Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
This is a fantastic read for people contemplating cycling the length of Britain. If this does not tempt you then nothing will ! In his book Fred says that whatever he has chosen to attempt in his life he has reached the heady heights of just average. For a man approaching his mid fifties, cycling the length of Britain ( the thick end of 1000 miles ) and climbing some...
Published on 2 Jun. 2012 by Guess

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars His next ride should be through Cuba
An interesting adventure made very boring. As someone who has lost family members to cancer and heart conditions I found the constant reference to cigar smoking very disturbing. A big credit for doing the ride (twice). Just stick to Cycling and if you really must, smoking and leave book writing to others.
Sorry Fred just being honest.

Chris Wright
Published on 7 Feb. 2013 by Christophe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There's Always Another Hill: How not to cycle from John o' Groats to Land's End (Kindle Edition)
This is a fantastic read for people contemplating cycling the length of Britain. If this does not tempt you then nothing will ! In his book Fred says that whatever he has chosen to attempt in his life he has reached the heady heights of just average. For a man approaching his mid fifties, cycling the length of Britain ( the thick end of 1000 miles ) and climbing some of the toughest hills in Britain is the mark of a CHAMPION. To do this in just 8 days is an incredible achievement and the mark of a true champion cyclist.
Well done my friend.
Fred has now proved that he is an excellent author taking you through his life and like the ride itself a true roller coaster of a read with highs, lows, sadnes and laughter but most of all a true reflection of the man. An average man NO A champion YES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars guesses daughter, 18 Jun. 2012
This review is from: There's Always Another Hill: How not to cycle from John o' Groats to Land's End (Kindle Edition)
not into biking myself but very enjoyable,lighthearted read. Emotional in parts but all for a good cause,and of course inspirational.Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars His next ride should be through Cuba, 7 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There's Always Another Hill: How not to cycle from John o' Groats to Land's End (Kindle Edition)
An interesting adventure made very boring. As someone who has lost family members to cancer and heart conditions I found the constant reference to cigar smoking very disturbing. A big credit for doing the ride (twice). Just stick to Cycling and if you really must, smoking and leave book writing to others.
Sorry Fred just being honest.

Chris Wright
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Cigar and G and T fest, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not a very good read. The author seems to be more concerned with recording how many gin and tonics and cigars he consumed than the actual journey. No mention of the towns he passes through or much else is recorded. Considering this is supposed to be a trip for cancer research, it is a bit disconcerting, especially when this is commented on by a fellow camper as he observes the group drunk outside their caravan after they have consumed a large number of g and t's at lunchtime. I preferred Blood, Sweat and Gears, which was a much better read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A cigar lovers dream..............., 10 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Has to be one of the worst books I have ever read, on ANY subject. It is awful! Only buy if you like to hear about cigar chain smoking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellently written, great read., 9 Sept. 2012
This review is from: There's Always Another Hill: How not to cycle from John o' Groats to Land's End (Kindle Edition)
I am doing this cycle ride next year and am reading several books on the subject. This book has been a great inspiration, route planner and warning for me as to what I am getting myself into.
I feel it has been written very well, basically I couldn't put it down, it drew me in and I feel like I have already done the ride once, hopefully good preparation for the mind, now just on with the physical side of training......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful read of a great achievment....., 19 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There's Always Another Hill: How not to cycle from John o' Groats to Land's End (Kindle Edition)
I completed the same journey in August 2011. I relate to all the trial and tribulations you have mentioned in this book. the hills of Glen coe through to the ups and downs of Devon and Cornwall. This great book will take you through this epic journey and touch every emotion on the way. A great read sit down have a cigar and enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Did he get to Land's End?, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There's Always Another Hill: How not to cycle from John o' Groats to Land's End (Kindle Edition)
I read the free sample, elected to ignore the other Amazon reviews and bought this book. I wish I hadn't. The cigars and gin & tonics plus the attitute by the author towards his fellow traveller made this such a dreadful read that I didn't finish it.

I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good story something for everyone., 24 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There's Always Another Hill!: How NOT to Cycle from John O Groats to Lands End

Nice length story for the subject matter, keeps you reading, humorous and very descriptive you feel like you are travelling through the scenery with them. Not just for the cycling buff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, 3 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There's Always Another Hill: How not to cycle from John o' Groats to Land's End (Kindle Edition)
Oh dear, oh dear.
After skimming the first dreadfully boring chapter about his Monty Python childhood I rushed to see if I had time to get my money back, but I was too late. So I persevered to the end..at a rate of about 2 seconds per page. Can I have a medal? Why anyone would want to write about this non-event is beyond me. It wasn't funny, interesting, insightful or useful. It was just 'we turned left at the A234 and right along the A56, then straight on for 4 miles, and had a nice meal', with some poor sod who had to tag along in a van.
If you took out every sentence which said. "Lets stop and have a cigar, said Fred/ Bill", the book would be half as long.
I couldn't wait to get to the calamity in Inverness. Was Fred going to be run down by his support vehicle ? Perhaps Fred was going to accidentally swallow a cigar and get rushed to Raigmore Hospital.
Nope. They lock their keys in the support car. Wow. I was at the edge of my seat, thrilled to the core.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews