Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return of the survival horror
There have been some complaints about this game,reviewers moaning about the combat system the lack of melee weapons and slugging controls.

Personally all those things are about making this game a survival horror rather than an zombie shooter.

First off the only melee weapon is a cricket bat,the reason to anyone who lives in the UK is obvious,you cant...
Published 20 months ago by Runeweaver

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good attempt to bring survival horror to it's roots, littered with technical issues.
ZombiU really is one of the more interesting WII U launch titles, it was talked about with everyone who was interested in getting the WII U as it would be the first 18+ rated game that would be one of the first games to launch with Nintendo's new console. Also, the game promised to bring back the old survival horror gameplay, remind us of how this genre is supposed to...
Published 18 months ago by Scott


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return of the survival horror, 30 Nov 2012
By 
Runeweaver - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: ZombiU (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
There have been some complaints about this game,reviewers moaning about the combat system the lack of melee weapons and slugging controls.

Personally all those things are about making this game a survival horror rather than an zombie shooter.

First off the only melee weapon is a cricket bat,the reason to anyone who lives in the UK is obvious,you cant buy swords here,even finding an axe would be near impossible,the other reason for only having a cricket bat if you could kill the zombies with a single swing of your katana the fear this game generates would disappear in seconds,if i want to play a game with lots of weapons il play dead island which is a great game,Zombie U is taking the Zombie genre back to games like Resi evil 1 and 2,where your choices are limited, your ammo for your guns is barely enough to survive and you worry about whats around the next corner,rather than running around the corner with your swords slashing and heads flying off in all directions.

The combat and controls are also about slowing you down and making you work to survive,you only have a single attack with the bat which is bring the bat down hard on the head of the zombie,why would you waste your energy doing anything else,only by destroying the brain can you stop a zombie,anything else and your survivor is gonna be joining them.

If you want a slower paced zombie game thats more about staying alive than slaughtering zombies,read on,if you want an action packed game where you leave bits of undead coating everything in a hundred yards get dead island riptide when its released.

There are some great moments in this game,its the only game that has had any scary moments in it since RE1/2,the moaning of a zombie is enough to back you instantly into a corner and scan the whole area till you know what your up against,never take it for granted that there is only one zombie trying to turn you into lunch,the one that crawls along the floor whilst your braining the other one can be an end to your survivor.

How the game deals with your death is a great idea,it isnt like other games where you need to reload a past save and try again,nope that guys dead,well undead to be more precise,and you become a different survivor picking up from where your old friend finished off,you will need to hunt down your old survivor and brain him to get your equipment back.

The use of the gamepad in this game is also really good,you scan the area for items, and when you open a box you use it to adjust your inventoy,but it reduces how much you can see around you,so if you arnt careful whilst your picking stuff up a zombie can be closing in on you,which adds to the fear this game generates and keeps you worried from start to finish.

I think this is going to be a love hate game,either you will love it or hate it,nothing in between,so before you buy think do you want to slaughter zombies or just try and survive.
If you want a survival horror with limited ammo,limited weapons and a slower paced game this is for you,if not either rent or borrow it and try it first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric, addictive and rewarding, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ZombiU (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Absolutely love this game. It's loaded with atmosphere, especially if you use the headphone mode to play it where you'll hear zombies creeping up behind you etc.

I've not been quite so drawn into a game since I played the original Splinter Cell, which seems like a lifetime ago now.

The storyline is good and there are plenty of choices of difficulty levels so that even the novice gamer should not get frustrated and stuck. If you do you can just hop to the MiiVerse where other gamers will be more than happy to give you tips.

The gamepad is extremely well used. The multiplayer game takes a bit of getting used to to work out what's going on buy stick with it and you'll get there. This is an excellent release game and one that will last you many hours and all your friends will want to have a go at when they come round.

There's only 2 save slots, one for survival mode, where you only get one life to complete the game, and one for the normal mode where you re-spawn if you die. You then have to go find your last character and attack it to get your weapons and supplies back - nice!

It's a shame there's not more save slots so friends can have their own games saved but it's a small criticism.

There's an internet tie in to Ubisoft and as you complete certain goals in the game, you can, from the game menu, access bonus downloads from their site to enhance the game and the menus - no spoilers though!

Overall an amazing release game loaded with atmosphere. It's commendable that the sound design with this game as been treated with the same respect as the stunning visuals. The acting and music are first rate and this creates a completely emersive experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A proper Survival Horror! Tough and Creepy., 6 Dec 2012
By 
K. Trebell (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: ZombiU (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
I got this game with my WiiU as part of the Zombiu bundle. I was really looking forward to it but then got worried when the reviews came back and it was getting anything from 4.5's (Gamespot) to 9's (ONM, Eurogamer) and even 9.7 from Gamesmaster and a range in between.

The game sees you as one of few survivors of a Zombie Apocalypse that has ravaged the world trying to work your way to safety under the guidance of the "Prepper", who's voice guides you via the Gamepad as you play (which is itself represented as an in game item, a nice little tough).

Having played it I'm very pleased to report that it's definitely much closer to the higher range of scores for my tastes but there is a caveat: if you want handholding blastey shooters like the Gamespot guy seemed to want then there is nothing for you here. If on the other hand you want a deliberate, challenging, atmospheric and genuinely scary survival horror then this is a fantastic offering. This is a game where you'll be looking to avoid combat and especially avoid the noise of shooting whenever you can and where your trust cricket bat will be your best friend (Alastair Cook would have done well here).

I love the London based setting of the game and the murky visuals are just perfect for setting and backdrop to this game.

I particular enjoy the way other players show up as Zombies in the game in locations where they have died and that you can leave messages to guide or trick each other. This game is very evocative of Demon's and Dark Souls in difficulty and the need to accept that you will die and that learning from those deaths is an essential part of the game.

Overall this is an excellent game , truly something different and a very brave and mature title to put out at launch. I applaud Nintendo and Ubisoft for doing so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good attempt to bring survival horror to it's roots, littered with technical issues., 13 Jan 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: ZombiU (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
ZombiU really is one of the more interesting WII U launch titles, it was talked about with everyone who was interested in getting the WII U as it would be the first 18+ rated game that would be one of the first games to launch with Nintendo's new console. Also, the game promised to bring back the old survival horror gameplay, remind us of how this genre is supposed to work, even though ZombiU does do a good job at being a survival horror game it does have a few hit and misses. Let's take a gander!

The story behind ZombiU is that a zombie outbreak has taken over the entire world, everything has fallen into chaos, zombies are everywhere and you, a survivor have to try and live the hellish nightmare of a zombie infested London for as long as you can. There isn't really much story to go here apart from the characters who seem to babble on how they 'knew' this was coming and all that jazz, there are news articles and and all kinds of information you can find around the game's world which give you a insight of what happened before and during the events of the zombie outbreak, but I won't spoil it here.

When you jump into the world of ZombiU you'll find yourself having to run away from a horde of zombies and this isn't a cut scene you're actually controlling the character and running for your life a great way to introduce you to the game and as well give you the idea that you are indeed, just a normal person who's in the middle of this hell hole, no special operative, no CSI, S.A.S guy, just a normal, everyday guy. With this in mind it should be noted that ZombiU is really more slow paced than that of the fast paced and action intense Dead Space franchise or... Resident Evil... 6? So if you're looking for more of an action game with horror then you probably won't find it here, this is a game where you really need to take it slow and learn to think ahead of your adventures into the unknown, running in and going mad with the weapons probably most of the time won't end well... For you anyway, the zombies will probably get a nice snack.

Gameplay comes down to basically following the game's objectives and trying to last with your character for as long as you can. When you start out your character has nothing on him, apart from a B.O.B or Bug Out Bag, with this bag you can store in a small selection of items into it and take it around with you on your journeys. This is great because it really makes you think about what kind of items you want to take and how many because you never really know what kind of encounters will happen. Your melee weapon is the good old cricket bat and this baby really is a fun thing to use when it comes to clubbing down zombies, however you'll quickly learn that sometimes that the cricket bat isn't the best weapon to use for some situations so you'll find yourself using weapons like mines, moltovs, rifles, shotguns, you name it! Another thing that's really cool is that guns can be upgraded, if you have the needed parts in order to do so, these upgrades allow you add things like better firepower, more ammo the common stuff.

However you may find that the controls for this may not really be up to snuff and you might find yourself being killed because of how the game controls, I wouldn't say the controls are terrible but they really do take sometime to get used to. The zombies in ZombiU aren't exactly push overs either. Some of them can really take a beating though this is cool there'll probably be moments where you'll find yourself pinning the zombie to a corner and smacking him around until he drops dead, and when it takes around 5-7 hits it can get tedious pretty quickly.

And the zombies, if you give them the chance will kill you, this is a game really does try to get you at certain sticky spots, like when you think there's only one zombie, if you attack it you'll suddenly be invaded by 3 more, it's a cool idea that really makes you think if going straight in for the kill is really a good idea. And zombies can grab you and will bite you, this is like a instant death move, if you find yourself grabbed, that's it that character is DEAD, and you don't continue with that character too, this is way things get interesting.

As stated above when your character is killed by being eaten or smacked around by zombies you'll take on the role of a completely new character with nothing on you expect for the stuff you happened to store away in your stash at the safe house, yes, you have a safe house. And if you reach the area where your last character died there is a possible chance that character will have turned into a zombie and will attack you. If you can kill this one zombie you can loot the corpse's B.O.B of the stuff you had on that character, it's a really cool idea and has a Dark Souls feeling to it.

When you manage your inventory space, the game doesn't pause and you have to look at your gamepad in order to see what you've got in your back, this adds a good amount of tension to the game because a zombie might just come at you from behind while you're seeing how many chocolate bars you have left, this happened to me once and I can assure you I had a panic attack and wrangled my gamepad around in not knowing what to do.

The game does try to use the gamepad for some moments in the game like using a radar to check any nearby zombies and tapping on the screen to break off a barricade on a door but it would have been nice to see the gamepad being used for much more. Like shaking the gamepad to get zombies off you, seeing how you might find yourself swinging the bloody thing around anyway it feels like a missed opportunity.

Believe it or not this game does have some kind of online implemented into it. Much like when you die and your last character turns into a zombie there's a chance that someone else's character from around world could appear as a zombie in your game, if they died anyway. It also shows the amount of points that player had and as well as their name. There's also chances of your friends appearing on your game, I dunno if friends appearing in your game is more common than just random people but it's a really neat idea and it's funny to speak about how you smacked them around to take their items.

The graphics for ZombiU are sadly very subpar even though the game does have a nice atmosphere and they did a really good in capturing the jolly... Good ol London but the game's textures do look kinda naff and low quality and the game tends to have a few hiccup moments. I ran into a glitch where an area didn't load correctly and most of the area was like some kind of grey limbo, as if I accidentally went into developers creation tools. And there are moments where you'll find yourself not being to go through a door because the game has to load the area, kinda annoying and unacceptable for a game on a next gen console, I also had another glitch happen to me where I pressed a switch to turn on a elevator and when the door opened I found 3 zombies in some kind of position as if they were running and stuck, frozen to the wall and disappeared and flopped out from the roof of the elevator if I shot at them, it kinda makes me wonder if Ubisoft actually bug tested this game before shipping it out.

So, honestly from what I played on ZombiU I had a lot of fun with it, granted it's got a few annoying moments like glitches, weird controls that'll take time to get used to but really this is a game that's hit and miss with everyone and the only way to really find out if you'll like it or hate it is to try it out for yourself. I'd say wait until a price drop for this game. It's a fun game in my opinion but felt like it needed more work. Ubisoft did a pretty decent job in trying to bring back the old school style of survival horror back into the modern gaming generation.

The Lovely!
Good attempt at bringing back survival horror.
Great atmosphere, captures London quite nicely.
Looking at gamepad while game still plays on screen adds tension.
Being able to kill random players and friend's zombies for their loot is a great idea.

The Ugly!
Glitches.
Controls are a little wonky.
Melee combat could have been implemented better, like more weapons aside from the cricket bat.
Poor texture quality in some areas.
Gamepad features feel slightly tacked on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game., 11 April 2014
By 
Paul G "Paul" (Liverpool, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ZombiU (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Really shows what the Wii U and Gamepad is capable of.

Makes the Gamepad an integral part of the game, not just an afterthought.

If you were ever unsure of the point of the Wii U then just have a go of this.

It is a great console and under-appreciated.

I have an Xbox one and PS4 aswell, but the Wii U still has its place next to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for fans of old school survival horror., 14 Jan 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: ZombiU (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
With its resource management, limited ammo, and dark suspenseful gameplay, ZombiU seems to have been plucked from the dreams of old school Resident Evil fans everywhere.

The Wii U gamepad is used in some really damn intuitive ways, then add beautiful lighting, the constant fear of the unknown, only one life, and limited everything, and you have a wonderful survival experience.

Don't let the first person shooter looks fool you, generic fps this aint.
Don't go into this expecting to run through it slaughtering zombies, you take it slow, work out your plan of action, and pray your plan works.

Highly recommend it, but it's not for the faint of heart.

This game is a system seller for a reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 8 Mar 2014
This review is from: ZombiU (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
A very good game, great value for under a tenner. And only available on Wii U. Highly Recommended by the AlphaCaveman blog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas present, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ZombiU (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Oh and how well this went down!

Honestly amazing concept for a zombie game and the multiplayer is skin crawling! Playing as the survivor knowing the other person in the room is trying to plan your demise is eerie at the least!

Brilliant game and just can't understand why it's got bad reviews unless they were expecting COD..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hardcore horror survival epic, 20 May 2013
By 
James the King (...under the stairs) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: ZombiU (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Tough, eerie and downright nasty, Zombie U is the most interesting addition to the zombie survival genre is a really, really long time. Not since Resident Evil 4 have I found myself sufficiently drawn in by a zombie game to actually want to keep playing.

So what makes this one unique? Well, for one thing, it may well be the only game on the Wii U thus far to actually make sensible use of the controls. The Wii pad serves as a scanner and tracking device within the game and, believe me, you'll need it.

Much of the game is dark. And I mean pitch black. Thankfully, you have a torch and the aforementioned scanner so it shouldn't come as too much of a surprise when you're set upon by a hoard of salivating monsters. Like most survival games, it's as much about the tension between the violence as it is about the action itself. Weaponry is sparse, but you'd be surprise how nifty your character is with a cricket bat. The gore is pretty satisfying, and the design is genuinely creepy throughout. Some have complained about the graphics but, for my money, they're pretty convincing.

The plot is deliberately threadbare, which is a welcome change from the massively contrived Resident Evil plots. Basically, a zombie plague has ravaged the city of London and you have to, well, survive. The London locale adds a unique bit of fun, talking you to the streets, the tube and the inside of Buckingham Palace.

What really sets this game apart is the fact that there is no reloading. There are two game modes. In "survival" mode, if you die, that's it. Game over. Start again from the beginning of the game. In "normal" mode, if you die, you re-spawn as a new survivor back at your original safe-house, but the good news is that all of your progress is saved and - wait for it - your previous character is now roaming around as a zombie, still wearing your backpack with all of your supplies in it. Find him, kill him, take his stuff, and you're back in business. Repeat as necessary.

Genuinely fun, genuinely tense and great to look at. An awesome achievement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely a Survival Horror game, 1 Mar 2014
This review is from: ZombiU (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
honestly, i went into this game having watch someone else already complete it so i sorta knew what i was getting. I've played about 13 hours, died a bunch, killed a lot of zombies and i can genuinely say for 10-ish its really worth buying and if you own a wii u pick this game up. I've had a lot of fun with this game and i'm near the end on it but there are a few things holding it back which really don't make me want to complete it and puts it at a 4 star for me.

Pros:
Interesting Story
Fairly Scary
decent Difficultly curve
fairly decent graphics
amazing inventory system/use of wii u gamepad

Cons:
fairly repetitive
adds 'special infected' which are more of an annoyance than anything
Controls feel a little sluggish/clunky
gets boring after a while.

it's a really good game but i'm sorta sick of the way it works. killing zombies with a melee weapon takes 3/4 solid hits which leaves you open to attacks from other zombies and using guns is not advised due to the scarcity of ammunition and loudness of guns. don't buy a wii u just to play this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

ZombiU (Nintendo Wii U)
ZombiU (Nintendo Wii U) by Ubisoft (Nintendo Wii U)
6.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews