Customer Reviews


170 Reviews
5 star:
 (131)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


125 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 stones, 4 months
From reading this book in May and adopting most of the principles within it I have gone on to lose 4 stone in as many months and feel better than i have in years. The book is very informative yet easy to read and something about the way it is written makes you want to take heed and actually cut out many foods from your diet (something I never thought I could do!!). I...
Published on 18 July 2006 by Jinjans

versus
33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok kick start
Not a bad down to earth eye opener, some v.good juice recipes included, hits the spot to get you into the whole new lifestyle and juiced up, if you do start juicing, one bit of advice, if you are serious use a machine that presses the fruit/vegetables (auger type) as you get a far superior juice and better yield and the juice is amazing and less aerated, you also use less...
Published on 9 Aug 2007 by Hard Yakka


‹ Previous | 115 16 17 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 73 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Please credit the intelligence of your audience, 6 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This book is essentially a mishmash of various modes of dieting with bits taken from food combining and juicing and the vegetarian organisations, a kind of "dietary culture vulturism". His advice is in the main sound (of the eat more fruit and do more exercise) and I liked his encouragement in terms of what exercise to follow and how he made this all seem highly desirable. The trouble is he does not credit the audience with intelligence. It may well suit people to say "It's all just unintelligible chatchat, just trust me that x is the case" but please use an appendix to explain it for those who do want to know. The most prominent example of this to me was with his comments about milk which essentially went somewhere along the lines of "Milk contains an ingredient which you can make glue out of. EWWWW so that means you got cow glue stuck in your belly! Moo glue, moo glue!" Now milk may very well be bad for you but there's no way I'm going to be convinced by the fact that in some circumstances you could potentially make glue from one of milks componants especially when I'm sure many substances share similar seemingly dodgy properties (such as potatoes coming from the same family as deadly nightshade - you would not stop eating them as although the deadly nightshade information is true it doesn't make them dangerous for you when eaten normally - ie cooked). Taken with a very large pinch of salt this is a useful book and has an immense strength in Vale's sheer enthusiasm and he sells you the idea of healthy eating and exercise completely. I'm just waiting for the grown up version of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another diet book, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nothing special in this book. I am not saying that it is not worth the price, but it is just another side of the many things that is wrong with today's consumer society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a con, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Takes the whole book to write what could be in a few pages, Don't buy unless you like reading repetetive stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not for me, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
its an okay read but did not inspire me, personally i like to just know the facts and get on with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Potentially life changing, 28 Aug 2013
This review is from: Freedom from the Diet Trap: Slim for Life: Freedom from the Food Trap (Kindle Edition)
Although it can be repetitive it's all part of the plan so stay with it. A real eye opener to those willing to approach this with an open mind. Even if you don't agree with some of the authors points- you don't have to, just go with it and it will work. I've never read a book quite like this and it deals with issues in a very different way. No suffering - no deprivation - just real results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy the book and see for yourself, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought the after I bought the juicer and read the juicing recipe book .

Full of information about none miracle diets;
And diet PILLS. OR SAY YOU ATE BEEN LED TO BELIEVE
BUY THE BOOK AND SEE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very great book,worth reading., 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom from the Diet Trap: Slim for Life: Freedom from the Food Trap (Kindle Edition)
Very great book,worth reading.the best book I have read for a while.it just so good.not the normal diet book.just read this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Freedom from the diet trap, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought this book would be more of a juice and eating plan to follow but it really just gave information on why we should and shouldn't eat/drink certain things. Has some good recipes in though and does make you think about what your putting into your body.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of information not many recipes, 21 April 2014
By 
Mrs. Joanne Burnett "buttonboo" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom from the Diet Trap: Slim for Life: Freedom from the Food Trap (Kindle Edition)
I was hoping for more recipes And less talk. I understand the benefits of eating fruit and veg but did not need all the chapters praising himself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Time wasted..., 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom from the Diet Trap: Slim for Life: Freedom from the Food Trap (Kindle Edition)
Annoying way of repeating every single concept .,not scientific , full with blah , blah , blah. and again , annoying
overenthusiastic .I did finish the reading , though, thinking something good will come along, never did..
Regretted buy and time wasted..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 115 16 17 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews