Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars24
3.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 February 2001
I first came across this book when I was eight years old and have been reading it since,(this is not the sort of book you can truly appreciate if you read it in one go). This is a well established and organised puzzle book written by the famous victorian puzzler Henry Ernest Dudney. The book is arranged into different types of puzzles e.g Arithmatic, Geometric, Chess, Misc..etc. Each of the puzzles are written as a story or a riddle.Dudney presents each puzzle to the reader as a challenge and dares you to solve them, he also provides the solutions in an easy to understand and enlightening format. This book makes an excellant read on long journeys. If there has to be a downside it is that this book was written for a Victorian reader and this means you have to keep checking currency and measure differences, (Oh! and the rules of cricket esp. if you are American). But Dudney explains everything you need to know (even the rules of Cricket). This classic puzzle book is one you will come back to time and time again,I do.
0Comment34 of 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
Lots of different types of puzzles. Some easy, some hard. A couple of complaints. There are no diagrams in the book. Several puzzles refer to a diagram. eg No 76 states that the required information is 'shown in the illustration' but there is no illustration. Nos. 77, 78 & 98 are some others but mostly the diagram isn't essential to solve the puzzle. The other complaint, which is the norm for old puzzle books, the answer is given but often no explanation of underlying method of working. All in all, excellent for the price.
3/4/2014 I found the paid for version - with diagrams. If you like this free version you should go for the paid for version. At £2.30 it is well worth it.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
There are no drawings to illustrate the problems, this means you haven't a clue what the book is talking about
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2011
Unfortunately this classic collection of puzzles in the Kindle edition is marred by the absence of illustrations, making many of the puzzles and solutions incomprehensible.
11 comment9 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
The book in itself is quite good, and I understand most of the measurements used in the text, however the problems involving money use pound, shillings and pence. Updating would make the book more relevant to today's young mathematics students.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
great book but I found some of the problems beyond me and I did A level maths.
Possibly I outstretched myself but it is still a fascinating bookvand a great read.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
interesting to look at but found very hard thou it was writtern over seventy years ago some of the games are good.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
Its a fun book, but units used in the puzzles such as £ s d, pounds and ounces etc might be a bit off putting as will the reference to old coins which have not been in circulation for many years. Ok for people like me in the later years of life, but probably might be a step to far for the decimal generation.

Good value for money ( it was free).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
This publication allows very many rich starting points for teaching and learning! A lot of the diagrams referred to though are not in the book on the Kindle edition!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
This is nearly as bad as the printed version. It has NONE of the diagrams or illustrations referred to in many of the puzzles, making them quite useless.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.