Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant season. Yes it's 8 episodes not 12 or 13, but there's so much in those 8...
Yes, this is only an 8 episode season, and for contractual reasons season 6 was called
the 2nd half of season five, even though they were shot a year apart and have very
different parts of the storyline.

But this is still 8 hours of amazing storytelling. I'd take 8 hours of the very best of
'Breaking Bad' over 12 hours of almost any other series...
Published 18 months ago by K. Gordon

versus
85 of 92 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the whole series
Although in some ways this deserves more than 3 stars the fact that I bought it assuming it was the complete season (5) meant I marked it down, perhaps unfairly. Amazon did not make clear in the description that it is only part of season 5 and indeed there is nothing on the DVD packaging to indicate this. Surely "Season 5 part one" would be a more honest title.
Published 20 months ago by Ant


‹ Previous | 1 271 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant season. Yes it's 8 episodes not 12 or 13, but there's so much in those 8..., 26 Dec. 2013
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Breaking Bad - Season 5* [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
Yes, this is only an 8 episode season, and for contractual reasons season 6 was called
the 2nd half of season five, even though they were shot a year apart and have very
different parts of the storyline.

But this is still 8 hours of amazing storytelling. I'd take 8 hours of the very best of
'Breaking Bad' over 12 hours of almost any other series in TV history. To worry too much
about 4 fewer episodes is like being upset because a great 90 minute movie costs
the same as a great 2 hour film.

What can be said about this spectacular saga that hasn't been said before? One of the very
few series that competes with the best films in history for achievement in cinematic storytelling.
Like a great novel slowly unfolding, it's funny, heartbreaking, incredibly tense, deeply disturbing,
full of brilliant plot twists, rich, compelling characters and a pitch-black sense of humor.

A nebbishy high-school science teacher finds he has lung cancer, so becomes a meth dealer to
make money for his family before his death. Often visually stunning, with a breathtaking
performance by Brian Cranston in the lead, and great work from all the supporting roles,
this portrait of a man's decent into hell couldn't be much better, and it just grows darker and
more disturbing each year.

In a way, thematically it recalls "The Godfather I and II" in how that epic charts Michael's journey
from innocence to darkness, along with the moral murkiness of the endless drive for money
and success - how we lose ourselves, so that succeeding and having ever more becomes an
end in itself for which we will pay any price, rather than a route to happiness, trapping us in a
game we can never win.

This fifth season is a brilliant, and very emotional set up for the last. This is powerful,
mportant and utterly enthralling stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 92 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the whole series, 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad - Season 5* [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
Although in some ways this deserves more than 3 stars the fact that I bought it assuming it was the complete season (5) meant I marked it down, perhaps unfairly. Amazon did not make clear in the description that it is only part of season 5 and indeed there is nothing on the DVD packaging to indicate this. Surely "Season 5 part one" would be a more honest title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 66 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marketing Ploy, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad - Season 5* [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
The series has been excellent, and the content was up to usual standard. However, the rating was given for the deliberate and cynical build up to this release which implied early on that this was the complete series 5, probably costing the same as previous
full series! I found out after purchase that the second part has not yet been shown (couldn't find any mention of that before this
part 1 release)! It's not an accident - the whole thing was a con, supported by the fact that the packaging does not mention anywhere that this is PART 1. (other TV series have done this in the past). No doubt when Part 2 is complete, a full DVD of the entire 5th series will be released, and we will all have to pay up a second time to see the first part. Pure cynical marketing - not
impressed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a shame, 31 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad - Season 5* [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
This is only 8 episodes. There is 16 in total, that is pretty much fraud announcing 8 eps as season 5. Why would you ruin a final season like that, leaving the viewer confused unless they check wiki? A disgrace. Great series, 5 stars. But the people who released this dvd, 0 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


185 of 208 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars half a season, 27 Jan. 2013
By 
Jason Fortune (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad - Season 5* [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
just a heads up guys, if this dvd set comes out on the date advertised it will only be the first 8 episodes of season 5, the last 8 episodes of season 5 only start airing in summer, thats from AMC offical site, (network who make it), its either that or amazon have their dates wrong and this dvd set will have its release date changed! keep your eyes open before you buy! UPDATE!!! 17/4/13.... today AMC (network who make it) confirmed breaking bad series 5 will return to tv in the usa on sunday august 11th at 9pm!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just perfect, 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad - Season 5* [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
Buy it, watch it and you'll never regret it. This series is probably the best as things are moving towards the conclusion and you'll be totally gripped. The only reason the very last season isnt quiet as good as Season 5 is because it ends!! Breaking Bad could have went on for 10 seasons and everyone would have been delighted as everyone seems to love Breaking Bad and for good reason. Its the most perfectly paced show ive ever seen. Every single character is interesting and has real depth with some performances as good as if not better than the best actors you've ever seen. Its so good you'll feel like you're a voyeur of the real lives of people who seem to be slipping further and further down the spiral rather than just watching a tv show. You could very happily spend a entire evening watching this show back to back because nothing beats this. To give you some examples, im a fan of Lost (first 2 seasons only!), Sopranos (i thought nothing would top it), Hannibal (incredible series so far.........), Dexter and films such as Heat, Goodfella's etc. so I know my american dramas/thrillers. This has raised the bar and its a testament to the current standard of British TV that it was never picked up and shown (I believe Channel 5 showed the first couple of series then it was dropped years ago?). BBC/ITV would rather show 'more' cookery, DIY, house buying programmes...........Do yourself a favour and buy the best programme ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


123 of 144 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just when you thought it couldn't get any better..., 29 Oct. 2012
By 
Mr. A. Hursit - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Breaking Bad - Season 5* [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
Following the absolutely masterful 4th series of Breaking Bad where Walter White ended the season in dramatic fashion, with both a literal bang and the words "I won", I was left wondering where this show could possibly go from here. So when the much anticipated 5th series premièred I braced myself for the worse, ready to be let down, with the gloomy though that no matter how good this series was, there was no way it could possibly hope to equal the last series. Incredibly, the most recent series not only equals the previous series, it surpasses it.

I'm not going to go into too much detail, as I don't want to spoil the plot, so let me just tell everyone about the good things. First the pacing is absolutely spot on, a perfect balance between black comedy, intense drama and suspense. This shouldn't come as a surprise since it's pretty much what made season 4 a masterpiece. But here's where season 5 differs from it's predecessor. First are the performances; it's not that the performances are better than previous seasons, but the characters themselves take on radically different roles than in previous seasons and the entire cast pulls it off to perfection. Anna Gunn gives her best performance yet as Skylar White, as the friction that has been building between her and Walt finally approaches the breaking point (portrayed with unflinching brutality in the episode "Fifty-One"). Aaron Paul also has plenty of moments to shine as Jesse, but the true star of the show is Bryan Cranston, who turns out the performance of a lifetime. His portrait of Walter White's development into a ruthless Machiavellian figure is nothing short of stunning, if a little uneasy at times (especially in the half-season finale "Gliding All Over").

But the best thing about it is how unafraid it is to challenge us with truly difficult topics, the best example of this is the end of the episode "Dead Freight", I won't spoil it, but let's just say it was like being hit below the belt.

The three episodes that highlight the shows best qualities of both staying true to its roots while pushing new boundaries for me are "Dead Freight", "Say My Name" and "Gliding All Over"

I could go on and on about what makes this season and this whole show a masterpiece, but to just sit around and talk doesn't do it any justice, it simply must be seen.

If you've seen all the previous seasons of Breaking Bad then rest assured, the series hasn't decreased in quality at all. If you haven't then start watching it right now from the very beginning, knowing that each series improves on the last and that you have this watershed at the end of the line to look forward to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbearably brilliant - Walter White is Hamlet and Job and this is Act 5 (haha part one), 27 Jan. 2014
By 
THEWHITLAM (leafy Clapham) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad - Season 5* [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
Just when you thought it couldn't get any better/worse/more gripping (delete or add further adjectives) here comes Act 5. Who cares if it's 8 episodes; this proves the writers were literally thinking on their feet. As a viewers you feel , after the bleak Series 4, that one day Walter will be able to enjoy being who he now is and what he has earned. Not a bit! There will always be someone watching and waiting and judging him. Who needs Fring when you've got new friends like Walter has? AsWalter gets empowered, so do other characters, including Jesse. The acting is superlative and plots could not be more involved and gripping. My advice is, make sure you buy The Final season at the same time because it's hard to stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best EVER TV, 24 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad - Season 5* [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
You already know it, if you're looking at this season, this is the best TV ever made and I don't even watch TV :)

BB is stunning, acting is off the scale, story line, plot, twists and the gradual disintegration of Mr white from common man to super criminal with all that entails and his final.....climax .... is just addictive beyond anything you can imagine.

If you want to watch a series that will leave you empty on the day after you watch the final episode, wondering what to do with your life ( without resorting to stealing an RV and cooking meth for a kick) then get BB. Buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "SAY MY NAME!", 17 Jun. 2013
By 
Jet Lagged - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad - Season 5* [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
First let's get the bad news out of the way. As other reviewers have already pointed out, this DVD set is only half of Season 5. Secondly, along with many others I'm sure, I preordered this set for £18.19. No sooner had I received it than Amazon dropped the price to £14.99. This reduction followed hot on the heels of the curious appearance of just half of Season 5 only. Question: Are we being taken for mugs?

It's hard to shake off the feeling that we DVD purchasers are being taken advantage of - that there is a downside to preordering. If this is what happens then next time I shall think twice about preordering at all.

The half season begins with Walt's 52nd birthday and him buying weapons for some unknown purpose. This arc never gets resolved in the half season at all. This is unfair on the viewer. It shows that the partitioning of Season 5 into two segments is unnatural. The arc needs to get resolved.

Looking on the bright side, the only good thing about this being half a season is that it means we still have another second half to look forward to!

And this is a truly great season, or half a season. I was completely blown away. What series gets better and better like this one does? This season's episodes are more taut and concentrated. One of the most enjoyable I have ever watched.

A heck of a lot goes on in Season 5. There are some magnetic moments in more ways than one.

All the cast are at the top of their game here. I would single out the memorable performance of Jonathan Banks, who plays Fring's former bagman, Mike. I think he deserves an Emmy for this one. The tension between Walt and Mike is one of the compelling features in some of these episodes.

There is one scene where Mike has to dispose of an incriminating laptop. He hurls it down what looks like an old abandoned well. I remember thinking that the laptop could possibly be retrieved by the Feds. Not like Mike to be that unprofessional. It turns out that a few extra seconds were deleted from the scene. (One advantage of the DVD over Netflix is you get to see what gets left out). For the record, Mike chucks a hand grenade after the laptop. It fails to go off. Mike then says:- "I'm gonna KILL that guy!" In my opinion, that deleted scene should have been retained. Better in than out.

The new character, Lydia, also shines.

This is all great, entertaining stuff. Highly watchable.

Walt starts to throw his weight around. He is now where he wants to be. He promises Jesse that there will be no more deaths. Well that's good for a laugh anyway. You feel quite sorry for Jesse's predicament. Jesse and Saul now rightly live in fear of the creature that Walt has metamorphosed into. It ain't pretty. Any residual sympathy the viewer has for Walt has now all but evaporated.

The viewer also feels sorry for Hank, visibly shattered when he realises he is dealing with the criminal behaviour of a Monster. His DEA unit has never confronted anyone like Heisenberg before, though Fring came close. They have been utterly unprepared to do battle with perhaps the most disciplined mind in New Mexico. He thinks back to an innocent job he once had and wishes he had enjoyed it more - back to a time when he didn't have to chase monsters.

Then comes the twist at the end!

Amazon Update: 24th September 2013 - Breaking Bad has just won an Emmy for Outstanding Drama Series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 271 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Breaking Bad - Season 5* [DVD + UV Copy]
Breaking Bad - Season 5* [DVD + UV Copy] by Bryan Cranston (DVD - 2013)
£12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews