Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You couldn't make this up
What a read, especially in today's political climate. One is tempted to say 'plus ca change' but that is surely the point of this book. IF I am correct it is to be read as an indication of the inevitable collapse(s) that will occur when society grows beyond what it can manage in the way of fair distribution. I was left thinking that all regimes will have their day whether...
Published 3 months ago by MusthavMahler

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Intersting insight into the theory behind one of the major political theories
Certainly worth a read, if only to gain an insight into the ideology behind Communism that preceded the 20th century. There are some obvious flaws with the concept of communism as depicted in the Manifesto but it's an interesting read nonetheless. All reviews on this book that have 1 star simply because it's a Communist book should be completely ignored. Anyone with half...
Published 17 days ago by JamesA


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You couldn't make this up, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Communist Manifesto (Kindle Edition)
What a read, especially in today's political climate. One is tempted to say 'plus ca change' but that is surely the point of this book. IF I am correct it is to be read as an indication of the inevitable collapse(s) that will occur when society grows beyond what it can manage in the way of fair distribution. I was left thinking that all regimes will have their day whether or not we are for or against. I will be reading it through again though to see if I can find a way to be 'on holiday' when the smelly stuff hits the fan...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Marx..... (Sorry I had to), 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a historical political document detailing the principles of communism as put forward by Karl Marx, nothing fancier that that! Reading this is quite strange, some of the ideas put forward by Marx are very intriguing and it's not hard to see why some governments, rightly or wrongly, adopted these concepts in the running of their countries. It's good to read this to give yourself a more rounded view of politics and history as a whole, a very intriguing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly thought-provoking, 15 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. C. Whiteside (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While hardly a light holiday read, Marx's influencial distillation of the historical communist worldview into a single, succinct manifesto makes for essential reading, for people of any political persuation. Incredibly relevant and surprisingly easy to read, it deserves better than the demonisation it has recieved at the hands of certain groups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read, 8 April 2014
By 
Josh Harwood (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Communist Manifesto (Kindle Edition)
This was a book that I read to accompany my A-Level political studies, but found my self captivated by the ideolgy and began to re-think my own socialist mind.

This is not an easy read, but is well worth the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Free DL, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I downloaded this for free. I haven't gotten round to reading it yet, but when I do I'll post coments
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Intersting insight into the theory behind one of the major political theories, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Communist Manifesto (Kindle Edition)
Certainly worth a read, if only to gain an insight into the ideology behind Communism that preceded the 20th century. There are some obvious flaws with the concept of communism as depicted in the Manifesto but it's an interesting read nonetheless. All reviews on this book that have 1 star simply because it's a Communist book should be completely ignored. Anyone with half a brain will realise that to have a complete, justified opinion on politics, you should be aware of all of the major political stances, however extreme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A To-The-Point Summary Of Capitalism, Revolution, and Human History in Less Than 40 Pages, 20 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Communist Manifesto (Kindle Edition)
This edition, being free, is pretty good. I did not notice any mistakes, as I'm able to compare it to the Oxford print version which I also have.

The Communist Manifesto is probably the best "introduction" to Marxism/Communism/Economics/Sociology one might read. It's brevity is one factor that make it an outstanding text - given the subjects which it discusses. It's as relevant today as ever, essential reading. 95% of it is very straight forward and does not require any prior understanding of the topics or philosophies it is discussing. Maybe 5% of it critiques 19th century French and German socialistic philosophy, which is probably the most challenging part, near the end. But at its core, the Communist Manifesto is a no-punches-pulled, straight-to-the-point summary of capitalism, revolution and human history. You may be able to read it in a day - and may very well continue re-reading it for years to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for essays, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Communist Manifesto (Kindle Edition)
Kindle edition well formatted, lacks the critical introductions of the more expensive editions but purely to quote Marx and Engels in coursework it's invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Communist Manifesto (Kindle Edition)
handy to have access to again, i lost my old pamphlet version.

all the terms such as proletariat and utopian socialism are defined, easy to dip in and out of for an accurate, historical account of the beginning of socialism in britain.

if you like this i recommend frances wheen's biography of karl marx.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good book to read again, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Communist Manifesto (Kindle Edition)
the book is a good one but I would have to give it another read over to gain the extent of Marx's work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9242a08)

This product

The Communist Manifesto
0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews