Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for any animal lover
Great book, I first read this and "Call of the Wild" by the same author some thirty-five years ago. I'm really glad I re-read these recently. The author, Jack London, does a fabulous job of portraying both the beauty and harshness of life in the wild during the time of the Klondike gold rush. Some of the descriptions of animal cruelty are not for the squeamish -...
Published 16 days ago by Greg B.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Shaggy wolf story
I liked the characterisations in this novel and Jack London's descriptions of the colder regions of our planet really take you out there. Whether such a story has any basis in reality is another question altogether.
Published 10 months ago by Space Head


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for any animal lover, 1 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Fang (Kindle Edition)
Great book, I first read this and "Call of the Wild" by the same author some thirty-five years ago. I'm really glad I re-read these recently. The author, Jack London, does a fabulous job of portraying both the beauty and harshness of life in the wild during the time of the Klondike gold rush. Some of the descriptions of animal cruelty are not for the squeamish - but, I believe, a fair depiction of how things probably were during that period in human history.

This book is a sort of mirror image to the earlier book "Call of the Wild" which describes a domestic dog's eventual re-unification with it's ancestral wild roots, through it's exposure to the wild of the Yukon as a sled dog. White Fang - describes the domestication of a Dog/Wolf cross, as it learns that not all humans are as cruel as those it first encounters. It's dog's eye-view perspective is superbly depicted in the prose and wonderfully described with great care and empathy by this brilliant author. I cannot think of a better book for the dog lover to read - it's an absolute must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kept me Reading, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Fang (Kindle Edition)
Kept at it until I got to the end. Like animal stories, especially with a happy ending like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Fang (Kindle Edition)
I'm a kid and normally, old books just bore me, but this one had me all the way through. It has a truly gripping tale and is a must read for people who want a moving story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A rare find, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Fang (Kindle Edition)
My favourite book of all time. A perfect and unique story following the life of a true survivor of the wild. My only problem with this book is that it had to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life changing, 29 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Fang (Kindle Edition)
As with Call of the Wild this is a classic for all the right reasons. It is unrelenting, it is merciless, it is questioning. I could read this book five times in a row and get a different story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite book, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Fang (Kindle Edition)
This is a good book I highly recommend it, it good for all children, and a great story line as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Fang (Kindle Edition)
A great story, and a pleasure to read! Enjoyed it thoroughly! I would recommend this book to anyone who is a lover of adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars depth of understanding, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Fang (Kindle Edition)
Harsh,intolerable life does not kill all the good in animals. Hope that the same is for mankind. A very good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comments, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Fang (Kindle Edition)
It is a book I have been looking for and it was easy to download. Most of all I was able to get it as free kindle book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Fang (Kindle Edition)
A good book, everyone that read it was enthralled by the story! A tale to stir the imagination of children and adults alike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White Fang
White Fang by Jack London
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews