Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miyamoto strikes again.
This game is a must have for any Wii U owner.

It's fun to play, the gameplay is easy and anyone whether experienced or inexperienced can pick it up and play, the environment is beautiful and engrossing, Pikmin 3 shows just how much attention to detail and care has gone into the creation of the third Pikmin installment.

There are three modes, story...
Published 12 months ago by JB

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, but short
I really love Pikmin and have both games for the Gamecube. Pikmin 3 was one of the games that I was most excited about getting for my Wii U.

The charm is definitely still there. It oozes it, and draws people in. I had friends staying over and they were all entranced by the game. I'm excited to get another wiimote and nunchuck to play multiplayer.

I...
Published 5 months ago by Alessandro


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miyamoto strikes again., 28 July 2013
By 
JB (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pikmin 3 (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
This game is a must have for any Wii U owner.

It's fun to play, the gameplay is easy and anyone whether experienced or inexperienced can pick it up and play, the environment is beautiful and engrossing, Pikmin 3 shows just how much attention to detail and care has gone into the creation of the third Pikmin installment.

There are three modes, story mode, mission mode and bingo battle. Story mode follows the trials and tribulations of three astronauts who have crashed landed on an unknown planet in search of food for their planet. With the help of Pikmin, the astronauts need to gather enough food to feed their planet.

Mission mode offers the player the chance to improve their Pikmin playing skills with short games i.e. 'gather the fruit' and 'battle the boss'.

Bingo Battle is the multiplayer mode where each player is given a bingo card and must ensure they get a bingo and stop their counterpart getting a bingo.

Not to waffle on but this game is fantastic and if it's any indication of the games coming out on the Wii U then I'll be one very happy gamer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best game in the last 10 years, 28 July 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pikmin 3 (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
I just finished playing Pikmin 3 before writing this review and everything about it is superb. It has that charm and Nintendo magic which creates such a beautiful engrossing world.

Lots of controller options, AMAZING graphics not possible on PS3 or 360 and when completed there are challenge modes plus excellent multiplayer to get into.

If you are already a next gen owner (Wii U) then this exclusive is a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest Wii U games so far, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pikmin 3 (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Very original gameplay similar to the old Pikmin games for the Gamecube, with depth and tactics you wouldn't expect behind such a colorfull and childish appearance. A must buy for any Nintendo fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing game, truly lives up to 1 & 2., 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pikmin 3 (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Pikmin 3 is an amazing game, I have been waiting a veeeery long time for this game since I finished 2 when I was still in school, now I'm about to start university so I've had many years of waiting for this and hyping it up and it makes me glad that I can say it was very much worth the wait.

The gameplay controls like a dream with the Wii Remote + Nunchuck, the graphics (apart from some textures) are amazing, especially the Venomous Phosmoth and all of the foliage (especially in the rain).

The music is much like Pikmin 1 and 2, very relaxing and surreal like the environments themselves and great to listen to.

The games only real issue is the length of the story, being much shorter than Pikmin 2 but probably longer than 1 (I can't quite recall), it is entirely replayable however and you will probably want to go through it again at the end.

Mission mode is the challenge mode from the previous games, it has three modes in it which are Collect Treasure, Defeat Enemies and Boss Battle, each mode has five missions in it which you can get either a Bronze, Silver, Gold or Platinum medal depending on how well you do.

I was pleasantly surprised by this mode as it took me a good while to get platinum medals on everything, I assumed since modern Nintendo didn't make things all too difficult anymore it would be a cakewalk but it certainly wasn't as I had to learn the intricacies of each mission map to finally, after many, MANY tries to get my hands on a Platinum medal.

All in all this is unquestionably the best game the Wii U has on it right now and I sincerely hope this is an indicator of the quality of future Wii U titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've started having dreams with Pikmin in them!, 26 Nov 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pikmin 3 (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Just noticed I've clocked up 70+ hours on Pikmin3 and I still have lots to do. Thought it only fair to recommend this to others.

Game play is straightforward and engrossing. Whilst playing I'm oblivious to the fact that I am playing a Real Time Strategy game - I am immersed in marshalling my wee Pikmin and toggling between the astronauts to complete the tasks with the best attributes for each job.

I have played the Story mode which is really nice. The presentation and excellent environments are a joy to explore.

But by far - most of my time is spent on the Mission modes. Pushing myself to get gold awards, and in some cases platinum. Once I was hooked on the Collect The Treasure missions I bought the additional download levels the day they came out (I think the extra levels were under 2, money well spent). I still have the Enemies and Boss Battle missions to explore - and there is more download content for those too.

I played the first mission numerous times to prove to myself that all the treasure could actually be collected in the allocated time. Delighted when I got platinum award - I assume this is awarded when all the treasure is collected and a bonus award depending on how much time remained on the clock.

There's a nice Ranking graph which shows your best score for each level in comparison to ALL the people who have played it - there are some astounding scores in there! Another incentive to persevere and attempt to better each performance.

I hope Nintendo are creating more Collect the Treasure missions as these are my current favourites.

Who'd have though strategy could be so much fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet gaming joy with plants, 23 Aug 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pikmin 3 (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
I remember sitting down playing the original Pikmin game on my GameCube and was in awe at how something so simple became instantly addictive.

Jump forward to the current day and I have been playing Pikmin 3 since launch. The game continues the trend of having a day structure that while initially seems an odd choice allows for quick play sessions which is a massive addition.

So for those new to Pikmin, the game sees you find a odd species of plant life called Pikmin. They have a variety of styles and each has a strength and weakness. As you explore the land you will encounter the various pikmin and with a blow of your whistle or a plucking session you will soon be commanding an army of 100 of your bulb like friends.

As you commence the game you are limited to using just one explorer, the idea being to locate your lost team mates. This shouldn't take too long but it introduces you perfectly to the new play style (using a Wii Remote and Nunchuck is really the default option and best play experience). Pointing your wii remote at the screen you can target and select enermies or objects to send the Pikmin at all by simple tap of the A button. Want to send them all in then shake the nunchuck, it's simple and very effective. You can use the gamepad it just takes a while to adjust but it's up to you, if you choose the Wii remote option then the Gamepad becomes a very effective map, so make sure you keep it close by!!!

Once you've located your team mates the game opens up even more, some individuals will play the game as one giant 100 strong army, or you will devide your team up working on different objectives for example one bunch of Pikmin collecting Spice (Which makes your Pikmin stronger and faster) while your other Pikmin are attacking a boss.

As the days last only 15 minutes it's utilising the teams in the best way to make your harvest all the more effective and I have spent several hours replaying the same day (Optional) just to ensure that I am getting everything I can in the limited time frame.

One of the core strengths of the gameplay for Pikmin 3 is it rewards you for just figuring things out for yourself, if however you need some assistance you can find various hints dotted about the place as well.
What does need to be commended is that watching or playing Pikmin is a stunning experience, the view of watching a garden coming to life in such an intimate way is beautiful. Pikmin have a very unique personality and each one seems very individual.

Also those who like to play with friends (no online) will be happy to play the missions and bingo battle games which I've been playing extensively (probably more than the actual game) but regardless this is an excellent addition for the Wii U and for folk who like a more relaxing gaming session. Bingo Battle sets up a split screen mode where you have a bingo board of various items that you need to go and hunt, along the way you may pick up various power ups which will cause pain to the other player, the levels are varied and the Bingo Boards are always randomly generated so makes playing the same map a different experience. For missions you are tasked with various objectives, which in split screen mode you and a friend will go and complete together, it's straight forward and very effective, I found this the best way to introduce someone of less experience to the game.

UPDATE

5 months have now passed and Nintendo has managed to release several amazing games in short succession of each other. I purchased Pikmin on the day of release and am still playing the game! The various mission modes and downloadable content continue to add to the experience and has kept me entertained for a staggering 153 Hours!!! That's some serious play time. The game just continues to be a joy to play and a pleasure to watch with some of the most beautiful creature design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Plucking Success, 22 Feb 2014
This review is from: Pikmin 3 (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
It has been nearly nine years since Nintendo put us in control of a space captain, who like his predecessors has been stranded on a very colourful alien planet completely alone, bar the help of the adorable yet ferocious combatants known as the Pikmin. These flower like inhabitants are completely loyal to you (for some reason that is never explained), which is helpful as they are your only chance of survival and completing the game. This time around you are no longer accompanied by the likeable Captain Olimar but are thrust into the control of three different captains, Charlie, Brittany and Alf. These three space trekkers are from the planet of Koppai, which is facing an inevitable doomsday due to a growing population resulting in an ever decreasing food supply. They come to the conclusion that food is out there and the inhabitants decide to explore the cosmos to find salvation. This is where the Pikmin’s home planet PNF 404 comes into play; this is the only planet that reports back positive to signs of life. But this planet is as dangerous as it is beautiful, which our companions are soon to find out.

Players of the original two games on the Game Cube will feel right at home when playing Pikmin 3, with a similar control scheme (You chuck the Pikmin the same but the whistle is now located in a place where it is easier to use) depending on which way you decide to play. I would personally recommend using the Wii U GamePad as I believe it really shows off what the system is capable of doing.

Pikmin 3 is a RTS with a twist. Your goal is not to capture and kill enemies to win, but is to do what is necessary to survive and return fruit back to your ship for food to keep yourselves alive. A limiting factor returns from the original game which gave you only thirty days to complete the game. In Miyamoto’s third instalment of the game your progress depends entirely on fruit juice which you find around each land which is the key to your survival.

This game looks beautiful in HD which is reflected in the models for the fruit which now look really realistic. Also because of the 720p HD the problems from the GameCube don’t resurface for example when marching with Pikmin they don’t become blended but instead keep their physical integrity. Pikmin 3 was originally meant for a release on the Wii but after playing the game you can clearly see it was the right decision to postpone it a generation. The only snag would be some pretty dated ground textures which are just flat and lifeless, but don’t get me wrong, it doesn’t detract you from enjoying the game.

The day system returns and when you have to drink a bottle of juice at the end of each day, managing what you get accomplished in that day is crucial. This is where the GamePad really comes into action. For most Wii U games the pad has served as a load-out screen or a map but in Pikmin 3 it does so much more. What this pad allows you to do is select one of the three captains with a small squad of Pikmin on his/her own and move them to a certain place on the map. They then move to the selected location which allows them to pick up fruit and because all three captains can go their separate ways it allows much more fruit to be collected an adds an extra layer of strategy to the game.

Now let’s discuss the real stars of the show, the Pikmin, the red, blue and yellow Pikmin have returned from the first two games and they keep their original abilities. The red Pikmin are impervious to fire, blue to water and yellow can conduct electricity and can jump higher than the rest. But joining them are two completely new breeds, one is the rock Pikmin, which are similar to the purple Pikmin from the second game in the respect that they act as the heavy’s. These guys’ jobs are to break glass blockages also help when fighting bullborbs or in boss battles as they deal an extra punch. Another newcomer to the franchise are the winged Pikmin which are as they are described by their name in that they have wings, which allows items like fruit or pellets to be taken back to the ship by different routes. These cute little pink Pikmin help you to give you an extra edge when planning your next move. This time around the onions for each class of Pikmin are no longer individual but rather combined which makes the dispersal of the classes easier but with a cap of a hundred Pikmin out in the field at any one time you have to choose carefully.

There are only four areas of the world to visit, bar the final location which has nowhere to explore. But each of the locations are very different to the rest for example the distant tundra has a very different feel to it than the garden of hope. Each location has been carefully designed to reward exploration. When you unlock a new area you are normally rewarded with a new Pikmin type which helps you progress further into that habitat. But if you go back to a previous location with the new type of Pikmin you will find you will access new areas hosting new fruit to be collected.

This game is definitely not to be judged by its cover, if you think it to be a cute and cuddly child’s game then you couldn’t be more wrong as one slip of the hand and you send all your squad into the guzzling pit of a bullborbs stomach. This game makes you feel for your Pikmin so much that you are saddened by their death by a false move or worse, stranding them at night to be alone and then eaten.

Pikmin 3 is a game which will bring much needed attention to the system and shows of the power and the beauty of the console. It is a dangerous planet but one that is needed to visit to not just save the Koppai but to save the Wii U. The only snag when playing with the Gamepad rather than remote and nunchuck is the accuracy when throwing Pikmin can be a little difficult to aim compared to the others, but you can still play the game entirely on only the pad! It is a reasonably sized main story with characters from the first two games appearing, which is greatly appreciated by fans of the previous titles, but with all the exploration possible you won’t want to be leaving PNF 404 any time soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pikmin 3 (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Absolutely brilliant, engaging, addictive and almost educational.
Only problem is, Dad has to help 7 year old son through some parts and according to his daughter is "obsessed" with it. It becomes increasingly hard to work out a strategy good enough to defeat the monsters and gain enough food to get through the day, but you can restart each day before it ends, to stop yourself being set back.
The multi-player game has a great handicap system to allow it to be fair to all players.

Overall I would seriously recommend it, we haven't reached the end yet, but hopefully we never will!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pikmin 3 (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Great fun for both young and old, hours of fun you will not be disappointed this has hours of game play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to a great series, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pikmin 3 (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Pikmin 3 is a great game, the little Pikmin are so charming and the puzzles and bosses are even better than the ones in the previous Pikmin games. The HD graphics are a massive improvement on the earlier games, and the map on the Wii U gamepad is a nice addition too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pikmin 3 (Nintendo Wii U)
Pikmin 3 (Nintendo Wii U) by Nintendo (Nintendo Wii U)
37.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews