Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
26
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 July 2014
I have recently embarked on our journey of Home Education (uk) after removing my two daughters from mainstream school (aged 6 & 8) I soon had to immerse myself into researching learning at home. This is by far the best round up of the whole Home Schooling / Educating movement that I have come across. Easy to read every piece of information is useful and it gives a fair round up of all styles and strategies from unschooling to the much more structured. My favourite aspects of the book are:

Clear headings in a well thought out order, easy to read and understand starting from the decision to homeschool right up to a walk through of each subject.

Advice for organisation and how to record notes and assignments, I will be using her system.

Great information on using a whole curriculum strategy with examples and resource lists and the tried and tested approaches she has taken.

I also liked the section on Charlotte mason which is leading me to really consider using that approach :) the first book that has given enough detail to get a feel of what it's like.

I also like the routine tips and time management advice. I have 3 girls so this will be a godsend.

Included are links to sites, resources and the best books for each category. These will save you time and money when you need good books.

Not only is this book packed full of every bit if information that you need to start your homeschool journey it's also full of encouragement and advice that will ensure you stay on the road to a happy, busy, fun learning experience with your children.

Thank you to the author Kelly from a newbie Home Educator of 3 daughters in the uk x
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
Rather than a long, drawn-out book about the ups and downs of homeschooling, this short account of what works well for Kelly and her family of very bright girls will have you feeling positive about making use of every day situations, events and experiences and turning them into learning opportunities.

This was a very inspiring read, and offers just the sort of reassurance I need to create a successful, yet flexible teaching schedule for my son.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
Everyone's experience and confidence in home schooling varies, but I have found that reading up on education and home schooling a great help. Together with joining local Home Ed. groups, Kelly Wallace and certain other authors help shore up ones confidence in a world that is generally suspicious of anyone who dares step outside the 'system'.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
I was disappointed with this book. I enjoyed the writing but there was so little information in it really. Did make you feel good about the idea of homeschooling and gives some ideas but I finished reading it in the course of one bath. However out of all the books I have bought on homeschooling its the only one my husband has contemplated reading! :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
Having decided to unschool my kids it's great to read a book like this that offers lots of positive encouragement to stick at it and shows how successful home schooling can be. There is plenty of practical advise and some great ideas. Although some what biased to the US most applies where ever you are. This book is more about home schooling though (rather than the more "radical" approach of unschooling) and really shows what it takes to set up something more like school at home. She has lessons and a curriculum for her kids.The fact that she manages with a large family and job is even more encouraging. It's also nice that she is quite frank about how hard it can be also. It's not the most comprehensive book out there but it's not too long and is well worth a read I especially if you need a bit of motivation and practical advice on how to start homeschooling, or on why and how you can keep it up for those who have already started.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2012
This was swell-written and very informative about home schooling, making the prospect sem much less daunting. Contains some great no-nonsense advice. It is well-structured and clearly written, contains some wonderful ideas for lessons and structuring your time,
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
I am British so find alot of books very hard to enjoy when they are from America, however this book isn't hard to read between the lines so would recommend as a reference book
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
This is a good book if you are thinking of home education - contains good ideas and resources. Main drawer backs are it is aimed at the American market so a few things aren't relevant for UK parents and its quite short, more detail would have been great. However, read quite a few home ed books now and would recommend this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2015
I have been homeschooling my sonsince he was 2. It is an adventure for both of us since we are both lerning together. It is daunting task though because it is my first child and I feel the weight of responsability. No regrets! However this book has given me the confidence to keep up and consolidate my methods and try other methods.
Thank you gor the simplicity of this book, but its depth is certainly helping me to be more creative and efficient.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
I've been thinking of home schooling my adopted daughter for some time to help her come to terms with her past. I saw it as teaching her life skills but after reading your story I have sold both my daughter and myself short. I can't wait to start and allowing my kido reach her full potential. Thanks a very hopeful mum xxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.