Customer Reviews


236 Reviews
5 star:
 (160)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but great?
If you haven't heard of Mario, you have been seriously deprived or living as a caveman for the past 25, or so, years.
I don't need to mention the story, because you already know it.
Obviously, Mario is not a game about dramatic plot twists and epic story lines.
But, it is damn fun and has kept Nintendo in business (as well as Zelda and Prof. Layton).
I...
Published 23 months ago by Alex Lay

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old Super Mario Bros.
My friends and I thoroughly enjoyed, 'New Super Mario Bros. (Nintendo DS)' for the Nintendo DS. The single player is good fun, with the familiar gameplay that is seen throughout similar past games in this series. However, this was the first time 3D and 2D elements were used in the series, which made it stand out more. It also has a fantastic multiplayer element to it,...
Published 15 months ago by Mr S. Anthony


‹ Previous | 121 22 23 24 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, fast-paced fun!, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros: 2 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
This is another great Mario game whose traditional 2D platformer look reminds me of the old Super Mario Bros. on the NES. Because of this it feels quite different to Super Mario 3D Land but basic gameplay is very similar. It didn't take too long to get through the first 6 worlds, although I am having trouble finding the entrance to the 2nd secret world which is frustrating as I want to access some different levels. It does get a bit boring playing the same levels over again, which is why I only gave it 4 stars instead of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, but why cheaper on amazon?, 28 Aug 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros: 2 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
First of all, I would like to say that I am not a long time mario gamer (I am 12.) I got NSMB1 when I was seven and thoroughly enjoyed every bit of it (it kept me entertained for like 6 months, and even now if someone has a cartridge i give a speedrun a go).
This game has so far proven to be very entertaining, and all the people complaining about only 6 worlds, well this game has the Mushroom World, the Flower World and the Star world, and an additonal coin rush mode and dlc promised, while NSMB only had 8 basic worlds, no special ones.
Coin rush mode is incredible fun. You get three courses to get as many coins as possible. Its fun beating your own record (mine is 26666) and just upping your coin total.
I have one concern though. I bought this game from the eshop, and it cost me 40 quid. Here its only 30 quid. So buy it at a retailer or from amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a breath pof fresh air when compared to 1 and wii, but still too much of the same, 17 Aug 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros: 2 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
definitley much more fun and challenging than 1 and wii, but lacking something groundbreaking. a fantastic game though and will last me over until paper mario
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun!, 17 Aug 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros: 2 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Mario is my all time favorite game. However, i do find this new game to be very similar to the previous Mario Bros and so this is why i haven't given it quite the five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros: 2 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
My son is very happy with his new game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clearly rushed, 25 Aug 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros: 2 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
With the upcoming releases of Luigi's Mansion: Something Something, Paper Mario: Sticker Star and New Super Mario Bros Wii U (Or whatever Nintendo decide to call it today), this game, for me, stood out from the crowd and was the game I was most looking forward to.

Unlike every other person on the planet, I thought New Super Mario Bros on the DS was awful. I thought the visuals were very ugly, most of the game was too easy, but some parts randomly ramped up the difficulty for no reason, the controls were awkward and the whole thing was too short. However, the next game in the NSMB series New Super Mario Bros Wii, more than made up for it. There were some great new power ups, the visuals and design had massively been improved and multiplayer was an absolute blast. Also, Super Mario 3D Land was a very addictive game, even if it failed to bring something new to the table.

The twist with this game is that...well...there are lots of coins. Everywhere. Loads of them. I originally though this was a good idea. In the early SMB games, if you collected 100 coins you would get an extra life (which was very handy, as if you died, you'd have to start the whole game again, as you will probably already know). However, with the invention of save points, lives in general have become pointless, and so have the coins in Mario games. So it's nice to see Nintendo actually doing something with them.

The problem with the coins, is that you still have to collect just 100 coins to get an extra life, meaning that after just about an hour you will be drowning in them, and while this may seem like a good thing, it splinters into lots of little problems. First off, the toad houses, after you've visited them can't be visited again, until you lose all your lives and everyting resets, but when you have so many lives, it's likely that you will never even see the game over screen at all. This is especially annoying when these contains some important items to find secret exits. The life overload also makes the game far far far far FAR too easy and dull.

There have got to be some new items right? Well the only proper completely new one is some flower which fires golden fireballs, and turns blocks into coins (can't remember what it's called). It sounds good, and it kind of is. I doesn't help with the coin overload, but it is satisfying to see all the walls of blocks turn into coins with a loud bang. There's also the return of the Racoon Suit (Which is mosly just used to glide down, and hit enemies. There's about 2 opportunities to use it to fly), the Super Mushroom (I'm currently at World 5 (Both special worlds unlocked) and have come across 2 of these in the whole game) and the Mini Mushroom (Which is quite common and works just like it did in NSMB, it's actually a welcome addition). There's also a strange block thing which lets out a trail of coins wherever you go. The faster you run, the more coins you get.

While the graphics stand somewhere in between NSMB and NSMBWii, and are fine. The 3D effect is one of the worst I've seen. It just turns the background into a colorful blur and makes the game seem bland. It's best to have the 3D off, which defeats one of the main reasons this game was released.

The level design is nothing special. Doesn't hold a candle to NSMBWii's levels. There's no gimmicks or anything interesting or new. The levels are just okay. It just feels like a bunch of the levels you usually ignore in the other games.

The difficulty level is similar to NSMB's. Which is just far too easy. An experienced Mario fan could complete it in about 3 hours.

The main positive with the game (And also the reason this is a positive review) is that the game is still addivtive and pick-up-and-playable. It's a fun little timewaster that will cost you around 30 - 40... but still! It's just a nice thing to play on the train for a bit.

The game is also very colourful, which adds more to the game that you might think. NSMB was bland and dull, and that put me off playing very often, but this is gold and shiny! And who could dislike that sound when you collect a coin!?

This game is basically a 3 - 5 hour time waster, which will cost you around the price of a console game that lasts dozens of hours. And, as Nintendo don't lower their prices, I can only recommend this game to die-hard fans or perhaps very young children who have just started playing games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Transaction, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros: 2 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
A1 all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros: 2 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
My son thinks its poor especially the last level. He thinks dry bowser isn't bowser but i'm not sure. i think it is poor and he wasted his b day money. DON'T BUY. EVEN 1ST ONE IS BETTER THAN THIS
:(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3ds game, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros: 2 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Apparently this game is excellent!!! As I don't play I find hard to comment but my daughter for whom this was bought for has not been seen since the game was opened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New super mario bros 2, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros: 2 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I love this game. It is so addictive. I would recommend all Mario fans to purchase it ! Great value for money too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 121 22 23 24 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Super Mario Bros: 2 (Nintendo 3DS)
New Super Mario Bros: 2 (Nintendo 3DS) by Nintendo (Nintendo 3DS)
29.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews