Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful guide to the Tudors
A readable, informative guide to the Tudors covering Henry VIII, VI, Edward etc; the battles; the religious conflicts of the day; and much more.
Published on 24 Feb 2011 by Andrew Buckle

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for reference
Whether or not you find this book interesting will depend on why you are reading it. For a serious History student who is looking for an almost year-by-year account of what went on in England between 1485 and 1603, it is brilliant. It is crammed full of details of what happened when. It looks in considerable detail at England's relations with Europe, especially France,...
Published 24 months ago by Livvy M


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for reference, 24 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: England under the Tudors (Kindle Edition)
Whether or not you find this book interesting will depend on why you are reading it. For a serious History student who is looking for an almost year-by-year account of what went on in England between 1485 and 1603, it is brilliant. It is crammed full of details of what happened when. It looks in considerable detail at England's relations with Europe, especially France, Spain and the Papacy, and also with her neighbours in Scotland and Ireland. The political as well as the religious implications of the Reformation are minutely analysed and assessed.

What is lacking is any real insight into the personalities of the Tudor monarchs and statesmen, or indeed any sense of what they were like as people. Nor is there any real feeling of what life was like for ordinary folk, so if what you are looking for is social history, forget it!

The language too is extremely dated (I believe the book was published in 1905), not to say convoluted. How many of us today use words like "nugatory". "coterminous" or "asseverate" ? And the sentence structure could have been set as tests in the good old days when English exams required the ability to do general analysis. (If you are under the age of fifty, this will be Greek to you!)

To sum up, brilliant as a reference work for students of this period, but a bit too dry and academic for the general reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful guide to the Tudors, 24 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A readable, informative guide to the Tudors covering Henry VIII, VI, Edward etc; the battles; the religious conflicts of the day; and much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 23 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted to read a publication, closely related to the Tudors - that period of history being my AS course, and this book has done its purpose. The entire work is a satisfyingly informative narrative, filled with the right balance of factual evidence, dates and similar features, which distinguish a good history book from a poor yawn-fest. Amid all that, it is also free. I urge historians of any class and aptitude to acquire this book, as it is a worthy addition to the library of any person interested in that period of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A concise history of the Tudors, 14 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A clear and concise overview of the Tudor period. No event is covered in the smallest amount of detail, but no major event is completely overlooked either. I would not recommend it as an introduction to the time as I believe that some prior knowledge is useful, but it is an informative book for those wishing to find out more about Tudor England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Over 100 years old and a nice addition to any collection of Tudor non-fiction ., 8 Mar 2014
By 
JK "Julie K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: England under the Tudors (Kindle Edition)
England Under the Tudors was published over 100 years ago and is typical of a publication from that era - written to inform rather than to entertain. Much more the type of research you might use to swat for an exam rather than a book you'd pick up for a little light reading.

Heavy going and the wide variety of additional notes to the text are a real distraction but; the book is packed with complex facts, sub histories and character detailing. Offers a wealth of historical fact for those willing to overlook the dated language and format.

I would suggest you have a Tudor family tree to hand as the constant reference to names and titles can be hard to follow, and remember, a pen and paper will certainly help.

Historical research, especially the Tudor era, has moved forward a great deal since this book was compiled. I would recommend you cross reference anything you find here if you need to be 100% accurate.

Not an easy book to work through but a nice addition to any Tudor collection and a free download!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is heavy going but packed with facts, 19 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: England under the Tudors (Kindle Edition)
I got the impression that it was a series of lectures to first year university undergraduates joined together into a book. The plot was hard to follow in detail as many names seemed to come out of the blue and require a little bit more background knowledge. The facts are all there and a history student could write a perfect essay on the Tudors by assimilating them and making it a little more readable. Towards the end of the book, which is quite long, Mr Innes diverts into items such as period playwrights some of whom hardly seem worth the mention. The whole book seems to be a build-up to the Elizabethan Age which is clearly his main expertise, in comparison Henry VIII and Edward VI get little coverage, there is not much about Henry VII's deposition of Richard III, James I, Elizabeth's succesor hardly any (but he was a Stewart not a Tudor).

In conclusion, If you are a student or enthusiast ready with a notepad and are prepared to concentrate hard you can copy down the facts that you will need and can then "flesh them out" by reading more personal volumes on the period. If you are reading for entertainment I recommend you look elsewhere. Extremely annoying, the punctuation of the kings always ends with a full stop so Henry VII. and you naturally pause because you have come to a full stop only to find that it is a convention not followed today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For a free book - GREAT. If I had to pay for it, I would be disappointed., 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: England under the Tudors (Kindle Edition)
Following a recent visit to Oxford, I wanted to learn a little more than my very limited knowledge of the Tudors. I found that this book was available free of charge in the Kindle edition. It has proved reasonably informative and I have gone on to buy a hardcopy version of Peter Ackroyd's "A History of England" Vol. II which also covers the Tudors.

As others have pointed out, this book was published over 100 years ago; the language and style is very dated. More irritatingly, it includes many footnotes and sidenotes. These appear in-line in the text, delimited by square brackets - they mess up the flow and are VERY irritating.

Added to this, for someone who isn't fairly familiar with the period, the frequent (albeit entirely necessary) reference to names and titles is confusing. As an aide-mémoire, I found a family tree for the Tudors online and printed it out. I also made on paper, a list of names, titles and significance as I went along. These two things have helped me enormously.

Since the book cost me nothing, it was extremely good value for money. However, I suspect that many would, like me, find this book hard going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not inspiring, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: England under the Tudors (Kindle Edition)
Very much a text book.
Reminds me why history was so difficult to study at school.
That being said, of its kind probably can't be faulted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars England under the Tudors, 2 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An extremely informative book. Well worth downloading and reading although there are a few spelling / typing errors within it and in places it can be heavy going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Facts, and more facts about the Tudors, 7 Sep 2011
By 
silverladysurfer (Richmond upon Thames) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great for historians but can be a little bit boring as you are acquiring 'facts' in a non-stop factual format. If you are a more 'visual' person, you can find it a bit much as there is a lack of interesting storyline linking the facts. But a great reference book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

England under the Tudors
England under the Tudors by Arthur D. (Arthur Donald) Innes
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews