Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars69
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 September 2014
Only regret that I read Barchester Towers before reading The Warden. Didn't realise that Barchester Towers was so rooted in The Warden. I found the way Trollope talks directly to his readers mildly irritating, but know I am not the first to say this. it is, after all, of its time. Enjoy the human observation moral dilemmas and dry humour. Will certainly come back to Trollope in the future and wonder why we read so much Dickens and Jane Austen in school, which I still enjoy, when this was available too. Would recommend The Warden as a good starting point for anyone embarking on Trollope,
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
I guess by now this book has been reviewed to death for more than a century but that probably is an indication of its class.
First of the Barchester Chronicles. Gentle tales of an earlier age. Some of the references to people and events of the time are now obscure and only history buffs will get the full benefit, but they don't detract from the read and don't occur too frequently. The religious beliefs, politics and class structure of the age are generally known or can be guessed at.
Naturally, many younger readers will find this more difficult and will feel the lack of violent action, but here the conflict is less physical but no less deeply felt. Trollope paints a picture easy to see in the mind's eye and his characters, even though they come from a very different era, live for the reader.
All six of the Chronicles can be downloaded free and here the Kindle comes into its own. With a few clicks the dictionary can explain the odd obscure word Trollope uses.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
It was a pleasure to read this book (a Book Group choice) after the grind of my previous one, an American crime thriller. It has a calm and poise which have not dated over the last 160 years. It also provides an interesting historical backdrop to a time of great change in English life and not only church life.

Inevitably there is some flowery nineteenth century prose, but this if anything adds to the book's charm. And you pick up interesting snippets of life in the 1850s, for example when the Warden visits London. The role of the press, specifically The Jupiter (aka Thunderer) with its hostility to the Church of England, is also interesting, particularly considering that it is based on The Times.

Also the book tells a good, gripping story, and a poignant one at that. I would not go so far as to call it a morality tale, but it is certainly a cautionary one. But the ending is not altogether unhappy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
Much was indefensible about old England, many old institutions were corrupt like the House of Lords, the public schools, the colleges at Oxford and Cambridge, the Wardenship at Barchester - and yet at an important level many of them worked. This was the problem Edmund Burke dramatised at the time of the French Revolution. Reason demanded that ancient privilege be swept away; but experience suggested that much practical good would disappear with it. How, in an Age of Reform like Trollope's, was a balance to be found?

This seemingly quaint and dust-covered novel raises issues still important in the 21st century.

Parts are moving, dramatic and most beautifully written. Other parts are rhetorical and windbaggish, for Trollope is an infuriatingly uneven writer. How little effort it would have taken him to reread, edit and turn it into a first rank novel throughout!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
My first taste of Trollope and absolutely bowled over with it. I read the first two novels of the Barchester Chronicles before deciding to take a break. After Dickens it's an absolute tonic, if only for the wonderfully drawn female characters, so lacking in the big D's novels. And what a style - so beautifully written in an almost effortless way. Stand by for a panoramic exploration of a C19th ecclesiastical world you never knew existed, and it's certainly opened my eyes to the machinations of the clergy. But, you know what, I also loved his gentle assertion throughout that morals and kindness DO matter and if I had a picture of the mild hero, precentor Septimus Harding, he'd definitely be hanging on my wall. Why isn't anyone called Septimus or Obediah anymore by the way?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2016
when I bought it I assumed it was a penguin classic by the appearance. THe print was too small to read. There was no comments or introduction. There were no page numbers. A warning to all that you need to check on the publisher before buying. I have warned my book group who all agree
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
this was (to my shame) first ever Trollope book. Found it a very mixed bag.

He writes beautifully and with quite a lot of sly dry humour .

His portrait of the actual Warden is an affectionate portrait of a bit of an old buffer who gets in a terrible tizz when the sp[otlight is shone too fiercely on him and is basically good at heart.

All this is positive but the negative is that there are enormously lengthy diatribes about the power of the press which are might be seential to drive home a messge but disrupt the flow of the narrative substantially. Sharper and so moreeffective, are the riticisms of the Church and it's representatives on earth.

Will certainly now go on to read the next in the series after a little break to get my breath back as there is a lot to tink about here.

But , set
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
I read Barchester Towers a number of years ago, not knowing it was the second book in a series. Having just finished reading The Warden, the plot is clearer to me and it will help me to better understand the story and the people as I read Barchester Towers again.

I really love Trollope's style and appreciate the background he provides for each character. He paints a serene picture of the landscape and life in a small village. Like most authors of his time, Trollope tends to go on about things before getting to the point, but it hasn't put me off in the least.

The Barchester series is highly recommended!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2015
An everyday tale of C&E clergy folk, as seen through rose tinted spectacles. It makes you proud to be British, it even has a moral at the end. Bloody marvellous.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2015
The quaint and precise turns of phrase, the eye for tongue-in-cheek detail, the neatness of the plot. All contribute to a charming and entertaining classic.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse