Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jaggy Splinters
Chris Brookmyre, as his book jackets now proclaim him, here releases onto the Kindle a short set of short stories more in keeping with the "Christopher" era - Jack Parlabane can be found in these e-pages, most entertainingly in a story where he squares up against the homeopathy industry and brings all his journalistic methods to bear.

In fact, most of the...
Published on 8 Jun 2012 by Mr. Shy

versus
25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I have been a long time fan of Chris(topher) Brookmyre and his creation Jack Parlabane and pre-ordered this on the strength of the product information mentioning that character. I thought I was getting a novel but should have read on because of course it is a collection of short stories. That in itself was disappointing but my fault for not reading all of the blurb and a...
Published on 11 Jun 2012 by Acapulco


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 11 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jaggy Splinters (Kindle Edition)
I have been a long time fan of Chris(topher) Brookmyre and his creation Jack Parlabane and pre-ordered this on the strength of the product information mentioning that character. I thought I was getting a novel but should have read on because of course it is a collection of short stories. That in itself was disappointing but my fault for not reading all of the blurb and a collection of "new" short stories would have been enough to relieve that

However, as the other reviews have pointed out, 4 of the 6 stories are available free on the authors web site. Of these Mellow Doubt is lifted almost entirely from A Snow Ball in Hell and Playground Football though amusing is not a story.

Of the two new stories place b. is a rant against the homeopathy industry with very little plot. He did a similar thing in Attack of the Unsinkable Rubber Ducks when ranting against psychics for almost an entire chapter. While I applaud the writing and sympathize with the choice of targets a rant does not a story make. He can be forgiven that (just)in a novel length story but not in a short.

The Resurrection is a good well written short story with all the blackness and wit we have come to expect but is very short.

The standard of writing is, as always, very high throughout but I don't think that a rant, how ever well written, and a very short story for 2.99 is good value. I'm therefore awarding two stars, one for each new story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jaggy Splinters, 8 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jaggy Splinters (Kindle Edition)
Chris Brookmyre, as his book jackets now proclaim him, here releases onto the Kindle a short set of short stories more in keeping with the "Christopher" era - Jack Parlabane can be found in these e-pages, most entertainingly in a story where he squares up against the homeopathy industry and brings all his journalistic methods to bear.

In fact, most of the stories included are good fun, though the final section recalling playgound football is less a of story and more of an amusing magazine article - and less of a good read for it.

However, at the time of writing, the majority of the content included in this collection is available on the author's website for free. So, if you are going somewhere with a Kindle but no internet, and need some new Brookmyre, then this will do nicely. Or, for the pre-mentioned homeopathy story, which isn't on the site and is worth a read. So, 5 stars for the content but 3 for value for (admittedly not much) money - an average of 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jaggy Splinters (Kindle Edition)
Disappointing - i was not expecting the short stories (i thought i was buying a novel) and their quality was extremely variable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jaggy Splinters (Kindle Edition)
I didn't realise this was just a collection of short stories. I should have read the other reviews, very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smile, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jaggy Splinters (Kindle Edition)
Want more of these great shorts.
Brookmyre makes sense, makes me smile, brings back memories of things that never quite happened but somehow sorry of did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Jaggy Splinters-Christopher Brookmyre, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jaggy Splinters (Kindle Edition)
I am great fan of Brookmyre and have read all of his books to date- this was a book of short stories and I was disappointed at the quality and the subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jaggy Splinters (Kindle Edition)
I thought I was buying a novel - not a small collection of short stories. Perhaps I should have read some reviews before purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not up to Brookmyre's usual standard, 11 Jan 2013
By 
Bob (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jaggy Splinters (Kindle Edition)
Having read all of Brookmyre's books and really enjoyed most of them I was disappointed with this collection of bits and pieces. It is only because I am a fan of the author that I read the whole thing, and I rather wish I hadn't bothered.
Do yourself a favour and spend your money on "Quite Ugly One Morning" or "Not The End Of The World" instead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I feel conned, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jaggy Splinters (Kindle Edition)
I wish I could demand a refund from Amazon -- I saw the name Jack Parlabane -- one of my favourite characters and then the price -- and one click later a collection of sub optimal short stories ggggrrrrr. Sharp practice Amazon! Perhaps Jack should investigate you. Mr Brookmyre -- if you were aware of this con trick then shame on you -- if not then give Amazon a slap!
Yours a disenchanted fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars nothing like as good as usual, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jaggy Splinters (Kindle Edition)
Normally, this guy's books are very good. This one is not. Despite the well aimed shot at homeopathy and other quackcrap, this book reads as if he wrote it before he was any good, and possibly before he was 16 years old, and had watched too many of Roald Dahl's tales of the totally expected on TV. Has the feeling of a book released because the author is now genuinely very good, so any old dross is OK. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jaggy Splinters
Jaggy Splinters by Christopher Brookmyre
1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews