, and you'll be amazed at how Conon Doyle has managed to cram so many twists and turns into such a small word count. Absolutely perfect!

If this book doesn't instil a lifelong love of Sherlock Holmes, nothing will!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Daddy, 5 Nov. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A collection of 12 short stories featuring Sherlock Holmes and his faithful companion Dr. Watson, the original and possibly the best crime fighting duo. The writing is as sharp and enthralling as it was the day it was written. A real joy.

The formatting for the Kindle does have a few glitches but you don't need Holmes like powers of deduction to work out the missing words
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best and the worst, 11 Dec. 2011
By 
Fiona Duff (Lucan, Co Dublin, IE) - See all my reviews
This book contains the best and the worst of the Sherlock Holmes stories. The Adventures are earlier stories and some of the best in the series. The Memoirs are the latest short stories and written after Conan Doyle had lost interest in the character. Needless to say all of them are still worth a read and even the worst are still better written than many modern stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes: Arthur Conan Doyle, unabridged reading by Derek Jacobi - The game is afoot..., 6 Mar. 2013
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review refers specifically to the complete unabridged audio book read by Derek Jacobi.

First published as short stories in the monthly Strand magazine between July 1891 and July 1892, and collected into a book later in 1892, these twelve delightful short stories are absolute treats, detailing the adventures of Mr. Sherlock Holmes and his accomplice, friend and Boswell Dr. Watson.

The stories are set in the period between the Sign Of The Four (itself set in 1888) and 1891, during which Watson was a happily married man with his own practice, no longer living in 221b Baker Street but occasionally dropping in on his old room mate or being summonsed to help in a case. The short story format suited these tales very well, giving them punch by forcing Conan Doyle to trim away the excess baggage. Whereas the first two Holmes stories were quite long, and both had very lengthy sections based in the past with no involvement of our heroes, here the problem, investigation and solution are laid out succinctly, but still with plenty of atmosphere and character. Also, Holmes and Watson are centre stage for the majority of the tales, which is a big plus.

There are 12 tales in the set, Scandal in Bohemia, A Case of Identity, The Red-Headed League, The Boscombe Valley Mystery, The Five Orange Pips, The Man With The Twisted Lip, The Blue Carbuncle, The Speckled Band, The Engineer's Thumb, The Noble Bachelor, The Beryl Coronet and finally the Copper Beeches. In this set of stories Conan Doyle shows us not only Holmes the sleuth, but Holmes the general problem solver, helping to solve murders and foil major robberies on the one hand, and helping secure an embarrassing photograph on the other. Every case has its points of interest, be it the displays of Holmes' reasoning or the or the breathless action, or the basic characterisation and the displays of humanity.

Derek Jacobi's full text reading, on 10 discs and running to 11 hours 10 minutes, is a real pleasure. It is the next best thing to reading the actual book. Jacobi provides a great narrating voice, slipping into the role of Watson relating events perfectly. You almost feel as though you are sat next to Watson in his club as he reminisces on his adventures with his friend Holmes. As I said, it is an absolute pleasure. I enjoyed listening to this immensely, and look forward to getting more in the series. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unfailingly brilliant performances, let down slightly by packaging, 18 July 2012
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Derek Jacobi's reading of "The Adventures Of Sherlock Holmes" is, as you might expect, superb from beginning to end. He reads with such energy and clear enjoyment that it's impossible not to get carried along.

His portrayal shows Sherlock Holmes as a gentler, more professorial character than recent film and TV adaptations have had him- more bookish and introspective, and less like an action hero. Watson, as the narrator, is a traditional and jovial army type, and Jacobi brings a wide variety of the different classes of London to life with great aplomb.

The stories themselves are a variety pack too- ranging from the complex and sinister (in particular "The Speckled Band" and "The Engineer's Thumb") through to the more light-hearted and comical ("A Scandal In Bohemia", or "The Red-Headed League").

My sole criticism is not with the performance but with the packaging. Each of these twelve stories is under 80 minutes long, so personally I would rather have had a twelve-disc set in which each story has its own disc. As it is, some of the stories are spread unevenly across multiple discs, which if you're playing directly from CD means you have to cue up a new disc at a key moment. If you'll use iTunes or similar to play it back then you can rearrange that but for CD listeners it's rather inconvenient, and a 12-disc set would've been better. Furthermore a little bit more information about the stories or the performance would have been a nice inclusion to the package. So that's why I'm giving it 4 stars, where the drama itself certainly deserves 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping the Little Brain Attic Stocked, 26 Jun. 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The days of the great thespian orators are on the wane.
The likes of Olivier, Richardson & Burton will not be seen again but a few names still remain to thrill the soul.
Amongst them Derek Jacobi continues to ply his trade in classic English literature & theatre. His voice instantly recognisable & yet never overbearing. The story is always to the front & he is just about the perfect choice for the reading of such a quintessentially British character.
Jacobi brings to the fore in his reading the noble quest and a real feeling of a time now long gone. Victorian England as written by Conan Doyle was full of an equal measure of danger & wonder.
I love every Holmes tale written but it's the short stories that seemed always to work best. The reader is quickly immersed into whatever skulduggery must be solved and it has to be said that this narration is full of life and sweeps the listener along breathless to the end.
A superb marriage of depth & range alongside some of the most enjoyable & riveting stories to be found make this collection a real joy.
If you are a holmes fan then this really is yet another 'must have' alongside Carleton Hobbes, Clive Merrison & MIchael Williams, Jeremy Brett's ITV version & if you want some fun but aren't too fussed about accuracy then the inimitable Basil Rathbone & Nigel Bruce.
A bit of a large 'must have' list I know but if you love Holmes then they are all essential & Jacobi has joined the list!
If there is any space left on your shelves then I highly recommend the superb two annotated volumes by Leslie S. Klinger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 343 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews