Customer Reviews


363 Reviews
5 star:
 (226)
4 star:
 (96)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always good to re-visit
It's always good to re-visit old friends and Treasure Island has got to be one of my closest. I think it was C S Lewis who once said that the quality of a book can be determined by how it lends itself to being re-read. We know the story but we want to re-live it over again. Also nice and short so you can get through quickly. All those teachers who said you shouldn't read...
Published 24 months ago by arboroff

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It Brought Back The Memories
Its a classic.....and I was re-reading a book I had read as a child. Its obviously a different style to modern authors and there is quite a lot of outdated vocabulary. I enjoyed it and it brought back the memories but I am not sure that people would enjoy if they were looking for a novel to read on a commute or by the pool on holiday.
Published 5 months ago by john Davis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Treasure island, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Treasure Island (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable. Rather brisk ending, almost as though the author had run out of ideas. Could have written more about how they lived after the adventure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good yarn, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Treasure Island (Kindle Edition)
Language a tad old fashioned.
Later film and TV adaptations add what is missing.
Great enduring characters.
Distinct lack of females.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Treasure Island (Kindle Edition)
A proper adventure story really good fun to read. Probably the best of its kind. Full of proper traditional pirates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshed memory, 26 Dec 2012
This review is from: Treasure Island (Kindle Edition)
I have just finished reading this book at school but it is hard to remember what happened because everyone took it in turns to read it aloud. Having purchased the book on my kindle i can read through more freely and not have to stop and start when someone who can't read has his turn. A bonus is that it is free!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars reread treasure island, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Treasure Island (Kindle Edition)
I first read this book 60 years ago and enjoyed it. Read it again at sea 40 or so years ago. Seen the film several times. It gets better all te time. Will read it again in 20 or so years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Childhood memories, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Treasure Island (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely brilliant - It took me back to my childhood (although there was still enough in it for a 61 year old. I loved it so much that my wife got fed up with me talking like a pirate for days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Treasure Island (Kindle Edition)
Not read this since I was a child. Down loaded to my laptop. Still a cracking read. Everyone should read this atleast once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good classic Adventure tale, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Treasure Island (Kindle Edition)
Hugely enjoyed this yarn. The adventures of Jim Hawkins and Long John Silver will stay with you long after you've finished reading.The free price tag didn't hurt either!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new way of reading, 5 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. B. H. Bullock "marchman" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Treasure Island (Kindle Edition)
This really is my first online book. Its a new experience which I am enjoying very much. The book is there in the library so I can dip in at any time and never lose my place.
I think it might catch on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Jolly Good Read!, 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Treasure Island (Kindle Edition)
Stevenson's story is full of adventure, buried treasure, deserted tropical islands and one legged, double crossing baddies. Great fun,Stevenson's characters have the power to delight, amuse, and strike fear into the reader's heart. A wonderful book which all pirate fans should read. At least twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Treasure Island
Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews