Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Sparkling, witty and original
Don't be fooled by the intimidating title - this is the most fun I've ever had reading a book. Full of penetrating wit and insightful paradox.
Published 11 months ago by Neil Roques

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars difficult to get into this
Hard going and a bit dated.
Published 2 months ago by Chris


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and stimulating, 9 July 2014
This review is from: Orthodoxy (Kindle Edition)
If you wander about how to make sense of the paradoxes of Christianity, 'Orthodoxy' is inspiring and stimulating to help you as it has helped me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sparkling, witty and original, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orthodoxy (Kindle Edition)
Don't be fooled by the intimidating title - this is the most fun I've ever had reading a book. Full of penetrating wit and insightful paradox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say? Forget the slightly archaic (yet ..., 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orthodoxy (Kindle Edition)
What can I say? Forget the slightly archaic (yet beautiful) prose, this is as fresh today as when it was written. Perhaps moreso. In a modern world where haste is only exceeded by shallowness, Orthodoxy still radiates an anchoring wisdom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Both educational and entertaining, 1 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orthodoxy (Kindle Edition)
Chesterton never fails to say what needs to be said and yet manages to say it with such eloquence and wit. Another wonderful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening, 20 April 2015
By 
K. D. Pill (Brentwood UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orthodoxy (Kindle Edition)
Original and thought provoking. I enjoyed it very much. I will be downloading more of Mr Chesterton's books very soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly modern, 1 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orthodoxy (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The thoughts put forward are highly relevant today and there is a certain quality captured by Chesterton that I have rarely found elsewhere. He gives the impression of being at once young and childlike but devastatingly rational and well read. I found some parts slightly more difficult to follow but that is due to his vast wealth of sources and knowledge compared to mine! Well worth a read, especially if you have enjoyed CS Lewis' Christian writings. You can't go far wrong when it's free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars difficult to get into this, 6 Feb. 2015
By 
Chris "Miggy" (treeton, rotherham UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orthodoxy (Kindle Edition)
Hard going and a bit dated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 16 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orthodoxy (Kindle Edition)
Well worth a read, Chesterton has a real knack for writing poetically. He writes with passion and violence for the things he believes. I've never read his books before, but I'll be reading more from now on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you loved C.S Lewis, you'll love this!, 11 April 2013
This review is from: Orthodoxy (Kindle Edition)
A great read. It really helped me to see how I can logically explain my faith to others. A must read for all thinkers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Orthodoxy
Orthodoxy by G. K. (Gilbert Keith) Chesterton
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews