Customer Reviews


538 Reviews
5 star:
 (415)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (60)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant season. Yes it's 8 episodes not 12 or 13, but there's so much in those 8...
Yes, this is only an 8 episode season, and for contractual reasons season 6 was called
the 2nd half of season five, even though they were shot a year apart and have very
different parts of the storyline.

But this is still 8 hours of amazing storytelling. I'd take 8 hours of the very best of
'Breaking Bad' over 12 hours of almost any other series...
Published 11 months ago by K. Gordon

versus
78 of 84 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the whole series
Although in some ways this deserves more than 3 stars the fact that I bought it assuming it was the complete season (5) meant I marked it down, perhaps unfairly. Amazon did not make clear in the description that it is only part of season 5 and indeed there is nothing on the DVD packaging to indicate this. Surely "Season 5 part one" would be a more honest title.
Published 13 months ago by Ant


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant season. Yes it's 8 episodes not 12 or 13, but there's so much in those 8..., 26 Dec 2013
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Breaking Bad - Season 5* [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
Yes, this is only an 8 episode season, and for contractual reasons season 6 was called
the 2nd half of season five, even though they were shot a year apart and have very
different parts of the storyline.

But this is still 8 hours of amazing storytelling. I'd take 8 hours of the very best of
'Breaking Bad' over 12 hours of almost any other series in TV history. To worry too much
about 4 fewer episodes is like being upset because a great 90 minute movie costs
the same as a great 2 hour film.

What can be said about this spectacular saga that hasn't been said before? One of the very
few series that competes with the best films in history for achievement in cinematic storytelling.
Like a great novel slowly unfolding, it's funny, heartbreaking, incredibly tense, deeply disturbing,
full of brilliant plot twists, rich, compelling characters and a pitch-black sense of humor.

A nebbishy high-school science teacher finds he has lung cancer, so becomes a meth dealer to
make money for his family before his death. Often visually stunning, with a breathtaking
performance by Brian Cranston in the lead, and great work from all the supporting roles,
this portrait of a man's decent into hell couldn't be much better, and it just grows darker and
more disturbing each year.

In a way, thematically it recalls "The Godfather I and II" in how that epic charts Michael's journey
from innocence to darkness, along with the moral murkiness of the endless drive for money
and success - how we lose ourselves, so that succeeding and having ever more becomes an
end in itself for which we will pay any price, rather than a route to happiness, trapping us in a
game we can never win.

This fifth season is a brilliant, and very emotional set up for the last. This is powerful,
mportant and utterly enthralling stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 84 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the whole series, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad - Season 5* [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
Although in some ways this deserves more than 3 stars the fact that I bought it assuming it was the complete season (5) meant I marked it down, perhaps unfairly. Amazon did not make clear in the description that it is only part of season 5 and indeed there is nothing on the DVD packaging to indicate this. Surely "Season 5 part one" would be a more honest title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a shame, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad - Season 5* [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
This is only 8 episodes. There is 16 in total, that is pretty much fraud announcing 8 eps as season 5. Why would you ruin a final season like that, leaving the viewer confused unless they check wiki? A disgrace. Great series, 5 stars. But the people who released this dvd, 0 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 62 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marketing Ploy, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad - Season 5* [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
The series has been excellent, and the content was up to usual standard. However, the rating was given for the deliberate and cynical build up to this release which implied early on that this was the complete series 5, probably costing the same as previous
full series! I found out after purchase that the second part has not yet been shown (couldn't find any mention of that before this
part 1 release)! It's not an accident - the whole thing was a con, supported by the fact that the packaging does not mention anywhere that this is PART 1. (other TV series have done this in the past). No doubt when Part 2 is complete, a full DVD of the entire 5th series will be released, and we will all have to pay up a second time to see the first part. Pure cynical marketing - not
impressed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


185 of 208 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars half a season, 27 Jan 2013
By 
Jason Fortune (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Breaking Bad - Season 5* [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
just a heads up guys, if this dvd set comes out on the date advertised it will only be the first 8 episodes of season 5, the last 8 episodes of season 5 only start airing in summer, thats from AMC offical site, (network who make it), its either that or amazon have their dates wrong and this dvd set will have its release date changed! keep your eyes open before you buy! UPDATE!!! 17/4/13.... today AMC (network who make it) confirmed breaking bad series 5 will return to tv in the usa on sunday august 11th at 9pm!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


122 of 141 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just when you thought it couldn't get any better..., 29 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. A. Hursit - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Breaking Bad - Season 5* [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
Following the absolutely masterful 4th series of Breaking Bad where Walter White ended the season in dramatic fashion, with both a literal bang and the words "I won", I was left wondering where this show could possibly go from here. So when the much anticipated 5th series premièred I braced myself for the worse, ready to be let down, with the gloomy though that no matter how good this series was, there was no way it could possibly hope to equal the last series. Incredibly, the most recent series not only equals the previous series, it surpasses it.

I'm not going to go into too much detail, as I don't want to spoil the plot, so let me just tell everyone about the good things. First the pacing is absolutely spot on, a perfect balance between black comedy, intense drama and suspense. This shouldn't come as a surprise since it's pretty much what made season 4 a masterpiece. But here's where season 5 differs from it's predecessor. First are the performances; it's not that the performances are better than previous seasons, but the characters themselves take on radically different roles than in previous seasons and the entire cast pulls it off to perfection. Anna Gunn gives her best performance yet as Skylar White, as the friction that has been building between her and Walt finally approaches the breaking point (portrayed with unflinching brutality in the episode "Fifty-One"). Aaron Paul also has plenty of moments to shine as Jesse, but the true star of the show is Bryan Cranston, who turns out the performance of a lifetime. His portrait of Walter White's development into a ruthless Machiavellian figure is nothing short of stunning, if a little uneasy at times (especially in the half-season finale "Gliding All Over").

But the best thing about it is how unafraid it is to challenge us with truly difficult topics, the best example of this is the end of the episode "Dead Freight", I won't spoil it, but let's just say it was like being hit below the belt.

The three episodes that highlight the shows best qualities of both staying true to its roots while pushing new boundaries for me are "Dead Freight", "Say My Name" and "Gliding All Over"

I could go on and on about what makes this season and this whole show a masterpiece, but to just sit around and talk doesn't do it any justice, it simply must be seen.

If you've seen all the previous seasons of Breaking Bad then rest assured, the series hasn't decreased in quality at all. If you haven't then start watching it right now from the very beginning, knowing that each series improves on the last and that you have this watershed at the end of the line to look forward to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars greatest TV show ever????, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad - Season 5* [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
TV at it's very best. Ive now watched them all and find myself jealous of anyone who is watching this epic show for the first time.

Long Live Heisenberg!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars RIP OFF, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad - Season 5* [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
I have now read the other reviews that also state that this is half a season - I agree that this is basically FRAUD. way to ruin my holiday season Amazon by mislabeling something. Putting a one line correction at the end of the product description - which I doubt was there when I ordered it a couple of months ago sucks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Class challenging TV, 21 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad - Season 5* [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
This is as good as the previous 4 series, there is no let up in the tension or pace of the story and the series ends on one of the finest cliffhangers i can remember for any show i have seen.
The acting is again top notch, it is impossible to heap to much praise on Bryan Cranston or Aaron Paul for what they bring to their roles, i was hooked again throughout the entire run of episodes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quality Series - Exceptionally Dodgy Sales Technique!, 15 July 2014
By 
G. Walker (South England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Breaking Bad - Season 5* [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
Purchaser beware!

This series is advertised as having 5 seasons to it - IMDB describes it as having 5 seasons.

So when buying this DVD "the Fifth Season" you would expect all the remaining episodes would you not?!

Actually its not!

It is the first 8 episodes, the final episodes of which are on a separate DVD titled "remember my name - the final series".

Despite all the seasons up to this being chronological with all episodes on each season, the makers suddenly change it, despite how it is advertised and shown online as all the remaining episodes as part of season 5. The DVD does not tell you this is essentially Part A and that there is more to come.

Essentially I've finished this season with thoughts of "they can't end it like this - but there is no season 6?"

So I checked IMDB and, trying my best to avoid spoilers of which I was only partially successful, sure enough there are more episodes to season 5.

It would appear I am not the only one who has been duped, and essentially they are making you pay £30 instead of £15.

It is an absolute sham - and has left a bit of a bad taste on what is an excellent series.

I'm now going to have to pay to watch Part 2 which in my mind I've already paid for.

How they got away with that I will never know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Breaking Bad - Season 5* [DVD + UV Copy]
Breaking Bad - Season 5* [DVD + UV Copy] by Bryan Cranston (DVD - 2013)
£14.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews