Customer Reviews


3,229 Reviews
5 star:
 (2,426)
4 star:
 (366)
3 star:
 (98)
2 star:
 (52)
1 star:
 (287)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


376 of 388 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buying Sandisk cards from marketplace and Amazon direct
After purchasing many Sandisk cards, and having some problems, after researching up I found some main points.

1 - Sandisk are the most brand currently counterfeited, and it is getting harder to check and find real working ones.
A - The printing on the fake products has got better.
B - The packaging printing is perfect on some fakes.
C -...
Published 11 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Counterfeit. AVOID.
I have never got reliable operation from this card which I bought in February. I had thought it might be something I was doing, but having tried it in different devices and using different card hosts it remained unreliable. I have messaged the seller but they have not responded.

This week I gave up and contacted SANdisk direct to invoke warranty. I sent them...
Published 4 months ago by AlanMusicMan


‹ Previous | 1 2323 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

376 of 388 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buying Sandisk cards from marketplace and Amazon direct, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After purchasing many Sandisk cards, and having some problems, after researching up I found some main points.

1 - Sandisk are the most brand currently counterfeited, and it is getting harder to check and find real working ones.
A - The printing on the fake products has got better.
B - The packaging printing is perfect on some fakes.
C - Even the hologram on packaging is perfect on some fakes and some are using stolen ones from Sandisk.
D - Sandisk will say that do not buy micros if they come with a adapter as they are fake as they do not put adapters with micros. This is not true, Sandisk do supply them, they are made by Hama for Sandisk, and the micro cards are real.
E - Some fakes are infact real, they are real Sandisk cards which are faulty in some way, these are then stolen from the factory and then altered. So these packaging, hologram and card are in fact real but faulty. These serial numbers will come up on Sandisk warranty as destroyed at factory, and on return to Sandisk they will confiscate them and not refund a card or money as it is stolen property. You will just get a letter saying just this.
F - Fakes are either OK and working with the size purchased but made by some one else, a cheaper rebadged maker/factory.
G - Fakes are either not OK and not the real size you purchased. Thus either a real Sandisk card mainly 4Gb altered to look like your size, or worse a fake did made by some one else. This can be a size or speed issue ie. States it is a 10 but is a 4, or standard SD instead of hcsd or xcsd.
H - To make thinks worse. In 2012 Sandisk made some cards wrong and they got out of the factory by the millions in various packaging, these mainly are Ultra. The fault seen is that on phones and tablets using android or Linux the card drops out or goes corrupt error, but intact not currupt on reboot of the device. Some are getting the normal faults also and just die to early.
I - Sandisk still make Ultra II. I ordered a U2 and got a ultra so it must be a fake, no this is not true. Sandisk renamed U2 and U2 plus as just Ultra now. As technology standard has gone up, was speed 2 is standard 4 ultra and 6 ultra plus. Now ultra just means 6 to 10 and extreme is better than 10. So a ultra card with 10 u I on it that does say 7 MB/s is not fake it is within spec. If you get speed 9 or 10 or 11 MB/s then you just got a good batch. As 10 MB/s and above are labelled up as extreme if they do 9 and above. So if you really want speed 10 = u1 then buy extreme version.

So it is really hard to know if you have a fake now. Even if real the size and/or speed are under par, or worse is a factory stolen fault batch product.

What to do : -

Only buy from direct either Amazon directly or Jessops or Picstop which are main dealers.
Sandisk only will replace fake cards from Amazon direct and not fulfilled or marketplace, although within the 30 days Amazon will refund the money.

Most on EBay are fakes.

Fakes are also found secondly on Kingston and Samsung.
Most fakes are found on high capacities as this are easy pickings and low prices.
Do not buy 32 64 at cheap offers
Never buy the new 128 or higher from unknown sellers as these will be fake.
256 512 and 1TB are made to order only and in small batches. Sandisk to order only, Crosair have limited ones in stock directly at Amazon direct. Expect to pay more that £1 per GB on them any cheaper then ask why before buying them. 128Gb is around £105 and 64Gb about £50 as price is now dropping. 32Gb no less than £18 in sale and £25 normally. Extreme x600 are around 70 higher and extreme pro 150% higher. Ultra are x200. The more in size means slower speed. So a 1Tb USB key is very slow is speed 2. So if using for video watching or video taking or photo taking then you need speed not size first. Size first if you using MP3 or storage, phones and tablets need 6 and above. Normal cameras just need 4. SLR cameras need 10 extreme and above. PC / Mac / Linux PC any speed OK for storage and MP3 else above 6 if watching YouTube HD or 720HD video or speed 10 or U I for 1080p HD video.

When you receive the card do these first before using them
1 = do not open, but type the barcode in Google and check it matches to your Gb size and text under the barcode as most fakes the Barcode will come up as 4Gb.
2 = check the card with a SD checker program for check and verify. Search free program on Google.
3 still get this far and passed all, then place very large media files and play for 4 hrs, if this gives an error bad video file or SD card has been removed or SD card is corrupt or needs reformatting , but on reboot it works then you have a real but faulty batch. Refund or warranty or just buy a Samsung or Kingston. Lexars are sandisk now. sandisk own lexar.

Side note ... Sandisk cruiser USB keys are getting couterfeted so take note and do the same as above
And also nearly all cruiser nano USB let's are fake, never seen a real one, even directy from amazon. And Sandisk will confiscate them if you do a warranty claim, so check within amazon refund times to check and if not OK then make a return claim with Amazon. Amazon know all about this I have asked many time what is their counterfeit procedure as the website states they have one, but I have never seen or got an answer how do you put in a claim ony told put in a claim with legal services at amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Counterfeit. AVOID., 1 Aug 2014
By 
AlanMusicMan (North Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SanDisk SDSDQU-064G-FFP Ultra 64 GB Class 10 Micro SD Card with SD Adapter - Frustration-Free Packaging (Label May Change) (Accessory)
I have never got reliable operation from this card which I bought in February. I had thought it might be something I was doing, but having tried it in different devices and using different card hosts it remained unreliable. I have messaged the seller but they have not responded.

This week I gave up and contacted SANdisk direct to invoke warranty. I sent them photos of the card and today they have informed me that it is a counterfeit product. So now, unless Amazon give me a refund I reckon I am out of options and will have to buy another card.

ADDENDUM:
Thanks Amazon! They gave me a full refund so I can now buy a proper working card. No more Amazon resellers for me. Only buying direct now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


251 of 264 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware of fakes!, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased two of these cards in early January - one for my wifes HTC Desire C and one for my own Galaxy S3.
Within the month, my card stopped working. The phone could not recognise the card and neither would my PC so I was unable to try reformatting it. I have returned this card to Amazon for a refund which is in process. My wifes card is still working ok.
In parallel with this return, I have been in contact with Sandisk and they have confirmed that my wifes card is not a fake as it has a serial number on the reverse which they have validated. My card (although purchased with my wifes) has no such serial numbers on it. Sandisk advise that these can become "rubbed off" but advise purchasing only from Amazon directly and not one of their resellers on their MarketPlace. They can't say conclusively, but I believe my card is fake. You can register your card with Sandisk and I would recommend you do this if you buy one of their cards to find out quickly if you've been supplied with a dud - you only have 30 days in which to return your card with Amazon so be aware!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


396 of 425 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buyers Read before leaving crappy Reviews, 24 Aug 2012
Amazon.com please put similar information on all the card product pages

people, please read this from sdcard.org before leaving crappy reviews on the product. It explains everything anyone would want to know about the card

[...]

Before Using Your SDXC Memory Card

SDXC standard-based memory cards and devices (digital cameras, video cameras, laptops, etc.) are now available. As an early adopter of the new SDXC standard, it is important that you understand how to use your new SDXC memory card to its greatest ability.

Confirm Compatibility

Before inserting your SDXC memory card into your device, confirm the device is compatible with the SDXC standard by locating an SDXC logo on the device or referring to the device's user manual or manufacturer information. Remember:

SDXC device......only SDXC card (64GB upto 2TB)
SDHC device.......both SD card and SDHC card (SDHC cards are 2GB up to 32GB)
SD devices........only SD card (Sdcard are up to 2GB only)

Understanding Backwards Compatibility

SDXC memory cards must only with SDXC devices.
SDXC devices can use SD, SDHC and SDXC memory cards.
SDHC memory cards can be used with SDHC and SDXC devices.
SDHC devices can use both SD and SDHC memory cards.
SD devices can only use SD memory cards.
Only Use SDXC Memory Cards in SDXC Devices

SDXC devices are backwards compatible, so they accept SD and SDHC memory cards. SDXC memory cards must only be used with SDXC devices and should never be used in non-compatible devices. If you need to format an SDXC memory card, you can typically format it by using your SDXC device or by using the SD Formatter 3.0 with your computer.

If an SDXC memory card is inserted into a computer or device that does not support the SDXC standard, a message may prompt you to format the card. Do not format the SDXC memory card in a non-compatible device because it will erase the data on the SDXC memory card and format the card for a different file system, making it incompatible with SDXC devices.

Possible Device Messages

1. Non-compatible computer

If you accidentally insert your SDXC card into a computer that does not support SDXC (using a direct SD slot or USB reader/writer), the following messages may appear:

Possible Messsages:
*You need to format the disk in the drive'X' before you can use it. Do you want to format it?
*The disk in drive 'X' is not formatted. Do you want to format it now?

CHOOSE NO/CANCEL!
DO NOT FORMAT, OTHERWISE THE CARD IS NO LONGER SDXC FORMAT...I.E. NO LONGER 64GB AND WILL ONLY RECOGNISE A MAX OF 32GB (27.9Gb ON PC)

2. Non-compatible Device

If you accidentally insert your SDXC memory card into an SDHC device that is not compliant, the following messages may appear:

Possible Messages:
*Card Error
*This card cannot be used
*Please check your card
*Format the card

CHOOSE NO/CANCEL!

DO NOT FORMAT, OTHERWISE THE CARD IS NO LONGER SDXC FORMAT...I.E. NO LONGER 64GB AND WILL ONLY RECOGNISE A MAX OF 32GB (27.9Gb ON PC)

SDXC Memory Cards for Computers

The exFAT file system used for SDXC is available on Microsoft Windows 7, Windows Vista and Windows XP (SP1 or later) with exFAT file system update (KB955704) available from the Microsoft Download Center.
You can access the SDXC card by using an SDXC compatible USB reader or adapter.
If you want to use an SDXC card in the SD slot on your computer, you need an SDXC compatible driver for the SD slot.*
Contact your computer manufacturer to confirm the SD slot on your computer is compatible with SDXC cards and for availability of the SDXC driver.
* An SDXC-compatible driver for the SD slot can be downloaded from the following Microsoft sites. However, please check with your computer manufacturer to determine if the following download is applicable to your computer before applying the download.

Windows 7 Drivers
32-bit Version...[...]
64-bit Version...[...]

Windows Vista Drivers
32bit Version..[...]
64bit Version...[...]

SD Formatter...[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Read/write errors 9 months after purchase, 12 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SanDisk SDSDQU-064G-FFP Ultra 64 GB Class 10 Micro SD Card with SD Adapter - Frustration-Free Packaging (Label May Change) (Accessory)
Bought from Amazon directly in January 2014 for use with a Samsung S4. A couple of weeks ago I started to notice issues, specifically:
- songs downloaded to the card wouldn't play properly then would disappear
- pictures which had been taken disappeared
- apps that had been installed to the card no longer worked.

I am now backing up all of the remaining files to my PC and deleting them from the card. Some files are deleting but most are not (because my PC cannot update the relevant data (e.g. file register) on the card.

Good while it lasted however it is disappointing that out of the 15 or so flash cards I have ever bought this is the first to have failed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 64gig micro sd, 31 Oct 2012
I am happy with my micro sd. It works in my HTC Sensation and is fast, I have enough audio books, music and home movie space now, so I only transfer when I actually want to. It takes 2 weeks to get it, but that is better than paying more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars most of it for good, some fragments recoverable but really heartbreaking, 12 Oct 2014
By 
S. Riches - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SanDisk SDSDQU-064G-FFP Ultra 64 GB Class 10 Micro SD Card with SD Adapter - Frustration-Free Packaging (Label May Change) (Accessory)
The fact is - if you read these reviews - that for most users, and for me for a long time, these cards operate well. BUT you also have to understand that without warning they may suddenly collapse, corrupting valuable data. I lost a 5-year 3,000 song collection of music, most of it for good, some fragments recoverable but really heartbreaking. Yes we should all backup and I tried off my Samsung smartphone but their Samsung Kies backup system is a clunky nightmare of which they should be ashamed.
Assuming my problem to be isolated I bought another of these cards yet now under a year later the same thing is beginning to happen. In other words don't assume that lots of decent reviews mean a perfect product, all they mean is that you are much more likely to be lucky than not. From the very start, devise a reliable backup (if you can) and use it regularly. Steve Riches, Northampton, UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Item supplied was a fake (not San Disc), 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this item in good faith from Easy Deals 24 Ltd (through Amazon site)

On getting the item i checked the disc using the disc checker and only had 5GB of useable space, i bought a 32GB card

I contacted amazon and received a refund on the card.

Be aware of fakes being sent out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Item arrived on time as stated matching the description. Works brilliantly with Samsung Galaxy Note 2. I simply inserted it and bingo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


172 of 189 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gulp - take the plunge, 16 May 2012
Who ever thought they would squeeze 64gb onto a card the size of a fingernail?

This memory card is ideal for anyone that needs to store a large amount of data but also requires the ability to be able to easily swallow said data card in the event of being apprehended by law enforcement officers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2323 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews