Customer Reviews


183 Reviews
5 star:
 (108)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic!!
Well what can you say I enjoyed the flm and decided to read the book and I certainly wasn't disappointed I found it quite fascinating and an enjoyable read.
Published 15 months ago by manorangel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good classic
Having seen references to this book in many movies, it's interesting to read the original. it you like classical books and can get past the way it's written then you'll probably enjoy this book.
Published 5 months ago by Thez


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic!!, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Picture of Dorian Gray (Kindle Edition)
Well what can you say I enjoyed the flm and decided to read the book and I certainly wasn't disappointed I found it quite fascinating and an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read on a long bus journey home, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Picture of Dorian Gray (Kindle Edition)
The flowery prose at times can be hard to get through but if you persevere this is a very rewarding read. Full of witty epigrams and the critique of hedonism and vanity is something you'll want to discuss for hours afterwards. For a first (and only) novel this is an outstanding piece of literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic novel, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Picture of Dorian Gray (Kindle Edition)
This is a classic novel which needs no review from me. A scintillating read full of twists and turns. At points it is very witty. Everyone should read this book at some point in their lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 7 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Picture of Dorian Gray (Kindle Edition)
Great book, one of my favourites. Must read, even if you are not an Oscar Wilde fan. It's the kind you want to read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The picture of Dorian Gray, 13 Sep 2013
By 
Mrs. Jessie Campbell "catbluerome" (dorset , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Picture of Dorian Gray (Kindle Edition)
Having downloaded it onto my Kindle I found the book was better than the DVD I have seen
the Kindle version appears to be better and shorter than the original story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars To know what love is., 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Picture of Dorian Gray (Kindle Edition)
Oh Oscar, to read of a creature such as Dorian Gray is a crime. Forcing us to love someone and loath them in equal amount, at the same time and yet still to desire, nay, demand more feels like that of life itself.

Beautifully written with a language unparalleled. Most modern writers would do well to study his works. I am in love, not just with the REAL MR GRAY, (not the other un-cultured one) and mister Wilde himself.

I feel I'm close to tears now that the book has ended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Picture of Dorian Gray (Kindle Edition)
Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dorien Gray, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Picture of Dorian Gray (Kindle Edition)
Gives an insight into the effect of ill will and ill action on how you feel within. A worthwhile read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dorian gray, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Picture of Dorian Gray (Kindle Edition)
It was a hard read, the language and descriptions were very ott rolled my eyes few times at it bit overall a good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars slow going but worth it, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Picture of Dorian Gray (Kindle Edition)
The book lacks punch and gets lost in long descriptive passages on life. But it remains a classic and didn't disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Picture of Dorian Gray
0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews