Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars402
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£29.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 August 2012
If you haven't heard of Mario, you have been seriously deprived or living as a caveman for the past 25, or so, years.
I don't need to mention the story, because you already know it.
Obviously, Mario is not a game about dramatic plot twists and epic story lines.
But, it is damn fun and has kept Nintendo in business (as well as Zelda and Prof. Layton).
I don't know how long they can keep doing what they do.
Mario Kart, Smash Bros, Super Mario Bros. etc... On each console.
But for now, it works and it keeps me buying their stuff.
On a side note, I also have an Xbox 360.

Anyway.. The game is good, but nothing you've not already seen.
Anyone who likes Mario should like this, but some may find it disappointing because there's nothing really 'new' about it.
A lot of reviews already point out the problems with the game, so here's a summary:

- It's pretty short, depending on how you play the game
- Still has no online co-op/multiplayer. Nintendo are lagging behind with this, always
- You have FAR TOO MANY lives and don't have the worry of seeing a game-over screen, which can make gamers feel determined to carry on playing
- It seems like Nintendo have tried too hard to make a game easy enough for kids
- The boss battles are pretty much a joke to be honest
- Toad houses offer nearly nothing... Apart from power ups you easily get during levels, and More damn lives!
- The coin thing is a bit ridiculous. The new powers ups are fairly fun, I suppose, but is it worth trying to find 1 million coins? I personally don't know the 'reward' for doing this, apart from wasting some precious time
- The 3D is rubbish and you end up turning it off. After Super Mario 3D land, this is very disappointing.

The good though:

- It is Mario, and you can always count on the Mario games being fun
- The colours and overall presentation of the game is very nice
- It may be predictable, but the game is still very fun
- It's another game that makes the 3DS worth getting
- The game does have some replay value. It has that arcade feel to it. Those that enjoy going for time trials, or collecting as much coins as possible will enjoy this the most.

Overall, it is a good game.
Not great though.
For someone who is deciding between games, and has little money, definitely play Super Mario 3D land over this.
If you've always enjoyed Mario games, that won't stop here.

Happy plumbing.
88 comments|47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
There's not a lot more to add over the previous reviews. My son plays it a lot (as do I at the moment), but the killer was the multiplayer option. Having played him at the first Super Mario Bros DS a bit, and the mini games, we expected the same download play ability from this game. However, it differs in two main aspects:

1) The play is co-op play only,
2) Here's the killer - you both have to have a game cart.

In itself, it's a good game. Yes, it's more Mario. Yes, it's formulaic. But sometimes the simple jump-on-bad-guys platformer is all you need, and let's face it, sometimes we get my game boy out and play Super Mario Land 2 :-)

I would have given it 5 stars were it not for the multiplayer stuff (and the fact it cost me twice). I wish they had kept the head-to-head and download-play of the first game, perhaps adding a co-op play as well.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
As a huge Mario fan i personally found this fairly dissapointing, the game was so easy to complete. Im Sure a 5 year old can easily complete this. Nevertheless the game was still good but has some elements to improve on.

The Good:
-Super Mario has maintained its fun by using new power ups keeping the game fresh and non repetitive
-The 1,000,000 coin target keeps you playing to the last coin
-Toad houses still as fun as they always are!
-Available to download maps for the game

The Bad-
-STILL NO MULTIPLAYER
-same basic storyline
-3d is poor and pointless

Overall-
I dont really know how long Nintendo can continue to make games still, but if i were to choose between super mario bros 2 and 3D land, defiantly consider 3D land however still in my books..

4/5
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
It follows the very successful Mario platformer formula, and it's fun to play. It's challenging in places, but probably not so challenging that you'll get frustrated. If you do get stuck, there's the invincibility powerup available if you choose, so you can essentially skip the level.

There are 9 worlds in total in the story (although story-wise there isn't all that much going on; Peach gets kidnapped, Mario rescues her, etc.), so not as many as Super Mario 3D Land, and the game suffers a little bit because of it; collecting all the Star Coins (3 per level to collect, and different to regular coins) takes some time, as does finding the secret exits to certain levels, but all-in-all it feels a little short. Not so short that I'd discourage buying it, however.

It also has another mode, called Coin Rush, where it selects three random levels, and you have a small amount of time and only one life to collect as many coins as you can. You can set records in this mode, and people you meet by StreetPass can challenge them. The aim of the whole thing (including story, although Coin Rush is where you'll get most of your coins) is to reach one million coins, but this feels like more of a side-quest, or something to encourage replaying the game.

There is DLC available for Coin Rush which introduces new courses. It costs about £2 per pack, and can be downloaded from the Nintendo eShop on your 3DS. The game doesn't feel lacking without the DLC, however; the DLC feels like additional content which is very optional. It gives you more to play with in Coin Rush, but there is enough to be going on with without it.

There are 3 save files available, so more than one person can have a story-mode game concurrently, too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
[UPDATE: Originally I wrote this review before the release of "New Super Mario Bros. U". The utter brillance of the fourth entry in the "New Super Mario Bros." series has caused me to re-evaluate my initial assessment of "New Super Mario Bros. 2". While certainly not bad games, the two hand held Marios simply do not match the quality of the suberb Wii U title. While the 2009 "New Super Mario Bros Wii" is not as good as "U", :Wii" stands hands and shoulders above the two handhelds. What does all this mean?

I think the issues with "New Super Mario Bros. 2" could very well be a resource [iisue] management problem. Nintendo had two separate development teams, one for "U" and one for "2", with the more experienced on "U". This experience shows. Also, the fact that "U" comes out a mere four months after "2" does not bode well for "2", because the game is fressh in people's minds, and they realise just what a huge difference there truly is between "2" and U" While "2" feels like simply another by the numbers Mario 2D side scroller, "U" feels truly evolutionary, taking Mario finally beyond the pinacle of "Super Mario World", his best 2D game. Perhaps Nintendo should have saved "2" for a later time and with more expereinced teams]

I love Mario, I really do. For those looking for a fun game, "New Super Mario Bros. 2" has that in spades . . . but for this gamer, Nintendo is just offering up more and more of the same in regards to the "New Super Mario Bros." series. If you've played the other two titles in the "New" series, then you've literally seen everything here already (with only very minor exceptions). Originally the game was to be entitled "New Super Mario Bros. Gold", due to the emphasis on coin collection; while the title would have been appropriate, like the 1986 "Lost Levels", "New Super Mario Bros. 2" is exactly that - an expansion pack (not a real sequel) to the original DS title.

I've been playing Mario games since 1985 with the original, and have been with the series since the beginning. When reading about "New Super Mario Bros. 2", naturally I was excited but also somewhat apprehensive. Afterall, the screens looked a lot like what we've seen before in "New Super Mario Bros." and "New Super Mario Bros. Wii".

And for good reason. Not only does "New Super Mario Bros 2." play identical to the original and its home console brethern . . . it uses the same graphics and many of the same assests. After my initial playthrough I felt like I was just playing more levels of the same game that is simply ever expanding.

"New Super Mario Bros. 2" [marks] is a true turning point for Mario. This game marks the point where Mario becomes Mega Man, a video game icon who goes through an ever expanding, seemingly endless game. In a way it's nice to see SOMEONE (even if it is Mario) takes Mario's place, as Mega Man has not been seen since 2010, and since Kieji Inafune left Capcom, Capcom apparently abandoned Mega Man, at least for some years (although they have expressed committment to the Blue Bomber, but still no "Mega Man Legends 3" or "Mega Man Universe"..

When Capcom released "Mega Man 9" in 2008 and "Mega Man 10" in 2010, people thought about Nintendo making an fifth 8-Bit Mario game. I do not believe this happen, simply because the six NES Mega Man titles were the same, and the "Super Mario" games were very unique in comparison to one another (obviously with the exception of the original and "The Lost Levels", but "Super Mario Bros. 2" and "3" were amazingly different).

Well, what Mario did not do in the 8 or even 16-bit era, he is now doing with the "New Super Mario Bros." series, and across multiple platforms. With "New Super Mario Bros. 2", Mario has joined Mega Man's creed of more and more of the same. While all solid, the last three NES "Mega Man" titles were not up to the same quality as the first three. Likewise, while offering solid gameplay, the "New Super Mario Bros." series seldom rises above merely good to great.

PLOT: The plot is simple . . . sort of. Bowser kidnaps Peach (there's a shocker) and it's up to Mario to save her. Same story for the past twenty five years, so why change now? What's new though is now there is a strong emphasis to collect coins, with the goal of 1,000,000 set firmly before the player by Nintendo. The coin aspect feels mokre like this is a Wario game than a Mario game.

Mario has always had coins, but never like this. There are coins everywhere. Just like earlier titles, if Mario collects one hundred coins he gets a 1-UP, so the net result is by the time you finish you will have extra Marios running out your ears. And trust me, when you DO get the million coins, you will be left shaking your head. The "prize" is utterly pointless, and when I found out about it my motiviation promptly left me to collect the coins.

LEVEL DESIGN: There are six main worlds with two secret worlds that you can unlock (just like the original DS title). The first world is the basic field world, very similiar to World 1 from NSBMW, with just more levels. World 2 is the Desert World (just like the second world form SMB3). World 3 is the ocean and forest level, World 4 an ice themed world, World 5 is a sky world, and World 6 is the volcano world. There are then three special worlds: the Mushroom World, the Flower World, and the Special World (which you can gain access too by having 90 star coins after beating Bowser and the end of World 6). If you look at the list of worlds, ALL of them have already been used in "New Super Mario Bros. Wii" and "New Super Mario Bros.", and several of the themes harken back to "Super Mario Bros. 3".

GRAPHICS/AUDIO: Graphically, the game is largely indentical to "NSMBW". When I was playing through the levels I kept feeling that I was just replaying the Wii title.

COIN COLLECTION: While Mario has always had coins to collect, the main gimmick of this one is to collect as many coins as you can, and even getting a special reward for collecting one million coins. Once upon a time, coins meant something - they provided extra lives. Now, they are literally everywhere, and each level feels like an excuse to grind for coins. Ultimately, the gimmick falls flat. The main goal is to collect one million coins - yet when you do, the "reward" is so vapid and so inspid you can't help but be disappointed. After the initial playthrough, I had 40K coins.

CONCLUSION: Nintendo does not make bad Mario games. While the "New Super Mario Bros" games (at least the two hand helds) are never truly remarkable, both are tremendously fun. However, they feel like "Mario by numbers", and deliberate cash-ins on Mario's NES/SNES hey day.
.
.
-----
[Originally written as part of my review for "New Super Mario Bros. 2", I wrote this small essay explaining the state of the "Super Mario" series from 2006-2012, and how different Nintendo has handled their core franchise in this time period as opposed to their earlier titles}

The State of Super Mario:

The Super Mario franchise has been in a strange place from 2006 to 2012. There has been an onslaught of Mario games that has been unprecedented during this time frame. We have gotten seven games in six years. These are "New Super Mario Bros." (2006, DS), "Super Mario Galaxy"(2007, Wii), "New Super Mario Bros. Wii" (2009, Wii), "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (2010, Wii), "Super Mario 3D Land" (3DS, 2011), "New Super Mario Bros. 2" (3DS, 2012), and "New Super Mario Bros. U" (Wii U, 2012).

Let's compare that to Mario's first titles. From 1985 to 2002, Nintendo released exactly eight games in the core franchise: "Super Mario Bros." (1985), "Super Mario Bros. 2" (1988), "Super Mario Land" (1989), "Super Mario Bros. 3" (1990), "Super Mario World" (1991), "Super Mario Land 2" (1992), "Super Mario 64" (1996), and "Super Mario Sunshine (2002). The only other addition you could make to this would be "Super Mario All-Stars" compilation from 1993 on the SNES, where players outside of Japan got to play "Super Mario Bros: The Lost Levels" (AKA "Super Mario Bros. 2" in Japan and first released in 1986 on the Famicom Disk System) for the first time. It is notable however that "The Lost Levels" was released in a compilation format and not as a stand-alone title, unlike the other titles.

Of course, there have been various spinoff titles, such as "Dr. Mario", the Mario Kart series, the Mario RPG titles, etc. Of these spinoffs, there have been some great titles, but they are spinoffs nonetheless (such as the 1995 "Super Mario World 2: Yoshi's Island" and 1993 "Super Mario Land 3: Wario Land". Both of these titles are fantastic, but they're not Mario games: one is a Yoshi game and one is a Wario game respectively, and both are their own starting points in a separate subseries of the Mario universe).

What's important to note is from 1992 to 2006, a time period of fourteen years, we got exactly FOUR games. Four years separate "Super Mario Land 2" from "Super Mario 64", SIX years separate "Super Mario 64" from "Super Mario Sunshine", and another four years separate "New Super Mario Bros." from "New Super Mario Bros."

So what does all this have to do with "New Super Mario Bros. 2"? Well, simple, really. Starting with the SNES, Nintendo made Mario a one game per console title (with the exception of the Gameboy). Mario games were EVENTS, especially in the 1990s and 2000s. One reason why "Super Mario Sunshine" was such a big deal was because it was the first time we got to play a new Mario game in six years. That's a long time.

Even with "New Super Mario Bros.", there was a sense of momentous occasion upon its release in 2006. Why? Because a full fourteen years had passed since Nintendo had released a side-scrolling Mario.

Well, now Mario games aren't really events anymore. We're being saturated with Mario games in the core franchise. From 2006 to 2012 we have gotten a Mario game every year. What's REALLY CRAZY is that Nintendo has released THREE Mario games in a 12 month span (SM3DL, NSMB2, and NSMBU). That is such a contrast from the 1990s.

Apparently, Nintendo has decided to go with quantity over quality. With only one exception ("The Lost Levels", which is little more than an expansion pack for the first game), each new Mario game from 1985-2002 brought something new to the table and were all pretty different from each other, while still retaining the same great gameplay Mario is known for. Each title was different and unique, while still being brilliant. Hard to pull off, but Nintendo did it.

Now, looking at the last seven titles, Nintendo has shifted their MO (modus operandi). Rather than drastically change anything up, they use the same resources and game engines across multiple titles (much like the six NES "Mega Man"titles), a thing unheard of in previous Mario games. Four of the titles are "New Super Mario Bros." \\The new Mario titles can be broken up into thee groups - the four "New" titles (2D Sidescrollers), the two "Galaxy" titles, and "3D Land". Of these, only the "Galaxy" games and "3D Land" are truly revolutionary. Strangely enough though, even the "Galaxy" games fall into this trend of as much Mario as possible. Never before as Nintendo released a numbered sequel to a 3D game, and playing "Galaxy 2" really does feel like you are playing "Galaxy 1.5", just more ideas built on the Galaxy theme. Now, to be fair, both Galaxy games are among the highest rated titles out there among reviewers and players alike, both are endlessly inventive, and personally I think "Super Mario Galaxy 2", as of 2012, stands proudly as one of the best games Nintendo has ever released, rivaling even "Ocarina of Time". In context of this discussion, however, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" does show Nintendo in hyper-Mario mode, but when the games are this good, you can't help but smile. Likewise, "Super Mario 3D Land", a stylistic bridge between 2D and 3D, along with fantastic stereoscopic 3D gameplay, is another fantastic title as well.

That leaves us with the four "New Super Mario Bros." games [of which there are four]. So many gamers were happy about "New Super Mario Bros.", simply because we hadn't had a proper 2D Mario in well over a decade. The game was a tremendous seller. Deliberetly styled as a retro-throwback, "New Super Mario Bros." followed the gameplay of the NES/SNES titles we all know and love, yet in retrospect, overall the game was short and easy and didn't really bring any new innovations to the series. "New Super Mario Bros. Wii", the first home console 2D Mario game in eighteen years, likewise followed the early Mario titles' gameplay, albeit with modern graphics and some new design decisions to appeal to modern day gaming sensibilies. Still, the Wii version played like a souped "Super Mario Bros. 3", this time with chaotic multi-player. For all the hype on the multi-player aspect, Mario's course feel designed for a single player; when you add three additional players the courses begin to feel claustrophobic. However, multi-player is tremendously fun, even though there is no online.

While the decision to release three Mario games in a calender year's time is simply unprecented, two of these are for the 3DS and one is for the Wii U. Nintendo has stated that for each console, they plan to make at least one 2D and 3D game. While "Super Mario 3D Land" is a brilliant tremendously fun title, releasing "New Super Mario Bros. 2" a mere eight months after is simply strange, especially given that four months after "New Super Mario Bros. 2", Nintendo released "New Super Mario Bros. U". The close proximity in which they were released also just intensifies the already gaping differences between the two games; while "2" is about the most generic Mario title ever, "U" stands as one of Mario's greatest 2D accomplishments.

Only time will tell if Nintendo continues Mario's heavy release schedule. While there are no "bad" Mario games (with the possible exception of "Super Mario Sunshine"), the frequent titles show Nintendo is more interested in monetizing Mario (at least, the 2D titles), than truly innovating. Hopefuly, they will find a way to return to the innovative design that has so defined their Mario output in bygone years. If the "Galaxy" games, "3D Land", and "New Super Mario Bros U." is any indication, then Mario's future remains as bright as ever.

*** Mario is becoming Copy and Paste
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
Got for my birthday and it was much better thani though, i'm addicted to coin rush mode. The prequel to this game was my favourite on the ds and i was gutted when i finished it but now i'm living the adventure once again
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
It is a really good game -basically a 3d version of New super Mario bros from DS, it looks amazing in 2D and 3D. Mario has been given a new 3D look which is really fun to play with. however after playing the majority of the game I got a little bored as it was all the same, and there's no challenge as there are so many coins there is no way you could loose all your lives! good for younger children who find these games hard, as the many coins will give them endless lives
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
My friends and I thoroughly enjoyed, 'New Super Mario Bros. (Nintendo DS)' for the Nintendo DS. The single player is good fun, with the familiar gameplay that is seen throughout similar past games in this series. However, this was the first time 3D and 2D elements were used in the series, which made it stand out more. It also has a fantastic multiplayer element to it, featuring a wide variety of fun mini-games, with the addition of a two-player Mario Vs. Luigi game, where players need to collect the most amount of stars in a given time limit across a selection of levels.

'New Super Mario Bros: 2' for the Nintendo 3DS is a step backwards. The gameplay stays the same, which I suppose is to be expected but for me, I wanted something more. Something that I could say, "Yes, this is an improvement on the first game." However, this never came through. There is no multiplayer section, no fun mini-games to play with friends; just a single player coin rush mode - which to obtain additional courses you mostly have to purchase them separately! If you've spent thirty pounds on a game, then I believe you should not have to purchase additional content that could have easily been put on the game, when it was first released.

I recommend renting this game, and if you want a better experience then I can highly recommend, 'New Super Mario Bros. (Nintendo DS)' for the Nintendo DS.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
I have thoroughly enjoyed playing through the levels of this game. This is one of the first games in the mario series that I have played and it definitely made me try out the others. Endless fun and is definitely suitable for both experienced and unexperienced gamers, we've had a lot of fun in our household passing it around the family and everyone seems to have really enjoyed it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2012
SMB2 is very similar in game play to the DS version. The graphics have received an overhaul, resulting in sharper graphics. The 3D effect is extremely minimal to the point where you can turn it off and notice very little difference. This is disappointing given the fact its a game for the 3DS. There are six worlds in SMB2 and 3 bonus worlds which can be unlocked by finding secret routes. There are also a number of special rainbow levels, which can be found by hitting the flagpole at a precise time. In terms of difficulty, some of the levels are far too short and too easy to complete but the game does get more chllanging as you progress. Although it's a good game, a lot of emphasis has been put on coin collecting and this can be annoying at times particularly when there are 100's of coins flying around the screen. The game is also too similar to the previous DS version and unlike the DS version, there are far fewer alternative game modes included in the package. 4/5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 12 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.