Customer Reviews


586 Reviews
5 star:
 (431)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (39)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


369 of 393 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REVIEW OF 5-DVD SET - NOT ANY OTHER VERSION
At long last, "Blade Runner" gets the definitive treatment it needs. With a release as lavish and enormous as this, there is no possibility of an abusive triple, quadruple, or seventh-re-release : almost everything you could possibly want is here.

"Blade Runner" is one of the greatest science fiction films ever made : a period piece set in an impossible future,...
Published on 14 Dec 2007 by Mr. M. A. Reed

versus
37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An improvement, but could do better
Blade Runner, Ridley Scott's masterpiece of a dystopian future, is available again on DVD. Hoorah!

Well - not quite. The new release has a few improvements - after all, the original Warner Brothers release went straight into the film; you didn't even get a menu. But there are drawbacks too.

For a start, expect to do lots of button-pressing on your...
Published on 10 Oct 2006 by Chris H


‹ Previous | 154 55 5659 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great filn - shame about the DVD, 25 Oct 2001
By A Customer
Of course it's a great movie but the dvd is terrible. I don't know what kind of ratio this is set in but what you get is a flickering picture in a tiny hole in the centre of your screen. Don't waist your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark and thought provoking film on a pretty average DVD, 20 Mar 2004
By 
I absolutely loved this film for several reasons.
First of all, the complex narrative, that develops throughout the film through different perspectives of different characters, which includes several replicants and the blade runner, wonderfully portrayed by Harrison Ford, himself. This, in my opinion, achieves a multi-layered and never biased account of what is going throughout this film as the blade runner attempts to track down these replicants.
Secondly, whenever a specific sequence is made, such as Deckard's chase for the club performer or that replicant destroying its father, it is wonderfully structured as a sequence by establishing a master shot for that particular sequence by cutting in and out of the action to its master shot. Examples of this fine method of film-making is encountered with the owl being a sort of master shot when that replicant is destroying its "father", and the blade runner on that train and the dancer on those stairs on that chase sequence.
Thirdly, one of things that are not completely conventional of a sci-fi film is that it ends in an unusual, where Rick Deckard and Rachael are going down the elevator together. This brings out one question that has not really been answered throughout this film. Was Rachael a replicant? And if the answer was no, how come she somewhat failed that test, where they answer questions to a replicant suspect? But I am glad that this film ended this way, maybe because Ridley Scott, the director behind this cinematic masterpiece, wanted to leave that question unanswered and leave that to the audience imaginations making this film somewhat thought- provoking for the audience to conclude to their assumptions. But I will not as I might not be watching or analysing the film this way to answer this question, but, at the moment, I guess she is not. But, then again, if I ever watch this sci-fi treat again, I may come to a different conclusion.
Another thing that made me marvel this film was that ending sequence, where that replicant is hunting down Deckard in J.F. Sebastian's house. That whole pin in the replicant's hand really brought a disturbing exhibition of how the replicants cannot feel death, while this one wanted the ability to die. Then Deckard gets chased out of the house and on top of the roof of that building. He tries to jump over to other sides but instead is now grasping onto that girder. That low-angle shot, where Deckard is holding onto that girder over of busy city life of this futuristic cityscape, looks well composed and a very memorable shot from that whole film. This indeed does sums up the blade runner’s struggle to hunt down replicants perfectly.
Overall, this is a dark and thought provoking science fiction masterpiece, with a puzzling ending that should baffles audiences for generations of science fiction film fans to come.
Shame I cannot say that this will be the DVD they will be watching. There are no extras what so ever, unless you do consider the many foreign language subtitles as one, which I do not. So, as a DVD collector, I was a little disappointed of the average menu and lack of extra.
But, overall, this is a dark and thought provoking film on a pretty average DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blade Runner, 3 Feb 2012
I purchased this as a christmas present so cannot comment on the content of the dvd. It arrived well packed in the time
stated by the retailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blade Runner, 19 Oct 2010
By 
Andrew Goloskof "proffski" (UK Glos.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent, thoroughly enjoyed watching this yet again, APD has yet to discover the delights of this truly brilliant movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On its Way!!!, 1 Dec 2007
By 
Stephen Brooke (BISHOP AUCKLAND, County Durham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just had confirmation from Amazon that this has been despatched, hopefully here by Mon 3rd, can't wait
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunity, 19 Sep 2006
I already own the Directors Cut on DVD and the cinema version on VHS. I really want the cinema version on DVD and this would have been an ideal opportunity to put the soundtrack on the DVD for those of us that actually like it! It wouldn't have taken up much room on the DVD. Ho hum. I guess I'll just have to carry on waiting.

Two stars for the extra scenes but nothing more.

I suspect I'll be buying this anyway but I still view it as a missed opportunity. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 67 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Waiting eternally for DVD of Original Movie, 3 May 2007
By 
R. Brown (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For anyone like me who prefers the original version to the lacklustre 'director's cut' this version is another dissapointment. It seems that Ridley Scott is intent upon destroying all mention of the original version.

I demand a DVD of the original version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter Rubbish, 28 April 2008
By 
M. Aldred - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I watched this on a recommendation from a friend, i am a fan of Sci-Fi and Harrison Ford, but what a load of boring inane drivel. The film chugs along at a snails pace with no coherent story. I turned it off after an hour when i find the inventor of the Cyborgs, or whatever they are, murdered by his own creation. This important man with a huge building has no security at all to protect him! What a load of RUBBISH!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Im not sure, 30 Sep 2007
By 
Mark C. (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
but in some of the 'exploded' view photos-it seems to have all but the briefcase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YES YES YES!!!!!!!, 16 April 2001
By A Customer
It's about Rick Deckard. An ex-"blade runner", a special police squad. The LAPD hire him to execute 4 replicants. The LAPD called this "retirement".
This movie is an absolute must. If I had a chance I would give this movie 6 stars. Harrison Ford rules! ******
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 154 55 5659 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blade Runner: The Final Cut [Blu-ray] [US Import]
Blade Runner: The Final Cut [Blu-ray] [US Import] by Ridley Scott (Blu-ray - 2012)
49.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews