Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, if dated
I remember watching this when it aired on TV lo these many years ago, and it has stayed with me ever since. That in itself is good testament to this adaptation of a novel that was my second Bible growing up.

You have to get past the dated costumes, wigs, makeup, etc. and the 70s-TV production values to enjoy this version, as opposed to the admirable and...
Published on 19 May 2008 by libriarsque

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good cover of the book, but the production is a little dated
This is a good T.V. version of "Little Women". It is a little dated now, it has a very 70's feel to it. While it says that William Shatner stars in it, he only appears in the second of the two tapes, and even then not a major character. The rest of the cast are good, especially Jo. But overall, I would only recommend this if you like the period drama genre.
Published on 5 Oct 2001 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, if dated, 19 May 2008
I remember watching this when it aired on TV lo these many years ago, and it has stayed with me ever since. That in itself is good testament to this adaptation of a novel that was my second Bible growing up.

You have to get past the dated costumes, wigs, makeup, etc. and the 70s-TV production values to enjoy this version, as opposed to the admirable and visually beautiful Hollywood-of-the-90s version with Wynona Ryder.

First of all, Susan Dey is an excellent Jo. She was quite a surprise to me, after knowing her only as David Cassidy's wise-cracking sister on the "Partridge Family". As Jo, she conveys all the character's physical awkwardness and mercurial temper, and is by turns funny and poignant. Meredith Baxter-Birney is an appropriately pretty Meg. Beth is played by Eve Plumb, of "Brady Bunch" fame; she, too, surprised me in a very positive way, particularly in her final scene with Jo at the seaside. Then there's Ann Dusenberry's Amy. I must say, there is a great deal of wisdom in casting a young girl to play the young Amy, instead of burdening one actress with the unenviable task of playing 12 years old, then a sophisticated young woman. Dusenberry's 12-year-old Amy unfortunately brings to mind an overly petulant and over-sized Shirley Temple. Sadly, her grown-up Amy isn't much better. She is definitely the weakest of the sisters.

Old Aunt March is played by Hollywood veteran Greer Garson, and she does not disappoint. Her Aunt March is no crusty fossil of a woman, but rather an elegantly overblown product of her era and upbringing, with foreshadowings of Wilde's Lady Bracknell. Fellow established movie stars Dorothy Maguire and Robert Young turn in dignified, intelligent portrayals of Marmee and Mr Laurence, respectively.

Of the lovers, Richard Gilliland's Laurie seems much too modern and all-American for a character who was reared and educated in Europe. Cliff Potts is a good Brooke, upright without being stuffy. William Shatner's customary hammy style somehow works for Professor Bhaer, but his German accent is anything but convincing.

There are many turns of phrase in the script that are glaringly non-period, and the music Laurie plays on the piano sounds more like Andrew Lloyd Webber than Beethoven. Edith Head, the legendary Hollywood costume designer, did not give her best effort to this production; witness the white character shoes the girls wear throughout most of the mini-series! What on earth was she thinking!

Despite all these flaws, Alcott's story is lovingly and pretty faithfully told, and the overall impression is very positive. I highly recommend this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good cover of the book, but the production is a little dated, 5 Oct 2001
This review is from: Little Women [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is a good T.V. version of "Little Women". It is a little dated now, it has a very 70's feel to it. While it says that William Shatner stars in it, he only appears in the second of the two tapes, and even then not a major character. The rest of the cast are good, especially Jo. But overall, I would only recommend this if you like the period drama genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liitle Women, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Women [DVD] (DVD)
We saw the first part of the film on TV but failed to record.
Yet another version of the story set during the American Civil War. Although the main story is of the family and their trails and tribulations,
This is s refreshing version well worth keeping and watching time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Little Women, 3 Jan 2014
This review is from: Little Women [DVD] (DVD)
Hi everyone,

I saw this version when i was child, wonderfull, sweet and romantic story. [9/10]

Please, i need help.
I live in France, and there is no DVD of this movie.

Can someone who have this DVD version tell me if there is French spoken language in?
(It's to offer :)

Thank you and best wishes for this new year!!!

LL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 24 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Women [DVD] (DVD)
I still have the lovely book on my self as I was given it as a very young girl so treated myself to the dve I really enjoyed it and it keeps to the story so well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great version of a classic, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Women [DVD] (DVD)
I first came across this adaptation on a TV channel and missed part 2, I looked everywhere to purchase the DVD and even bought a multi region DVD to watch it.
Very happy with the purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER RE-MAKE, 9 Jun 2012
By 
B. C. Lapping - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Women [DVD] (DVD)
THERE HAVE BEEN MANY RE-MAKES OF THIS AMERICAN CIVIL WAR STORY. THIS TIME THE YOUNGSTERS PARTS ARE DONE BY UNKNOWNS. WHERE AUNT MARCH IS PLAYED BY THE LEGENDARY STAR, GREER GARSON. THE STORY IS THE SAME AND YOU CANNOT SAY WHICH IS THE BETTER. THEY ARE ALL VERY GOOD. THIS ONE BEING LONGER, AS IT WAS A TV PRODUCTION IN MANY ACTS. I THOROUGHLY ENJOYED IT. ROBERT YOUNG, AS THE GRAND FATHER LIVING NEXT DOOR, ALSO OF NOTE. LOVED IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Women [DVD] [1978] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
4.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews