Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely heartbroken!
Everybody knows the story of Tess yet even as I am reading through her sad demise, I still hoped for a happy ending! The ending alas was not of a happy ending for the reader yet Tess herself was freed. It only proves that we must communicate our feelings and not be blinded by reputation.
Published 18 months ago by Sarah Ryan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars relaxing holiday book.
because I love Thomas Hardy and I did this book for an exam but it is very emotional. still a fantastic read.
Published 6 months ago by Amanda Hagger


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pure woman, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tess of the d'Urbervilles (Kindle Edition)
After years of not getting round to it, I have finally read this novel. And what a tragedy! This is one of the saddest 19th Century novels out there. Most people will know the story of Tess D'urberville, but I believe you need to read the novel to really feel the story. I'll admit, sometimes the detailed descriptions of nature are hard work, but overall this is a gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely heartbroken!, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tess of the d'Urbervilles (Kindle Edition)
Everybody knows the story of Tess yet even as I am reading through her sad demise, I still hoped for a happy ending! The ending alas was not of a happy ending for the reader yet Tess herself was freed. It only proves that we must communicate our feelings and not be blinded by reputation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic story, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tess of the d'Urbervilles (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book!! Very descriptive writing that sucks you in to Tess's life and easily lets you travel with her on her journey. I found it beautiful, captivating and heartbreaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's Hardy, so it's unhappy, 7 Sep 2014
By 
Essex Girl (Essex (yes, really)) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tess of the d'Urbervilles (Kindle Edition)
This was very readable, but it was deeply depressing.

The descriptions of rural life, of the countryside and of the working people were completely clear and convincing and often very beautiful.

On the other hand, it was written by Thomas Hardy, so you know it's not going to end well. The double standard works its magic: Angel Clare gets away with it (because he's male), and Tess doesn't (because she's a woman).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tragically beautiful, 27 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tess of the d'Urbervilles (Kindle Edition)
Thomas Hardy at his very best.
For people who have never read it and for people who had to read it at school perhaps they should read it again for shear enjoyment.
The description of country life from a bygone time is full of intense hardship with a certain nobility in labour. There is a wonderful sense of tension that stays with you all the way through this tragic story.
It really is worth every star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tess of the d'Urbervilles (Kindle Edition)
really lovely book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I have read this book before a long time ago ..., 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tess of the d'Urbervilles (Kindle Edition)
I have read this book before a long time ago and it was a pleasure to revisit it again It still makes me cry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic and Compelling, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tess of the d'Urbervilles (Kindle Edition)
I last read this novel many years ago whilst still at school and I can honestly say that I have enjoyed reading it as much now as I did back then. Well worth a read if you fancy a break from normality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant but depressing, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tess of the d'Urbervilles (Kindle Edition)
I'm almost glad I discovered the ending before finishing this book because the hope would have been unbearable. You cannot help but be in love with Tess and feel anguish for everything that fate has in store for her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tess of the D'Urbervilles, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tess of the d'Urbervilles (Kindle Edition)
I love this story it is very romantic and scandalous all at the same time. Tess embarks on the devious journey of love and is tormented by its devilish scandals of men wanting what they can get then leading you astray and to fend for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tess of the d'Urbervilles
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews