Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive reading.
Set in the days of Puritan America this book shows just how small minded these first settlers were. When Hester Prynne finds herself pregnant she is thrown into prison and made to sew a scarlet A onto her bodice to denote that she is an adultress. The Father of the child, who I will not reveal is evidently a coward as he watches whilst poor Hester is set up on a...
Published on 1 Aug 2012 by Pyewacket

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
good
Published 1 month ago by Bex


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive reading., 1 Aug 2012
By 
Pyewacket "czarnowice" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet Letter (Kindle Edition)
Set in the days of Puritan America this book shows just how small minded these first settlers were. When Hester Prynne finds herself pregnant she is thrown into prison and made to sew a scarlet A onto her bodice to denote that she is an adultress. The Father of the child, who I will not reveal is evidently a coward as he watches whilst poor Hester is set up on a platform, babe in arms wearing her badge of shame. On this day, looking over the crowd, Hester spies a man who she never thought she would see again and becomes nearly catatonic with the shock.

Many years later although she still wears the badge, the townsfolk have more or less forgiven her as she carries out charitable works and tends to the sick and dying. Her child, Pearl is an odd creature, wilful, spiteful and yet sometimes loving. This is probably as a result of her never playing with other children.

Is Hester the sinner or has she been sinned against? That dear reader is for you to interpret.

All I can say is, that this is a classic and even the film did fair justice to the novel although it did make one of the main characters slightly more attractive than he actually is portrayed in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An astounding book of its time!, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet Letter (Kindle Edition)
Number 16 in the Observer's 100 Best Novels of All Time.'Here, in short, is the prototype of what would become become the psychological novel, a brilliant example of a new genre'. As a result of seeing this I decided to go ahead and read it. Rather heavy going at times, but I am pleased I did so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-written, vivid illustration of how the Salem witchehunt horror could have arisen, 18 April 2014
By 
A. Baker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet Letter (Kindle Edition)
I had wondered how the situation of the Salem "witches" could ever have got as bad as it did, but had never read much about it. I felt this story gave me an insight into the way people thought at that time and place and explained a lot. It also introduced me to Hawthorne for the first time, and his writing style was good enough to make me want to read more of his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet Letter (Kindle Edition)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet Letter (Kindle Edition)
really lovely book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Scarlet Letter, 5 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Scarlet Letter (Kindle Edition)
Found the story slow to begin with but it soon bucked up and for an 18c story its not too bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Scarlet Letter, 19 May 2014
By 
J. Coyne (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet Letter (Kindle Edition)
A great book and very worthy of the 'classic' label. The archaic language takes a few pages to get used to, but it is well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A quick and enjoyable classic, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet Letter (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book, I had meant to read it for such a long time. It's funny to think at hot much and yet so little has changed between now and then!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well written classic, 9 May 2014
By 
misty (Guernsey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet Letter (Kindle Edition)
The main thrust of the story concerns one woman's shame in puritan Boston. It's an interesting story even if just from the point of view of the way morals were viewed in those days and the way people were treated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Puritanical, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet Letter (Kindle Edition)
This is quite a tragic story but reveals the attitude of the 'holier than thou' settlers in America. The heroin of the story who although having committed an immoral act, is the one who displays courage and moral uprightness after the event, despite her persecution and the lack of forgiveness by her peers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Scarlet Letter
The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne
0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews