Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than expected.
Assassin's Creed Liberation is great, classic AC gameplay with stunning graphics in the palm of your hand. The heroine makes for a very different character from the likeable-but-cocky male assassins we've met so far - I won't go into too much of Aveline's background, but she gives us the opportunity to see a fresh take on 18th Century New Orleans through multiple guises...
Published 20 months ago by Blue Raven

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for fans of the series
Fairly impressive graphics considering the game is on a handheld platform, two large environments that are fairly detailed and interesting to explore. Gameplay is standard for the series, if you don't like the previous Assassin's Creed titles you won't like this one, the game also struggles to get a consistent framerate on the console.
Still a solid purchase.
Published 19 months ago by Matthew Cousins


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than expected., 2 Nov 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III: Liberation (PS Vita) (Video Game)
Assassin's Creed Liberation is great, classic AC gameplay with stunning graphics in the palm of your hand. The heroine makes for a very different character from the likeable-but-cocky male assassins we've met so far - I won't go into too much of Aveline's background, but she gives us the opportunity to see a fresh take on 18th Century New Orleans through multiple guises (equipped as an Assassin, or in disguise either as a lady or a slave). Each disguise/persona can use different equipment, has a different playstyle and will evoke different reactions from NPCs and targets. You can change your setup regularly at changing booths that you can unlock around the city.

The visuals aren't up to console standard, but handheld gaming has rarely looked better. Rich and varied environments are full of detail, and some of the new features of AC3 carry over to Liberation as well (we can now free-run through the trees in the Bayou swamp as you would across the rooftops of New Orleans). Lighting effects are good with better shadows than we have seen in previous Vita titles.

Controls are tight and responsive, and will be an easy transistion from the console tiles. There are some nice new elements to combat too with one technique triggering a slow-motion balletic sequence using multiple weapons to engage crowds of enemies - excellent stuff.

Sound quality is good (especially through in-ear headphones) and the voice-acting is solid and well accented.

Overall, Liberation has massively exceeded my personal expectations and if you have been waiting for a good reason to get a Vita...this is definitely it. If you already have one, then don't miss out.

N.B. There are a couple of negative reviews out on the internet with regards to framerate and sound bugs. Ubisoft issued a day-one patch that has pretty much eliminated these issues. This might account for the difference in review scores on Metacritic depending on whether the reviewers played the game pre-patch or post-patch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, again, slow start, but, wow!!, 1 Nov 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III: Liberation (PS Vita) (Video Game)
Great great fun. Havent put it down. At first anticlimaxed by the slow start, but from whence you get into it, BOOM!!!!!!

First really fantastic contribution to ps vita since uncharted and Fifa football. Fifa 13 could not have been more disappointing, but this has raised my spirits and belief in the vita. So happy i bought it. Great fun and really gripping. Better than uncharted. Smooth gameplay and new persona(s) give a whole new feel to the franchise. WOW.
Hope this is ok :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for fans of the series, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III: Liberation (PS Vita) (Video Game)
Fairly impressive graphics considering the game is on a handheld platform, two large environments that are fairly detailed and interesting to explore. Gameplay is standard for the series, if you don't like the previous Assassin's Creed titles you won't like this one, the game also struggles to get a consistent framerate on the console.
Still a solid purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh, s'alright, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III: Liberation (PS Vita) (Video Game)
This is a nice showcase for the vita (there isn't a hope in hell that this could run on ds, 3d or otherwise), but it doesn't have much heart and doesn't draw you in. assassins creed 2 remains unmatched in my view. but on its own merits, this game is great fun; though not for the full price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot better than expected, 1 Nov 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III: Liberation (PS Vita) (Video Game)
Not being a fan of AC games i bought this to justify having my Vita, I have to say that i havnt stopped playing it.

Graphics a very good and game play is smooth. Like another reviewer the game starts slowly but as you progress it gets better and better.

One of the main things for me is that combat so far has been really simple which makes the game a bit more believable for me and keeps the game and story going at a great pace.

Im now going to buy this for PS3 once finished as you there are linkable features.

Overall 10 times better than expected and one of the best games on Vita so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Assassins Creed Vita, 16 Nov 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III: Liberation (PS Vita) (Video Game)
Another much needed Great game for the vita, Very impressed with this and Call Of Duty : Black ops.
the console needs some more games of this standard, Visually great, Controls work well, Great gameplay. More please sony?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, if a little watered down., 1 Nov 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III: Liberation (PS Vita) (Video Game)
Wanted to write this review as I got the game early for various reasons, and to offset the other biased and unfair reviewer to help people make a better decision not based on his review.

Firstly, as I started the game the graphics reminded me of Uncharted: Golden Abyss, if less vibrant with muddier textures. Sadly I'm not sure if the game is at native resolution.
However, for these graphics issues the actual visual feel of the game is very realistic with great animation and character models, on par with U:GA's models but looking more 'real'.
Obviously for a handheld game this game is insanely detailed but for a Vita game I'd say it was just above average for the AAA games.

I found the gameplay extremely smooth and the combat also smooth, if a bit easier than ACII, but the fighting/killing animations are great. I think the fights are shorter so you can really get on with the actual storyline rather than constantly being bogged down with enemies.

So far the story is very good and I like the fact that it was created specifically for the Vita rather than a simple port from consoles however the maps seem slightly more restricted, at least at the beginning levels. New weapons (No spoilers!) are great.

The touch controls are pretty damn useless and seem like they were thrown in for a laugh.

To conclude, it's a damn good game so far. The tried and tested Assassin's Creed formula.

Will update when I've completed the game and tried the multiplayer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is it all hype?, 8 Nov 2012
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III: Liberation (PS Vita) (Video Game)
Assassin's Creed 3: Liberation was a much anticipated title for the Vita, but does it live up to the hype?

Intro: You start of as a younger Aveline who is the Assassin you will take control of for this game,. You are walking hand in hand with your Mother when she stops at a market stall, you are then thrust into the game and prompted to catch a chicken, when your just about to catch it your shoved to the ground by a guard. Seconds later your looking at the present day Aveline in a similar situation.

Graphics: Now theres absolutely no denying this game is gorgeous. The scenery is beautiful and so is everything else. It really is amazing to think such detailed could be squeezed onto such a small device, notice I said squeezed but we'll get to that later. The character models are detailed well, buildings vary from your brilliantly decorated to your small crumpling buildings and every area does tend to have its own feel.

Gameplay: Now is it possible that the whole Assassin's Creed experience has made the transition? Well the simple answer is yes, but that IS the simple answer. Although everything is here from free running, climbing, stalking, leap of faith, crowd interaction and even adds its own twists with persona's wyich allow you to tackle each mission differently, but it all takes a bit of a hit and the biggest reason is the framerate. One minute you'll be leaping from building to building at a pretty steady 30 fps but just 10 seconds later you'll probably end up with stop-start animation on the screen. Now this wouldnt be a huge deal if it occured few and far between but thats just not the case, if you get just 2 minutes of solid framerate then you are the most blessed Vita gamer out there.
Another hinderence is that there's just not any replayability in the game, the multiplayer is a strategic I dont know what to do game and side missions are scarce, offering roughly around 15-20 which take just minutes to complete. The only thing to prolong your gameplay is to try and platinum the game, but constant bugs and glitches which can even wipe your entire game make this a burden and more of a chore than fun.

Overall: Assassin's Creed 3: Liberation is a good game at its core, it has everything you could want on the go but its technical performance make the game hard to really enjoy and immerse yourself in and with no real replayability, expect to only play through the game once.
3.5/5 stars (no 3.5 rating)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III: Liberation (PS Vita) (Video Game)
great item, fast delivery and will recommend to all . thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III: Liberation (PS Vita) (Video Game)
its ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Assassin's Creed III: Liberation (PS Vita)
Assassin's Creed III: Liberation (PS Vita) by Ubisoft (PlayStation Vita)
17.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews