Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wentworth B A
Quite a blast from the past! Arthur Lowe's last TV series, and perhaps not up to what had gone before (Dad's Army in particular), but it is a channce to see a bit more of the sort of character that he played so well.
Nice to see the period settings properly observed.
Published 22 months ago by Mikex

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good adaptation but search out the book
This DVD has attracted polarised reviews; I think I understand why. Fans of other Arthur Lowe sitcoms may have been disappointed to find that this is something altogether gentler which would have been ruined by an audience: it's not about belly laughs but wry chuckles. Accept that, and the fact it dates from the time when sitcoms were shot on video, and there's quite a...
Published 17 months ago by Pismotality


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wentworth B A, 22 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A.J. Wentworth BA - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Quite a blast from the past! Arthur Lowe's last TV series, and perhaps not up to what had gone before (Dad's Army in particular), but it is a channce to see a bit more of the sort of character that he played so well.
Nice to see the period settings properly observed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Swansong of Arthur Lowe, 30 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A.J. Wentworth BA - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
A lovely, gentle comedy, based on a series of beautifully crafted short stories, this is not for those who prefered the Dads Army of Jones hanging from a tower or disguised as a log, but for anyone who loved the interplay of Mainwaring and Wilson, or appreciated the more subtle character based comedy of that show, this is the perfect send-off for one of Britain's all-time great comic actors. Lowe as the absent-minded, old-fashioned prep school teacher barely in control of his 3A class is perfectly cast and rises to the occasion, but the entire cast are excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good adaptation but search out the book, 3 Mar 2013
By 
Pismotality (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A.J. Wentworth BA - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD has attracted polarised reviews; I think I understand why. Fans of other Arthur Lowe sitcoms may have been disappointed to find that this is something altogether gentler which would have been ruined by an audience: it's not about belly laughs but wry chuckles. Accept that, and the fact it dates from the time when sitcoms were shot on video, and there's quite a lot to savour.

That said, I do think some of the slapstick moments are a little bit clumsily handled: books obviously dropped rather than knocked out of Arthur Lowe's hand, for example.

And fans of H.F. Ellis already primed to expect something in a lower key than other Arthur Lowe vehicles may have their own reservations for different reasons. I remember watching and quite enjoying this when it came out in the mid eighties, but feeling that it didn't quite live up to HF Ellis's original pieces, which can be found in several collections (Faber have recently reissued The Papers of A. J. Wentworth, B.A.).

The trouble is that in print Wentworth is the narrator: we see things from his point of view and have the fun of imagining how others react to him. As with Diary of a Nobody, an adaptation can't quite supply the same thing: we've got the people in front of us and our hero is suddenly a little more buffoonish.

Nevertheless, this is probably as well realised as it could be - and certainly Harry Andrews as the Squid (the headmaster of Burgrove) well deserves his status as co-star, hinting at suppressed giggles each time A.J. tries to explain his latest mishap. The actor playing Gilbert isn't given that much to do but you do buy his affection for A.J. The schoolboy actors are okay, not great. It passes the time most agreeably, and it doesn't deserve the opprobrium heaped on it by some reviewers, but essentially it's an homage to the original pieces, not a replacement for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A J Wentworth, 18 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A.J. Wentworth BA - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Ilove the bumbling good intentions of this character played by the imitable Arthur Lowe .

All his characters are similar from Mr Mainwaring to this inept school master. A gentle comedy, very funny pity there was only the one disk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dear old Arthur Lowe again, 18 Sep 2013
By 
B. R. Munro "Captain bazza" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A.J. Wentworth BA - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this series because I'm a 'fan' of Arthur Lowe's work. It was quaint period piece from towards the end of Arthur's long career. I felt the writing wasn't up to scratch and he didn't have a good support cast - certainly no where as good as Dad's Army. He seemed quite tired and his comic timing was very muddled, IMO. Still, I have no regrets buying this bit of TV comedy history.

Great service from Amazon as always.

Bazza
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy viewing, 22 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A.J. Wentworth BA - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
The dvd arrived very quickly despite the Christmas post and I settled down to watch it. Am in the midst of watching it and wanted to say it is a lovely and happy trip down memory lane watching dear Arthur Lowe at his besy. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good and funny TV serial, 10 Aug 2012
This review is from: A.J. Wentworth BA - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This a very short serial, with only six episodes. But it is really marvellous, with great features and a theme that reminds to "Mr. Chipps" adventures. In this case, the leading role is the one of a veteran maths teacher, who works in a private school for kids. This part is played by the amazing Arthur Lowe (in one of his lastest featurings). This unforgettable comic shows his versatility as one of the best British humorist of all times. Very recomendable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic, 18 May 2013
By 
Mr. Philip Cook "Philjon" (Aberdare, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A.J. Wentworth BA - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this series. It brought back memories of a wonderful actor and his characterisation of Wentworth cannot be surpassed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Actors too old for the parts., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A.J. Wentworth BA - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I missed this series when it was first shown. The drama is pretty faithful to the book but I don't think it works for the simple reason that Lowe & Andrews were too old for the parts they were given to play. The quirkiness of the original characters is subsumed by the image of two old duffers who are not up to scratch. The idea that Lowe is young enough to go on to serve in WW2 is palpable nonesense but that is what happens to the Wentworth of the book. The book is about quirkiness not senility. Both actors could have pulled it off in their middle age. Pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Aurthur Lowe, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A.J. Wentworth BA - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is the last sit com series played by the late great aurthur Lowe, by far nowhere near his best roles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A.J. Wentworth BA - The Complete Series [DVD]
A.J. Wentworth BA - The Complete Series [DVD] by Michael Mills (DVD - 2012)
Ł5.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews