Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great
A good swift delivery. This was a gift for my husband for his birthday that is later this month so can't comment on book as a whole. However the condition was good and it looks ok. Would use this seller again.
Published 12 months ago by Mrs. Beverley J. Daniel

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The work of Steve McQueen
This Steve McQueen biography can be an interesting perusal of his life through his work. There is little mentioned of his personal life except a bit about his youth and through the biographies of 2 of his wives, Neile Adams and Ali MacGraw. There are some quotes from Steve, and his friends/coworkers, mainly concerning relating to his work.
The book has a limited...
Published on 5 Nov. 2011 by wogan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The work of Steve McQueen, 5 Nov. 2011
This Steve McQueen biography can be an interesting perusal of his life through his work. There is little mentioned of his personal life except a bit about his youth and through the biographies of 2 of his wives, Neile Adams and Ali MacGraw. There are some quotes from Steve, and his friends/coworkers, mainly concerning relating to his work.
The book has a limited number of pages about his life before show business, but the main substance relates to his work in motion pictures, why and how he chose the roles he did.

There is a confusing recounting of the early stages of the movie `The Great Escape'. The author writes the prison camp, Stalag LuftIII was just outside Munich, then a few pages later states it was in Poland. He also claims the officers in the prison knew about D-Day and planned the escape to help divert German forces. The diversion is an historical fact, but it is never explained how these prisoners could have been aware of the date of D-Day???
The most surprising omission to me was that in the beginning of the book where Steve's time in the marines is recounted the author tells of McQueen being assigned to "scrub and repair asbestos-laden pipes". Nowhere is this referred to when he is diagnosed with mesothelioma.

One can see the business technicalities of the film industry in this biography. We also read of the many faults, the drug use and drinking and the violent tendencies at times, of McQueen to his wives and others; but we also are made aware of McQueen's extraordinary talent. There are some questions about the accuracy of what has been written in this book, but we do learn about the essential times and life of Steve McQueen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointing, 16 Nov. 2011
A let down. This book is completely sensationalised and manipulates McQueen's story, to simply read like a tabloid. Besides the errors the main issue is that is selectively repeats the good research undertaken by other biographer's. Personally, i prefer either of Marshall Terrill's biographies. I read his first one over a decade ago and his latest one is even better. By comparison, Eliot's biography is a poor man's account of McQueen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and not Illuminating, 16 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet again Elliot has produced a wordy book (I always think he's submitting a thesis that's not going to get a good grade) not backed up by anything of substance. Consistent with his previous books, I get a sense that he hasn't actually seen many of the films the subject made. And, pretentious though it is to say it (and faintly ridiculous to say it about such a prolific writer on the subject) I don't think he really understands film. He makes mistakes, too. Yes, Tuesday Weld was married to Dudley Moore, but about ten years after Elliot suggests. His biggest howler, though, is when discussing the Frank Sinatra's film The Detective. He states that it's based on a novel written in 1954 (which may well be true) but goes on to write that it was previously filmed in 1954, directed by Robert Hamer and starring Alec Guinness, and known in the UK as Father Brown. This is mind-bogglingly stupid. Elliot obviously has seen neither film, and has clearly never even heard of GK Chesterton's famous clerical detective. Even given that stunning ignorance, did it not occur to him that you'd be looking long and hard at a British fifties thriller starring Alec Guinness before you mistook it for a late sixties one starring Frank Sinatra? Also irritating is Elliot's habit of always referring to films in passing by referring to them as possessions of the director. This is okay at the higher end, but when your discussing a minor film with no pretensions, to attribute auteurism to it is just pretentious and idiotic. In the past I've left Elliot alone (and despite all the caveats haven't minded his books) but after reading Steve McQueen, I'm afraid I've snapped!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 11 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steve McQueen (Paperback)
A good swift delivery. This was a gift for my husband for his birthday that is later this month so can't comment on book as a whole. However the condition was good and it looks ok. Would use this seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool, 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steve McQueen: A Biography (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read did not stop reading from the moment I started and was pleasantly surprised by all the information and facts.Steve McQueen even though a troubled man is still one of my idol's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A really great read, 24 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steve McQueen: A Biography (Kindle Edition)
Highly recommended to any fan of the movies. A very interesting look at the life of McQueen both personally and professionally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Oct. 2014
It is a XmAs gift which will be well recieved!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steve McQueen: A Biography (Kindle Edition)
Very good. Warts n all....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 4 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steve McQueen: A Biography (Kindle Edition)
I read a book on him,good but when I read this even from family members, in the
book what a trouble maker he was.
They get all the fame and forget theirselves?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Steve McQueen., 9 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steve McQueen: A Biography (Kindle Edition)
I wouldn't go out of your way to 'make' time to read this, or pay a great deal of money to obtain it, it 'could' & 'should' have been so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Steve McQueen: A Biography
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews