Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite book
All of the reviews on this book are right - and yet they are wrong! For me, the central character is Adolphus Crosbie, a man with whom everyone must identify. Crosbie is a man who sees the right course and acknowledges it, but cannot stop himself from following the wrong one. Who cannot understand and sympathise with this? He finds something right, and true, which would...
Published on 25 Sep 2009 by bookelephant

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Small House at Allington
A delightful read. I had high expectations, having read other Anthony Trollope books, and was not disappointed. He has a lovely way of painting his characters,and a conversational style. For example, he may comment that he has not given a particular character particularly creditable traits, as it suits the story he has to tell, or perhaps has only provided a partial...
Published on 14 July 2011 by jacqueline


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite book, 25 Sep 2009
All of the reviews on this book are right - and yet they are wrong! For me, the central character is Adolphus Crosbie, a man with whom everyone must identify. Crosbie is a man who sees the right course and acknowledges it, but cannot stop himself from following the wrong one. Who cannot understand and sympathise with this? He finds something right, and true, which would make his life better, and help him to live his life better, but ultimately cannot resist the false glamour of an aristocratic marriage - even while he knows deep down that he despises the woman he is marrying and the things for which she stands. The passage after the wedding when he finds himself alone in the train compartment with Lady Alexandrina communicates the awful, empty, cold feeling that comes with acknowledging a great mistake like nothing I have ever read before or since.
Of course Lily Dale must not be forgotten, and she is indeed more than a symbol of simplicity and truthfulness. She reminds us that people make their own experience of love - it is not a "one size fits all" affair, and asks us the question about whether for some people love can only come once.
And of course being Trollope, along the way there are a variety of well fleshed out and engaging other characters (Earl de Guest is a particularly endearing one and Trollope saunters through himself, disguised as Johnny Eames), a few guest turns from old friends (Mr Harding stands as a moral fingerpost to Crosbie as he crosses the line between right (Allington) and wrong (Courcy Castle), and Lady Dumbello enjoys a quasi flirtation with a future hero, Mr Palliser), and lyrical descriptions of the beauties of the scenery.
Every page offers its pleasures and the book is a great joy. Finally, if you read it and like it, do try to get hold of a version with the original illustrations - by Millais- which are simply lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful and accessible, 5 Sep 2006
By 
Purple fox (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
Although this book could never be described as 'fast-paced', it's a wonderful book. Trollope's language is so simple, contemporary and beautiful. The characters are so human, and I found myself really sympathising, empathising, enjoying... and getting annoyed with them! The book is about relationships between people, kindness, bravery, hope and hopelessness, love and lovelessness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It is to me almost as though I had married him.", 16 April 2008
By 
Didier (Ghent, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This fifth novel in the Barsetshire chronicles has, as often with Trollope, an almost stupefyingly simple plot: Lily Dale is courted by the 'swell' Adolphus Crosbie who then, not one month after their engagement, drops her for the daughter of an earl. Lily is heartbroken but resolves she still loves Adolphus and therefore can accept no other man, even though a much worthier man soon presents himself in the person of John Eames.

In a nutshell, that's all there is to it. But, as also always seems the case with Trollope, out of this simple plot he weaves a beautiful tale that keeps you turning pages although nothing much really happens (definitely not by today's standards). How so? For starters, Trollope is a master at analyzing and describing the thoughts and emotions of his characters (most of them ordinary people like you and me), which makes them leap of the page like real-life people you know in the flesh and, often as not, you find yourself identifying with one or more of the main characters, wishing them well and hoping they'll succeed in their endeavours as if they were your own. In this case too, although you know from the start that nothing will come of it, you cannot help but hope that Lily will give up her stubborn behaviour and accept the man that truly loves her.

Secondly, altough in this case the main plot gives little room for mirth Trollope does introduce quite a lot of humour by means of the various subplots and secondary characters (the head-gardener Hopkins for instance, or earl De Guest). It's rarely the laugh-out-loud kind of humour (although there's a few hilarious scenes) but mostly rather subtle, which makes it none the less effective.

Last but not least, Trollope writes in a very fluent, easy style, describing everything in plain everyday language which makes it all the more 'real' and accessible. And for the odd reference to classical literature or other you can simply refer to the excellent notes at the end.

All in all, a very satisfying experience even though there's no happy end, making me start the sixth and last novel in the series ('The Last Chronicle of Barset') with that most odd mixture of feelings: happy to begin a new book that you know will be good, and simultaneously sad knowing it's the last in the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For some reason, I keep going back to it, 23 Jun 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Contrary to the synopsis given on this page this is actually the story of the nauseatingly perky Lily Dale who falls in love with the superficially glamorous Adolphus Crosbie, who proceeds to dump her unceremoniously in favour of the over-the-hill faded aristocratic de Courcy who he thinks will make his fortune (wrong). There is no sailor boy, or even ship, mentioned, as far as I can remember.
Other characters include the stupefyingly dull John Eames, who remains faithful to Lily despite her treating him like the village idiot, and the totally unmemorable Bella (Lily's sister), Bella's two suitors (one her cousin), and the most alarminly self-sacrificing widowed mother I have come across in Trollope.
Despite all this, however, I keep coming back to this book. There is about it a sort of fairytale mid-Victorian charm which completely offsets the total lack of charm of all of the central characters. This might also have something to do with its position towards the end of the marvellous Barchester Chronicles, the last (and next) of which is completely different and well worth a read even if you can't stand sickly heroines. There is a sickly heroine in the Last Chronicle of Barset but at least the girl has brains.
Trollope paints such a passive, traditional picture of his women that I'm surprised he wrote this book - normally he gives us women with a great deal of character. Many commentators have tried to persuade us that Lily has character, but frankly she never rises above schmaltz. One can only assume he was going through some marital conflict himself at the time...
One good thing about Lily, though, is that after her, Fanny Price in Mansfield Park (the book, not the ludicrous movie of the same name) seems like a feminist icon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars small house at Allington, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Small House at Allington (Kindle Edition)
I love the Barchester novels, and so enjoyed revisiting this book. Can only advise readers to try it - though Lily Dale should have been more sensible in her choice of life partner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A View of the 'House" after 150 years., 11 Dec 2013
By 
John Austin "austinjr@bigpond.net.au" (Kangaroo Ground, Australia) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Perhaps like me, you have been reading your way through `The Chronicles of Barsetshire'. After turning almost 600 pages in your reading of `The Small House at Allington', you'll have been in the good company of Anthony Trollope for five of the six novels in the series. In this fifth novel, however, you'll spend almost no time in Barchester, although some of its inhabitants show up from time to time. Expect to meet a new cast of characters.

Confrontations, curmudgeons and crises - things that Trollope can depict so well - are largely absent from this novel. Trollope resorts to the `Will A marry B?' plot formula and his exposition is long, slow-moving and lacking in suspense. What is unique however, in my reading of Trollope's novels, is his touching depiction of the searing heartache that a young woman may suffer when jilted by her lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The classics, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Small House at Allington (Kindle Edition)
Couldn't wait to read yet another superb book I can not get enough of trollopes writing keeps me reading into the early hours of the morning
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trollope, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Small House at Allington (Kindle Edition)
Love this book, I reread it after many years and enjoyed it as much as ever. The characters, who live in such a different world to ours, are real with understandable emotions and actions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 2 April 2013
This review is from: The Small House at Allington (Kindle Edition)
Ok, so I'm not a book critic. I'm actually 13 years old and only bought this book because it was free and recomended. But it's a brilliant book, and I'm surprised I had never heard of it before. A must-read, if a little time consuming(it's one heck of a long book!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good novel, rich in humour and with an interesting plot. Trollope, IMHO, is a novelist not less important than Dickens or Thackeray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Small House at Allington
The Small House at Allington by Anthony Trollope
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews