Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric, addictive and rewarding
Absolutely love this game. It's loaded with atmosphere, especially if you use the headphone mode to play it where you'll hear zombies creeping up behind you etc.

I've not been quite so drawn into a game since I played the original Splinter Cell, which seems like a lifetime ago now.

The storyline is good and there are plenty of choices of difficulty...
Published on 20 Jan. 2013 by Christian

versus
20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good attempt to bring survival horror to it's roots, littered with technical issues.
ZombiU really is one of the more interesting WII U launch titles, it was talked about with everyone who was interested in getting the WII U as it would be the first 18+ rated game that would be one of the first games to launch with Nintendo's new console. Also, the game promised to bring back the old survival horror gameplay, remind us of how this genre is supposed to...
Published on 13 Jan. 2013 by Scott


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric, addictive and rewarding, 20 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ZombiU (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Absolutely love this game. It's loaded with atmosphere, especially if you use the headphone mode to play it where you'll hear zombies creeping up behind you etc.

I've not been quite so drawn into a game since I played the original Splinter Cell, which seems like a lifetime ago now.

The storyline is good and there are plenty of choices of difficulty levels so that even the novice gamer should not get frustrated and stuck. If you do you can just hop to the MiiVerse where other gamers will be more than happy to give you tips.

The gamepad is extremely well used. The multiplayer game takes a bit of getting used to to work out what's going on buy stick with it and you'll get there. This is an excellent release game and one that will last you many hours and all your friends will want to have a go at when they come round.

There's only 2 save slots, one for survival mode, where you only get one life to complete the game, and one for the normal mode where you re-spawn if you die. You then have to go find your last character and attack it to get your weapons and supplies back - nice!

It's a shame there's not more save slots so friends can have their own games saved but it's a small criticism.

There's an internet tie in to Ubisoft and as you complete certain goals in the game, you can, from the game menu, access bonus downloads from their site to enhance the game and the menus - no spoilers though!

Overall an amazing release game loaded with atmosphere. It's commendable that the sound design with this game as been treated with the same respect as the stunning visuals. The acting and music are first rate and this creates a completely emersive experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A proper Survival Horror! Tough and Creepy., 6 Dec. 2012
By 
Kevin Trebell (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: ZombiU (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
I got this game with my WiiU as part of the Zombiu bundle. I was really looking forward to it but then got worried when the reviews came back and it was getting anything from 4.5's (Gamespot) to 9's (ONM, Eurogamer) and even 9.7 from Gamesmaster and a range in between.

The game sees you as one of few survivors of a Zombie Apocalypse that has ravaged the world trying to work your way to safety under the guidance of the "Prepper", who's voice guides you via the Gamepad as you play (which is itself represented as an in game item, a nice little tough).

Having played it I'm very pleased to report that it's definitely much closer to the higher range of scores for my tastes but there is a caveat: if you want handholding blastey shooters like the Gamespot guy seemed to want then there is nothing for you here. If on the other hand you want a deliberate, challenging, atmospheric and genuinely scary survival horror then this is a fantastic offering. This is a game where you'll be looking to avoid combat and especially avoid the noise of shooting whenever you can and where your trust cricket bat will be your best friend (Alastair Cook would have done well here).

I love the London based setting of the game and the murky visuals are just perfect for setting and backdrop to this game.

I particular enjoy the way other players show up as Zombies in the game in locations where they have died and that you can leave messages to guide or trick each other. This game is very evocative of Demon's and Dark Souls in difficulty and the need to accept that you will die and that learning from those deaths is an essential part of the game.

Overall this is an excellent game , truly something different and a very brave and mature title to put out at launch. I applaud Nintendo and Ubisoft for doing so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return of the survival horror, 30 Nov. 2012
By 
Runeweaver - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: ZombiU (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
There have been some complaints about this game,reviewers moaning about the combat system the lack of melee weapons and slugging controls.

Personally all those things are about making this game a survival horror rather than an zombie shooter.

First off the only melee weapon is a cricket bat,the reason to anyone who lives in the UK is obvious,you cant buy swords here,even finding an axe would be near impossible,the other reason for only having a cricket bat if you could kill the zombies with a single swing of your katana the fear this game generates would disappear in seconds,if i want to play a game with lots of weapons il play dead island which is a great game,Zombie U is taking the Zombie genre back to games like Resi evil 1 and 2,where your choices are limited, your ammo for your guns is barely enough to survive and you worry about whats around the next corner,rather than running around the corner with your swords slashing and heads flying off in all directions.

The combat and controls are also about slowing you down and making you work to survive,you only have a single attack with the bat which is bring the bat down hard on the head of the zombie,why would you waste your energy doing anything else,only by destroying the brain can you stop a zombie,anything else and your survivor is gonna be joining them.

If you want a slower paced zombie game thats more about staying alive than slaughtering zombies,read on,if you want an action packed game where you leave bits of undead coating everything in a hundred yards get dead island riptide when its released.

There are some great moments in this game,its the only game that has had any scary moments in it since RE1/2,the moaning of a zombie is enough to back you instantly into a corner and scan the whole area till you know what your up against,never take it for granted that there is only one zombie trying to turn you into lunch,the one that crawls along the floor whilst your braining the other one can be an end to your survivor.

How the game deals with your death is a great idea,it isnt like other games where you need to reload a past save and try again,nope that guys dead,well undead to be more precise,and you become a different survivor picking up from where your old friend finished off,you will need to hunt down your old survivor and brain him to get your equipment back.

The use of the gamepad in this game is also really good,you scan the area for items, and when you open a box you use it to adjust your inventoy,but it reduces how much you can see around you,so if you arnt careful whilst your picking stuff up a zombie can be closing in on you,which adds to the fear this game generates and keeps you worried from start to finish.

I think this is going to be a love hate game,either you will love it or hate it,nothing in between,so before you buy think do you want to slaughter zombies or just try and survive.
If you want a survival horror with limited ammo,limited weapons and a slower paced game this is for you,if not either rent or borrow it and try it first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for fans of old school survival horror., 14 Jan. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: ZombiU (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
With its resource management, limited ammo, and dark suspenseful gameplay, ZombiU seems to have been plucked from the dreams of old school Resident Evil fans everywhere.

The Wii U gamepad is used in some really damn intuitive ways, then add beautiful lighting, the constant fear of the unknown, only one life, and limited everything, and you have a wonderful survival experience.

Don't let the first person shooter looks fool you, generic fps this aint.
Don't go into this expecting to run through it slaughtering zombies, you take it slow, work out your plan of action, and pray your plan works.

Highly recommend it, but it's not for the faint of heart.

This game is a system seller for a reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hardcore horror survival epic, 20 May 2013
By 
James the King (...under the stairs) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: ZombiU (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Tough, eerie and downright nasty, Zombie U is the most interesting addition to the zombie survival genre is a really, really long time. Not since Resident Evil 4 have I found myself sufficiently drawn in by a zombie game to actually want to keep playing.

So what makes this one unique? Well, for one thing, it may well be the only game on the Wii U thus far to actually make sensible use of the controls. The Wii pad serves as a scanner and tracking device within the game and, believe me, you'll need it.

Much of the game is dark. And I mean pitch black. Thankfully, you have a torch and the aforementioned scanner so it shouldn't come as too much of a surprise when you're set upon by a hoard of salivating monsters. Like most survival games, it's as much about the tension between the violence as it is about the action itself. Weaponry is sparse, but you'd be surprise how nifty your character is with a cricket bat. The gore is pretty satisfying, and the design is genuinely creepy throughout. Some have complained about the graphics but, for my money, they're pretty convincing.

The plot is deliberately threadbare, which is a welcome change from the massively contrived Resident Evil plots. Basically, a zombie plague has ravaged the city of London and you have to, well, survive. The London locale adds a unique bit of fun, talking you to the streets, the tube and the inside of Buckingham Palace.

What really sets this game apart is the fact that there is no reloading. There are two game modes. In "survival" mode, if you die, that's it. Game over. Start again from the beginning of the game. In "normal" mode, if you die, you re-spawn as a new survivor back at your original safe-house, but the good news is that all of your progress is saved and - wait for it - your previous character is now roaming around as a zombie, still wearing your backpack with all of your supplies in it. Find him, kill him, take his stuff, and you're back in business. Repeat as necessary.

Genuinely fun, genuinely tense and great to look at. An awesome achievement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atmosphere in spades, 17 Jan. 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: ZombiU (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
This is a superb game.

The Wii U seems like a good platform for horror and thriller games. Having the big controller with your HUD makes the TV less cluttered so you feel more like part of the environment. I hope they can do much more of this, perhaps reboots of Resident Evil and House of the Dead.

House of the Dead 3 was the last game I played featuring zombies. It was fast paced with lots of action. The only fault was the lack of an option to turn off the bad language which I didn't mind but reduced the social aspect of playing the game a bit.

ZombieU is proper survival horror. Slow pace, wonderful death and re-spawn mechanic. Feels like a film without all the boring cut scenes.

I put the lights out and played through the first hour of the game. I came away feeling "on edge" which is exactly what I would expect from this sort of game.

There are certainly plenty of games with big guns and tons of targets which are faster and allow you to swap out the bad guys for zombies or whatever. ZombieU is what I'm looking for: immersive; creepy; atmospheric and above all realistic (yes I know it's zombies and it's a game).

London is a good setting and the game poses you realistic problems. Haven't finished the game yet so can's say if it stays this good all the way through. Fingers crossed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Survival Horror game for Wii U!, 26 May 2013
By 
M. Coles - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ZombiU (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
This game is a mixed bag, going by what reviewers have been saying. But really, should you trust everything a reviewer says?

Despite this game getting low rating scores from some reviewers, I feel this game has a lot to offer to the Survival-Horror genre. More emphasis on survival than horror, if I must say so myself.

If you're looking for a nice, deep story then please look elsewhere. Whilst this game has a story of sorts, it really isn't deep enough to get involved with because it doesn't really have a main character. I'll explain more about it later. So it's set in 2012, London during a zombie apocalypse. You stumble across a safe house in a train station, watched over a guy called the "Prepper". You have to perform missions for the Prepper, and a story of sorts begins to unfold, trying to find a cure called the panacea for this zombification.

Now onto the gameplay. The Wii U Game Pad is definitely integrated well into gameplay here. The Game Pad is used as a map, and also you can switch to your inventory with ease, and use items as needed. When you go into your inventory, your character appears to be checking his backpack on the TV screen, leaving you susceptible to zombie attacks. Before this game was released, there was a huge emphasis on this feature. Really, you rarely get attacked by zombies, as there are few around during areas.

Ah, zombies. If you're the sort who goes up to enemies in a game and kill them, you may need to reconsider your tactics. Whilst firearms are available, ammo is scarce, so unless you have an accurate shot, they're not really useful. Confronting two or more zombies is a death sentence. There is always the chance that they'll overwhelm you, and kill you. This happened to me often, and I was forced to change my way of thinking.

Now, when you die, you quite literally die. You lose all your stuff that character carried around, and sometimes this can be a problem, especially when you die in a heavy populated area of zombies. You have the option to go back and get the items you lost, but if you get killed on the way to retrieve your items, then tough. This is such a harsh punishment, especially when your previous character had useful items.

There are definitely horror elements in this game. There are a few moments where a zombie jumps out at you, and they are pretty scary the first time around. Heck, in the Sewers there was a zombie that was detected on my radar, I knew it was there, but it still scared me when it jumped out at me.

However, a bad thing about this game is the fact there is a game breaking bug.

**SPOILER**
When you complete the game, and fly away on the helicopter another survivor stumble across the train station, an option should be available where you can start the game again, with the items you got during your previous game, on the same save file. Sadly, you won't be able to access this save file; selecting it does nothing.

So to conclude, Zombi U is a must-own for Wii U, it's definitely a decent survivor-horror game. If you're looking for quite a long gaming experience with this game, it's sad to say that it's quite short; I managed to complete this game 100% in a measley 14 hours.

RATING: 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely a Survival Horror game, 1 Mar. 2014
This review is from: ZombiU (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
honestly, i went into this game having watch someone else already complete it so i sorta knew what i was getting. I've played about 13 hours, died a bunch, killed a lot of zombies and i can genuinely say for £10-ish its really worth buying and if you own a wii u pick this game up. I've had a lot of fun with this game and i'm near the end on it but there are a few things holding it back which really don't make me want to complete it and puts it at a 4 star for me.

Pros:
Interesting Story
Fairly Scary
decent Difficultly curve
fairly decent graphics
amazing inventory system/use of wii u gamepad

Cons:
fairly repetitive
adds 'special infected' which are more of an annoyance than anything
Controls feel a little sluggish/clunky
gets boring after a while.

it's a really good game but i'm sorta sick of the way it works. killing zombies with a melee weapon takes 3/4 solid hits which leaves you open to attacks from other zombies and using guns is not advised due to the scarcity of ammunition and loudness of guns. don't buy a wii u just to play this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas present, 22 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ZombiU (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Oh and how well this went down!

Honestly amazing concept for a zombie game and the multiplayer is skin crawling! Playing as the survivor knowing the other person in the room is trying to plan your demise is eerie at the least!

Brilliant game and just can't understand why it's got bad reviews unless they were expecting COD..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and very scary game!, 25 Sept. 2014
This review is from: ZombiU (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
This is definitely my favourite of all the games released for the Wii-U!

It's so atmospheric and just damned creepy to play especially if you pay in the dark with headphones in! The amount of times I've nearly scared myself to death doing it you'd be surprised that I'd still even try it but the game just benefits from being played this way.

The controls are simple to master and with the use of the Wii-U gamepad you get a very unique and wonderful gameplay experience that other Wii-U games don't seem to have captured in the same way. The fact that you get to creep around places like Buckingham Palace will killing zombie palace guards is just exciting and brilliant.

Don't have doubts about playing this wonderful game just buy and try it for yourself, you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

ZombiU (Nintendo Wii U)
ZombiU (Nintendo Wii U) by Ubisoft (Nintendo Wii U)
£6.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews