Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart watching.
In the final season, Patty (Glenn Close) and Ellen (Rose Byrne) are pitted against one another in two detached cases (or are they?). The first involves a wrongful-death claim brought against Channing McClaren (uninspiring Ryan Phillippe), the founder of a whistle-blowing website (think WikiLeaks) who is blamed for a suicide of one of his informants. In the other case,...
Published 3 months ago by Lola

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Damages - Season 5
As my rating indicates (3 stars), it was okay but I wasn't gripped by it as I had been with the previous four series. Perhaps it had just run its course for me - sometimes we viewers are hard to please!!
Published 12 months ago by Alma J


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart watching., 13 July 2014
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Damages - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
In the final season, Patty (Glenn Close) and Ellen (Rose Byrne) are pitted against one another in two detached cases (or are they?). The first involves a wrongful-death claim brought against Channing McClaren (uninspiring Ryan Phillippe), the founder of a whistle-blowing website (think WikiLeaks) who is blamed for a suicide of one of his informants. In the other case, Ellen is a witness about to testify against Patty in the custody fight with Patty's son.

If you've stuck with the series this long, you'll be happy to hear it ends on a mostly satisfying and adequate note. Yes, there are many elaborate lies, and at some point I gave up believing one or another, preferring to just watch how the story unfolds. Glenn Close is magnificent as usual. I will miss “The Damages”, one of the smartest TV series out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillaint TV series, 19 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. Kenneth W. Roper "Elvis and Alabama fan" (Kidlington England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damages - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Sorry to see this go, and season five is the final season. Glenn Close as ever is supurb, and is equally matched by Rose Byrne. The writting itself would do justice to John Grisham, and unlike the Suprano's, anothe brlllinant TV series, it doesn't hang in the middle of nowhere at the finish. Buy with confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Clever Legal Drama, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damages - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Glenn Close is stunning as a very smart, manipulative, brutal, cold-hearted lawyer, albeit with some charm (check that lethal smile) and some "issues". A couple of the series were on telly (1 and 2?) but for some reason the others weren't broadcast in the UK. My advice is to start with series 1 and watch them all in sequence. Although an episode, or series, will stand on its own, this is a multi-layered narrative, with elements recurring from previous episodes and series. It's very clever plotting. The episodes are themed, such as the one on a Madoff-like scam, which adds some contemporary realism to them. In a sense, a forerunner of the recent run of very smart dramas coming out of the US. For me, an overlooked masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb finale to an immaculately-made series, 19 Aug 2013
By 
Art "Art" (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damages - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
We only watch series on DVD, and the final year of Damages was much anticipated.

The strength of the show was its small number of core characters, the on-going plots that stretch over every season, and the SUPERB Glenn Close and Rose Byrne + a great cast.

It is intelligently written drama, that makes you concentrate, and after 5 years of the story, the 'end' does not 'cop out' as Sopranos did.

If you are reading this you probably have not seen the start of the series? We thoroughly recommend it if you enjoyed '6 Feet Under' or 'Sopranos',

if you liked 'Weeds' or 'Brothers & Sisters' you'll probably find it too complex...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars worth every penny, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damages - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
great series good acting and good plot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars damages, 17 Jun 2014
ive watched series 1 to 4 cant wait 2 c the finale series 5 every series is brillant well worth watching . its sad there not making amore :( i give this a 10 star rating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Damages, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damages - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I chose this rating as I thought that it was excellent. There was nothing to dislike about it.The end end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best tv series of all!, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damages - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
absolutely brilliant you cannot stop watching it. glenn close is fantastic as is rose byrne. what a pity it is their last series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damages - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
My wife and I discovered this series by accident but were gripped with all 5 series.
Glenn Close is brilliant but also Rose Byrne
Really disappointed it all came to an end!
Great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damages - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Was bought as a Christmas present and was exactly as described. Sold and arrived jn brand new condition for a very reasonable price considering how new the show is. Is not sold in UK shops around where I live so ideal that was sold on Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Damages - Season 5 [DVD]
Damages - Season 5 [DVD] by Glenn Close (DVD - 2013)
£9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews