Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

445 of 462 people found the following review helpful
on 12 January 2014
After purchasing many Sandisk cards, and having some problems, after researching up I found some main points.

1 - Sandisk are the most brand currently counterfeited, and it is getting harder to check and find real working ones.
A - The printing on the fake products has got better.
B - The packaging printing is perfect on some fakes.
C - Even the hologram on packaging is perfect on some fakes and some are using stolen ones from Sandisk.
D - Sandisk will say that do not buy micros if they come with a adapter as they are fake as they do not put adapters with micros. This is not true, Sandisk do supply them, they are made by Hama for Sandisk, and the micro cards are real.
E - Some fakes are infact real, they are real Sandisk cards which are faulty in some way, these are then stolen from the factory and then altered. So these packaging, hologram and card are in fact real but faulty. These serial numbers will come up on Sandisk warranty as destroyed at factory, and on return to Sandisk they will confiscate them and not refund a card or money as it is stolen property. You will just get a letter saying just this.
F - Fakes are either OK and working with the size purchased but made by some one else, a cheaper rebadged maker/factory.
G - Fakes are either not OK and not the real size you purchased. Thus either a real Sandisk card mainly 4Gb altered to look like your size, or worse a fake did made by some one else. This can be a size or speed issue ie. States it is a 10 but is a 4, or standard SD instead of hcsd or xcsd.
H - To make thinks worse. In 2012 Sandisk made some cards wrong and they got out of the factory by the millions in various packaging, these mainly are Ultra. The fault seen is that on phones and tablets using android or Linux the card drops out or goes corrupt error, but intact not currupt on reboot of the device. Some are getting the normal faults also and just die to early.
I - Sandisk still make Ultra II. I ordered a U2 and got a ultra so it must be a fake, no this is not true. Sandisk renamed U2 and U2 plus as just Ultra now. As technology standard has gone up, was speed 2 is standard 4 ultra and 6 ultra plus. Now ultra just means 6 to 10 and extreme is better than 10. So a ultra card with 10 u I on it that does say 7 MB/s is not fake it is within spec. If you get speed 9 or 10 or 11 MB/s then you just got a good batch. As 10 MB/s and above are labelled up as extreme if they do 9 and above. So if you really want speed 10 = u1 then buy extreme version.

So it is really hard to know if you have a fake now. Even if real the size and/or speed are under par, or worse is a factory stolen fault batch product.

What to do : -

Only buy from direct either Amazon directly or Jessops or Picstop which are main dealers.
Sandisk only will replace fake cards from Amazon direct and not fulfilled or marketplace, although within the 30 days Amazon will refund the money.

Most on EBay are fakes.

Fakes are also found secondly on Kingston and Samsung.
Most fakes are found on high capacities as this are easy pickings and low prices.
Do not buy 32 64 at cheap offers
Never buy the new 128 or higher from unknown sellers as these will be fake.
256 512 and 1TB are made to order only and in small batches. Sandisk to order only, Crosair have limited ones in stock directly at Amazon direct. Expect to pay more that £1 per GB on them any cheaper then ask why before buying them. 128Gb is around £105 and 64Gb about £50 as price is now dropping. 32Gb no less than £18 in sale and £25 normally. Extreme x600 are around 70 higher and extreme pro 150% higher. Ultra are x200. The more in size means slower speed. So a 1Tb USB key is very slow is speed 2. So if using for video watching or video taking or photo taking then you need speed not size first. Size first if you using MP3 or storage, phones and tablets need 6 and above. Normal cameras just need 4. SLR cameras need 10 extreme and above. PC / Mac / Linux PC any speed OK for storage and MP3 else above 6 if watching YouTube HD or 720HD video or speed 10 or U I for 1080p HD video.

When you receive the card do these first before using them
1 = do not open, but type the barcode in Google and check it matches to your Gb size and text under the barcode as most fakes the Barcode will come up as 4Gb.
2 = check the card with a SD checker program for check and verify. Search free program on Google.
3 still get this far and passed all, then place very large media files and play for 4 hrs, if this gives an error bad video file or SD card has been removed or SD card is corrupt or needs reformatting , but on reboot it works then you have a real but faulty batch. Refund or warranty or just buy a Samsung or Kingston. Lexars are sandisk now. sandisk own lexar.

Side note ... Sandisk cruiser USB keys are getting couterfeted so take note and do the same as above
And also nearly all cruiser nano USB let's are fake, never seen a real one, even directy from amazon. And Sandisk will confiscate them if you do a warranty claim, so check within amazon refund times to check and if not OK then make a return claim with Amazon. Amazon know all about this I have asked many time what is their counterfeit procedure as the website states they have one, but I have never seen or got an answer how do you put in a claim ony told put in a claim with legal services at amazon.
1414 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
76 of 79 people found the following review helpful
I have never got reliable operation from this card which I bought in February. I had thought it might be something I was doing, but having tried it in different devices and using different card hosts it remained unreliable. I have messaged the seller but they have not responded.

This week I gave up and contacted SANdisk direct to invoke warranty. I sent them photos of the card and today they have informed me that it is a counterfeit product. So now, unless Amazon give me a refund I reckon I am out of options and will have to buy another card.

ADDENDUM:
Thanks Amazon! They gave me a full refund so I can now buy a proper working card. No more Amazon resellers for me. Only buying direct now.
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
263 of 278 people found the following review helpful
on 20 February 2013
I purchased two of these cards in early January - one for my wifes HTC Desire C and one for my own Galaxy S3.
Within the month, my card stopped working. The phone could not recognise the card and neither would my PC so I was unable to try reformatting it. I have returned this card to Amazon for a refund which is in process. My wifes card is still working ok.
In parallel with this return, I have been in contact with Sandisk and they have confirmed that my wifes card is not a fake as it has a serial number on the reverse which they have validated. My card (although purchased with my wifes) has no such serial numbers on it. Sandisk advise that these can become "rubbed off" but advise purchasing only from Amazon directly and not one of their resellers on their MarketPlace. They can't say conclusively, but I believe my card is fake. You can register your card with Sandisk and I would recommend you do this if you buy one of their cards to find out quickly if you've been supplied with a dud - you only have 30 days in which to return your card with Amazon so be aware!
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
403 of 434 people found the following review helpful
on 24 August 2012
Amazon.com please put similar information on all the card product pages

people, please read this from sdcard.org before leaving crappy reviews on the product. It explains everything anyone would want to know about the card

[...]

Before Using Your SDXC Memory Card

SDXC standard-based memory cards and devices (digital cameras, video cameras, laptops, etc.) are now available. As an early adopter of the new SDXC standard, it is important that you understand how to use your new SDXC memory card to its greatest ability.

Confirm Compatibility

Before inserting your SDXC memory card into your device, confirm the device is compatible with the SDXC standard by locating an SDXC logo on the device or referring to the device's user manual or manufacturer information. Remember:

SDXC device......only SDXC card (64GB upto 2TB)
SDHC device.......both SD card and SDHC card (SDHC cards are 2GB up to 32GB)
SD devices........only SD card (Sdcard are up to 2GB only)

Understanding Backwards Compatibility

SDXC memory cards must only with SDXC devices.
SDXC devices can use SD, SDHC and SDXC memory cards.
SDHC memory cards can be used with SDHC and SDXC devices.
SDHC devices can use both SD and SDHC memory cards.
SD devices can only use SD memory cards.
Only Use SDXC Memory Cards in SDXC Devices

SDXC devices are backwards compatible, so they accept SD and SDHC memory cards. SDXC memory cards must only be used with SDXC devices and should never be used in non-compatible devices. If you need to format an SDXC memory card, you can typically format it by using your SDXC device or by using the SD Formatter 3.0 with your computer.

If an SDXC memory card is inserted into a computer or device that does not support the SDXC standard, a message may prompt you to format the card. Do not format the SDXC memory card in a non-compatible device because it will erase the data on the SDXC memory card and format the card for a different file system, making it incompatible with SDXC devices.

Possible Device Messages

1. Non-compatible computer

If you accidentally insert your SDXC card into a computer that does not support SDXC (using a direct SD slot or USB reader/writer), the following messages may appear:

Possible Messsages:
*You need to format the disk in the drive'X' before you can use it. Do you want to format it?
*The disk in drive 'X' is not formatted. Do you want to format it now?

CHOOSE NO/CANCEL!
DO NOT FORMAT, OTHERWISE THE CARD IS NO LONGER SDXC FORMAT...I.E. NO LONGER 64GB AND WILL ONLY RECOGNISE A MAX OF 32GB (27.9Gb ON PC)

2. Non-compatible Device

If you accidentally insert your SDXC memory card into an SDHC device that is not compliant, the following messages may appear:

Possible Messages:
*Card Error
*This card cannot be used
*Please check your card
*Format the card

CHOOSE NO/CANCEL!

DO NOT FORMAT, OTHERWISE THE CARD IS NO LONGER SDXC FORMAT...I.E. NO LONGER 64GB AND WILL ONLY RECOGNISE A MAX OF 32GB (27.9Gb ON PC)

SDXC Memory Cards for Computers

The exFAT file system used for SDXC is available on Microsoft Windows 7, Windows Vista and Windows XP (SP1 or later) with exFAT file system update (KB955704) available from the Microsoft Download Center.
You can access the SDXC card by using an SDXC compatible USB reader or adapter.
If you want to use an SDXC card in the SD slot on your computer, you need an SDXC compatible driver for the SD slot.*
Contact your computer manufacturer to confirm the SD slot on your computer is compatible with SDXC cards and for availability of the SDXC driver.
* An SDXC-compatible driver for the SD slot can be downloaded from the following Microsoft sites. However, please check with your computer manufacturer to determine if the following download is applicable to your computer before applying the download.

Windows 7 Drivers
32-bit Version...[...]
64-bit Version...[...]

Windows Vista Drivers
32bit Version..[...]
64bit Version...[...]

SD Formatter...[...]
1010 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 14 July 2014
Fake card,tested with H2test program shows just 500mb usable rest is corrupt and I can see that was not the first time it happened. Avoid unless u like ur photos/videos to disappear after a while :((((
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
on 25 November 2012
Item arrived on time as stated matching the description. Works brilliantly with Samsung Galaxy Note 2. I simply inserted it and bingo!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
on 4 September 2012
Hi,

just to let you know I brought this from Amazon (they are an authorised scandisk dealer). I had to wreck the packaging to get at the card, so in this respect it seems a genuine product (compared to knock off ebay copies for which the 'retail' card was only glued at the corners), plus there are reference numbers on the back of the card (though I have not checked with scandisk about these numbers).

This micro SDXC Card was reported as damaged when I inserted it into my phone, tablet and computer (I assume because they don't natively support SDXC formatted SD cards). Neither my phone or computer would re-format it into FAT32 or anything else acceptable (I tried the windows formatter, command line formatter and a couple of downloaded formatters including the one from the SD organisation, none worked). Luckly my trusty HTC desire HD automatically reformatted it into a format that was accepted by the computer and tablet as well, hurrahhh!! Suddenly the supposed 32Gb MicroSD card limit on my new Samsung Tab 2 and HTC Desire HD is blown away!!!

Windows reports it will take 2 hours to fill the little disk. therefore at that rate it would be about 9 Mb/s which is high (remember this is the write speed), or rather this is about right for a class 10 product.

I will report back with a full review shortly.

In short nice little card with a big memory, but beware if you don't have an SDXC compatible device or some means to re-format the disc, otherwise you are looking at a pricey tiddlywink.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
173 of 191 people found the following review helpful
on 16 May 2012
Who ever thought they would squeeze 64gb onto a card the size of a fingernail?

This memory card is ideal for anyone that needs to store a large amount of data but also requires the ability to be able to easily swallow said data card in the event of being apprehended by law enforcement officers.
99 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
I have produced flakes of dandruff bigger than this, yet it has the memory capacity of a small herd of elephants (or a herd of small elephants? Who can say?). Isn't modern technology wonderful?

I bought the 32GB version to pop into my new smart-phone (a Samsung Galaxy Ace) so that I could use it as an mp3 player as well as a pocket camera (oh yes, and a phone). 32GB is twice the capacity of my old Walkman which was beginning to groan at the seams so, short of shelling out more than a half-ton for the 64GB card, it seemed like a decent choice.

Popped it into the phone and watched it format and then started to transfer my entire music collection. I may not be John Peel, but I do have a few albums (I daren't count them) and they filled the card up to just over half-full. Excellent! Plenty of space left for musical expansion, apps and photos.

This is supposed to be an "ultra speed" card: presumably it's quicker to load files on and off and access them as well. I can hardly comment with any authority, never having timed that sort of thing, but I will say that I managed to transfer on all of my 16GB of music in the time it took to run a bath. Well, OK - I exaggerate, but I would have expected something like that to take up a long and boring evening in front of the laptop and was VERY pleasantly surprised.

The card comes with an adapter that allows you to use it as a full-size SD card should you so wish - a miracle of electronic engineering all in itself, if you ask me.

The only down-side is that the card is so small that if you take a deep breath, you're liable to inhale the bloody thing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 13 December 2014
Update #1: These 128 gb Sandisk MicroSD cards eventually failed with the FAT32 format (see below), so I reformatted them as exFAT and started over. With the ex-FAT format, all 62 gb of my data could be copied to the cards without error or interruption.

Update #2: After working with these cards successfully for a couple of months, they spontaneously lost their File Allocation Tables, neither PC nor Mac computers could read them, nor could my latest cameras, nor could I re-format them with any of these devices. I lost a LOT of work with these.

I bought two of these 128 gb MicroSD cards which I formatted to FAT32, and I currently have about 62 gb in 35,000 files on each card. I carry one card in my wallet and keep one in a safe deposit off-site. I've been through the SanDisk literature looking to see if there are any restrictions on their use, other than as ordinary "flash memory" for file storage. There are no restrictions I could find. What I have found is that these 128 gb cards (and a SanDisk 64 gb card I bought previously) cannot accept 62 gb of data written from a computer without suffering errors.

I've had to resort to copying no more than 1/3 gb of data at a time to these cards, stopping, then starting another 1/3 gb until the complete data is copied. The errors actually occur early on, at approximately the 2 to 3 gb point. I have several other 128 gb flash memory sticks - the Lexar Echo series, as well as a hundred other lower-capacity flash memory cards, and do not have this overflow/error problem with any of those. To repeat, there are no restrictions on the use of these memory cards (example: can be used only in a camera) given by SanDisk, and given that the 62 gb of data on each card has been verified as to integrity, they are not defective.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 174 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.