Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Songs For The Summer That Never Was
Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs is the alt-moniker of Orlando
Higginbottom (it truly is!), a British producer creating dance music
of the electronic variety. 'Trouble' is his debut solo outing and I
have found much to enjoy in it. It's an upbeat affair of lively tunes
and frisky beats which lends itself admirably to energetic physical...
Published on 11 Jun 2012 by The Wolf

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars VERY disapointing!, boring and unoriginal!
Wish I'd gone with my gut instinct and saved my , whoever it was on here that likened this to SBTRKT is off his bleedin rocker!! Turgid, uninspiring, soul-less tripe! Seemingly produced for todays trashy Simon Cowell generation...oh! and his singing voice leaves a lot to be desired....shameful, doesn't even deserve shelf space in my treasured collection...! Totally...
Published 17 months ago by Simon John Rogers


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Songs For The Summer That Never Was, 11 Jun 2012
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Trouble (Audio CD)
Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs is the alt-moniker of Orlando
Higginbottom (it truly is!), a British producer creating dance music
of the electronic variety. 'Trouble' is his debut solo outing and I
have found much to enjoy in it. It's an upbeat affair of lively tunes
and frisky beats which lends itself admirably to energetic physical
self-expression. Mr Higginbottom's voice rides fairly high on the
stave and although not the most sturdy instrument on the planet his
way with well-constructed ethereal melodies lends his work a nicely
dreamlike quality (for "dreamlike" don't read chillwave or shoe-gazey;
we've all had quite enough of that now haven't we!) The synths bloop and blip
and shimmer and his robust sense of rhythm propels these fourteen tracks
along with considerable verve and variety. If we were having any kind
of a real summer (will the rain ever stop falling!) the album would fit
well into its soundtrack. It's a top down/foot down, sun and sangria affair.

Standout tracks would have to include the deliciously funky 'Your Love'
with its happy-housey vocal decorations; the fidgety toyshop-tribal
percussive inventions of 'Panpipes'; 'American Dream Part II', a cleverly-
structured beat-fest of four-to-the-floor dark sonic matter and
penultimate number 'Fair', which, following a mild and misty introduction
finds its feet and delivers a satisfyingly engaging kick to the nether-regions.

'Trouble' is a small ray of light bent on breaking through the gathering gloom.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, a truly influential electronic producer., 1 May 2013
By 
Will (St Albans, Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trouble (Audio CD)
Orlando has refined the current UK Deep House sound, splashed it with Indie influences and added truly unique vocals. Every track is a roller coaster, with interesting progression, unexpected build ups and through provoking and flowing vocals. Even as a massive Trance fan, I think this album is the future and represents the next truly masterful U.K Electronic Music producer. Buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational, 18 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. J. D. Wetherall "jameswetherall" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trouble (Audio CD)
Having been eagerly awaiting TEED's debut album for some time, it was with a mixture of excitement and apprehension that I approached `Trouble'. Garden and Household Goods may have made waves, but could Orlando Higginbottom pull off an entire album of quality material, in a genre that tends to lend itself better to singles than whole albums?

Happily this is an album that completely exceeds expectations. The depth and detail encourages repeat listening and through a set of headphones or a decent sound system you find yourself picking out interwoven samples and sounds that previously went unnoticed. Driving beats and basslines and crackling electro mingle with twinkling samples and OH's own haunting vocals to compulsive effect. The tone shifts, part times uplifting and urgent, occasionally playful, then moving to more sombre and reflective territory, with some tracks possessing a haunting and lonely quality. Everywhere there is atmosphere and depth that is completely arresting. Whatever the tone of the track, it is hard not to inadvertently start tapping your foot or nodding your head when giving it even a casual listen. The whole thing just oozes quality and can be listened to end to end without skipping a track.

Trouble manages to pull off that rare trick of binding the component parts together with a common feel, whilst still allowing the individual tracks their own identity. 'Your Love' and 'Stronger' have a definite Old Skool vibe with samples and structures that feel distinctly 90s dance inspired. The anthemic `Tapes and Money' and `Household Goods' meanwhile will please house aficionados with their main stage sound and big drops. Yet arguably it is what can be found nestled around these more immediately accessible tunes that really makes this a great album; a clutch of delicately crafted pieces that drift between stark sounds and surreal vocals, to driving beats and playful loops.

I just cannot stop listening to this album and have not been so affected by a dance album for a long, long time. To give context - this for me is the most refreshing and profound dance album since Fat of the Land.

It will be interesting to see where TEED go from here and I wish Mr H all the best.

In the meantime I will definitely be on the look out for tickets to a live set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sound of the summer 2012!, 11 July 2012
This review is from: Trouble (Audio CD)
I cannot believe how good this album is, almost every track (and there are 15 here) is superb.
Similar vein to Friendly Fires (Pala) and Cut Copy. Definitely my album of summer 2012 so far!
Will do well in Ibiza and the Festivals this summer. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great... in places, 14 April 2014
This review is from: Trouble (Audio CD)
SOME of this album is absolutely great and deserves the credit that has come its way. In my opinion there is some filler on here though hence the four stars not five. Looking forward to hearing more from him in the future. x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5*, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trouble (Audio CD)
Amazing Album, Uniquely fresh dance sounds, Eargasmic! Definately one to add to the collection! Fast Delivery. You won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars synthy greatness!, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trouble (MP3 Download)
Love this 80's synthy dance-a-thon! A few tracks took a while to get into but overall fab! Want to see them live so bad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant srprise, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trouble (Audio CD)
I bought this album off the back of hearing one single and having regretted it at all. Really funky, really housy tunes. Great for in my car or at a house party.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars haven't stopped playing it!, 8 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. P. Simmons (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trouble (Audio CD)
I should have bought this last year so it could have become my album of 2012. FANTASTIC, buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good album, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trouble (Audio CD)
i thought this album was really good. my favorite songs were garden, household goods and tapes and money. its worth listening to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trouble
Trouble by Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews