Customer Reviews


328 Reviews
5 star:
 (241)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful Home screwdriver
This is my second Ixo. This small tool has plenty of torque for household jobs, but will not handle large screws (over 5mm diameter). It is supplied in a big tin, and sits in its charger when not in use. The ergonomic design is excellent for hands large and small, whether you are right or left handed, and the trigger has a light touch. Just under the bit holder, an...
Published 19 months ago by Bernardette Lugner

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
The unit works well and provides good torque. However, the reversing button under the body and near to the trigger button is easy to accidentally move whilst using the unit. It is, therefore easy to accidentally switch it off or reverse it whilst operating it. Yet, bizarrely, it is a bit awkward to deliberately change the setting. One needs to take your hand off the...
Published 6 months ago by Mr. J. H. Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful Home screwdriver, 22 Mar 2013
By 
Bernardette Lugner (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch IXO 3.6V Cordless Lithium-Ion Screwdriver (DIY & Tools)
This is my second Ixo. This small tool has plenty of torque for household jobs, but will not handle large screws (over 5mm diameter). It is supplied in a big tin, and sits in its charger when not in use. The ergonomic design is excellent for hands large and small, whether you are right or left handed, and the trigger has a light touch. Just under the bit holder, an amber-coloured lamp illuminates the screw -- very useful, but why isn't it white? On top of the tool, a lamp comes on when recharge is advisable -- oddly it features a petrol pump symbol -- and goes out when charging is complete. If you let it run right down, the tool switches off to protect the lithium-ion battery. Other lamps show whether the tool is set to screw or unscrew, but they only come on after the tool has started to rotate, so are of limited use.

You get a set of driver bits, covering just about any small to medium crosshead screw, a couple of star-shape heads, and two hexagonal heads, which will substitute for Allen keys, and are helpful with flat-pack furniture. Alas, there is only one flat screwdriver head, a small one. You will probably need another, larger one, and a small-diameter drill bit for pilot holes. If you have bits from another screwdriver, they are likely to fit. The supplied bits seem to be high quality, and hard.

The instruction book looks as though it was written by lawyers hoping to avoid personal injury claims, but all the information you need is printed between the safety warnings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great little tool, 16 Aug 2012
By 
C. H. Robertson "The Fat White Duke" (Sunny Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch IXO 3.6V Cordless Lithium-Ion Screwdriver (DIY & Tools)
I have been attempting DIY for many years. I can remember when the first electric rechargeable tools first came on the market. Some were quite good and some were rubbish.

My last electric screwdriver was quite bulky being over 10 years old - so a replacement was due. Did the research and chose this little beauty.

How the world and the rechargeable screwdriver have progressed!!

Used all day with no lose of power, love the little torch that comes on when activated.

Two things worth a comment. Firstly, the switch that makes it screw in, lock and screw out is just a bit near the trigger for me. I have big hands and found that now and again I accidently moved this switch during operation and secondly it is just stop and go - would be nice if it was variable speed.

However, these small points do not detract from the fact that this is a great little tool and good value at the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars because it fulfills what it is meant to do, 19 Mar 2013
By 
Trev-R (Boston UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch IXO 3.6V Cordless Lithium-Ion Screwdriver (DIY & Tools)
This isn't a heavy duty screwdriver for Bob the Builder, it is a general purpose electric screwdriver for home use. For this it is ideal, as a balance between cost and features it offers just the right balance for most jobs around the home.

Build quality is excellent and it is a perfect size, just right to fit in the hand and light weight so your hand doesn't get tired after repeated use. It has sufficient torque for everything I have tried so far from tightening up screws on DIY furniture to screwing into rawl plugs in a brick wall. I have also used it to put 'screw-in' hollow wall fixings into place which it managed easily.

How long does the battery last? No idea as I have never had any issues with it running out even after continued use for an hour or so. It has a really nice little charger which also doubles as a bit holder.

If you are looking for a general purpose domestic electric screwdriver you won't go wrong with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have children and/or shop at Ikea, buy this....., 1 Jun 2012
By 
Dad "Just a DAD" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bosch IXO 3.6V Cordless Lithium-Ion Screwdriver (DIY & Tools)
I've just used this screwdriver for everything from hanging wooden blinds, installing child locks on the kitchen cabinet doors, and removing and replacing the switchplates when I paint a room to name a few.

Its small and easy to use but is still powerful.

This new lithium ion battery stays charged for months but the IXO can be stored on the charger without damaging the battery.

I like the fact that it is always charged when I need to use it.

I received this as a gift and liked it so much that I've purchased several more for the family.

This tool is the ultimate time saver! If you frequently assemble toys or have to put together flat packed furniture you will be very glad to buy this device.

It comes with plenty of bits including hex so no more fiddling with Allen keys also has an Ikea bit - wonderful.

It is compact enough to reach into plenty of corners a normal drill or screwdriver can't fit into.

Great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant tool., 13 Nov 2012
This review is from: Bosch IXO 3.6V Cordless Lithium-Ion Screwdriver (DIY & Tools)
Very powerful tool, powers large screws straight into wood without a pilot hole. Impressive battery life too. Can be kept on the charger, when it's full it stops charging. Wish I had this years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Screwdiver..... yet, 5 Jun 2014
By 
Antoine Camilleri - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bosch IXO 3.6V Cordless Lithium-Ion Screwdriver (DIY & Tools)
The Bosch IXO is a compact and lightweight tool ideally suited for a variety of screwdriving tasks in and around the home. It hosts an integrated long lasting 3.6V Li-ion battery, and a 3 position slide switch: Forward, Lock, reverse.

The unit comes in a very handy metal container which houses the tool and charger. There are various attachments available for this little tool, namely:
- Torque Setting Attachment
- Angle Gear Attachment
- Easy-Reach Adapter

In order to attach these adapters the rubber part on the front of the tool needs to be removed. This part comes off very easily and a recessed notch will aid removal. Any of the other two bits can now be easily snapped on. Removal of these bits is also very easy. Turning the indicated part on the bit itself anti clockwise will release the attachment.

This tiny 3.6V tool packs in some punch, yet I see this as a double sided sword. Whilst it gets the job done in no time, there is a risk of stripping the screw head as it does not sport any torque settings. You would have to buy an optional Torque Setting Attachment which costs an additional £11.99

The intuitive lights on the top part of the tool indicate FWD, REV and the middle light indicates the charge. When this light turns orange the tool needs to be recharged. Once placed on the charging cradle the light will turn green, and when charge is complete it will turn off. The direction lights will come on once the trigger is pressed.

Pros:
- Great build quality
- Very ergonomic design
- Long Battery life

Cons:
- No torque settings
- Not a variable speed trigger. It's either on or off
- FWD /LOCK/ REV switch can be easily knocked off the desired position

------------------------------------------------

Tips:
When stowing away the screwdriver, I put a tiny piece of paper between the charging contacts and the driver. Whilst I have no proof that this would prevent discharge, it was presented this way when I first bought it.

As With all Li-ion batteries, never let the battery to fully discharge as this could result in a shorter battery life.

----------------------------------------------------

This is a great tool, which gets the job done. Yet if you had to factor in the price of the IXO plus the variable setting attachment head then the Bosch PSR 7.2 LI Cordless 7.2 Screwdriver, 1 x Li-Ion Battery is a serious contender. It offers more power, variable speed, variable torque, a sturdier drop in charger and a larger 7.2 Li-Ion battery.

Highly recommended to anyone wanting a solid, easy to use cordless screw driver at a very competitive price.

Hope you find this review helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neat little tool., 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch IXO 3.6V Cordless Lithium-Ion Screwdriver (DIY & Tools)
This is just what I wanted. The size and weight are both perfect for me and it does the job just fine. I am 75 years of age and have no problems using this at all. Of course, I only do little jobs with it but for me it's perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bosch IXO 3.6V Cordless Lithium-Ion Screwdriver, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch IXO 3.6V Cordless Lithium-Ion Screwdriver (DIY & Tools)
Excellent tool comfortable to handle & use. Handy selection of bits included in the charger base.
Battery seems to last forever, even if not returned to the charger base.
I sometimes use a small extension to hold the bit as I find this can improve the view of what you are screwing into
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch IXO 3.6V Cordless Lithium-Ion Screwdriver (DIY & Tools)
Great little tool, works well and copes with all the jobs I have given so far. Very good torque, easily drives screws in and out of wood.
Delivery was excellent, arrived in a couple of days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful Tool, 26 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. R. C. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch IXO 3.6V Cordless Lithium-Ion Screwdriver (DIY & Tools)
A very useful tool but not suitable for some of the awkward spots. Could do with an extension for tight corners. Suplied in a neat useful tin with a selection of bits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews